Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 1

THE BIG IDEAS ISSUE: PLACES

BICYCLE
FRIENDLY
AMERICA

THE LEAGUE OF AMERICAN BICYCLISTS

The League of American Bicyclists' mission is to lead
the movement to create a Bicycle Friendly America for
everyone. As leaders, our commitment is to listen and
learn, define standards and share best practices to engage
diverse communities and build a powerful, unified voice
for change. Contact League officers, directors or staff
at League of American Bicyclists, 1612 K Street, NW,
Suite 1102 Washington, DC 20006-2850, 202-822-1333;
bikeleague@bikeleague.org, fax: 202-822-1334.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Karen Jenkins, Chair, karenjenkins@bikeleague.org
Gail Spann, Vice Chair, gailspann@bikeleague.org
Harry Brull, Secretary, harrybrull@bikeleague.org
Ken Podziba, Treasurer, kenpodziba@bikeleague.org
Diane Albert, dianealbert@bikeleague.org
Maria Boustead, mariaboustead@bikeleague.org
Steve Durrant, stevedurrant@bikeleague.org
Rob Gusky, robgusky@bikeleague.org
Max Hepp-Buchanan, maxheppbuchanan@bikeleague.org
Fernando Martinez, fernandomartinez@bikeleague.org
Ralph Monti, ralphmonti@bikeleague.org
Nicole Preston, nicolepreston@bikeleague.org
Torrance Strong, torrancestrong@bikeleague.org
Eric Swanson, ericswanson@bikeleague.org

STAFF
Bill Nesper, Interim Executive Director
Amelia Neptune, Bicycle Friendly America Director
Ken McLeod, Policy Director
Alison Dewey, Education Director
Kevin Dekkinga, Membership Director
Lorna Green, Operations Director
Steve Taylor, Communications Manager

BICYCLE FRIENDLY AMERICA MAGAZINE
Designed by Mercury Publishing Services, Inc.
Editor: Steve Taylor
Photo Editor: James Copes
Bicycle Friendly America magazine (ISSN 0747-0371)
is published by the League of American Bicyclists, Inc.
to help the organization achieve its mission to educate
the public and promote awareness of bicycling issues.
©2017 League of American Bicyclists. Reproduction in
whole or in part without permission is prohibited. Article queries should be addressed to communications@
bikeleague.org. Your submission of manuscripts, photographs, or artwork, is your warranty that the material
in no way infringes on the rights of others and that the
material may be published without additional approval.
Opinions expressed by writers are their own and do not
necessarily reflect the policies of the League.

CONTENTS
Fall 2017

2017 BICYCLE FRIENDLY BUSINESSES ISSUE
Viewpoint

2

League Board Elections Coming Soon

3

Bicycle Friendly Brewery Goose Island

4

Oceano Elementary School: Bicycle Friendly Business

7

Carrollton, GA - "The Friendly City" Becomes
a Bicycle Friendly Community

11

Making the Atlanta Region More Walk- and Bicycle-Friendly

13

League Cycling Instructor Develops Sacramento Bikeshare
for State Employees

19

The League continues Alliance's Benchmarking Project

23

New Safety Grant Money Flows to States Thanks
to League Advocacy

24

Shawnee Trail Cycling Club: Taking the Lead in Education
and Advocacy

26

The Answer Is Not Either/Or - It's Both/And: Transportation
and Climate Advocates

28

Education Videos on League's YouTube Channel

31

Smart Cycling Coach Workshop in Platinum BFC Fort Collins

32

Social Media

35

COVER IMAGE: ATLANTA REGIONAL COMMISSION, "WALK. BIKE. THRIVE!" 2016


http://www.mercurypubs.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017

No label
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - No label
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - Cover1
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - Cover2
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 1
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 2
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 3
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 4
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 5
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 6
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 7
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 8
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 9
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 10
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 11
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 12
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 13
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 14
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 15
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 16
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 17
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 18
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 19
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 20
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 21
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 22
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 23
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 24
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 25
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 26
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 27
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 28
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 29
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 30
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 31
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 32
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 33
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - 34
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - Cover3
Bicycle Friendly America Fall 2017 - Cover4
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Summer2018
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Winter2018
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Summer2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Winter2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2016_GatewayDemo
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2016
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Spring2016
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com