Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 1

THE BIG IDEAS ISSUE: PLACES

BICYCLE
FRIENDLY
AMERICA

THE LEAGUE OF AMERICAN BICYCLISTS

The League of American Bicyclists' mission is to lead
the movement to create a Bicycle Friendly America for
everyone. As leaders, our commitment is to listen and
learn, define standards and share best practices to engage
diverse communities and build a powerful, unified voice
for change. Contact League officers, directors or staff
at League of American Bicyclists, 1612 K Street, NW,
Suite 1102 Washington, DC 20006-2850, 202-822-1333;
bikeleague@bikeleague.org, fax: 202-822-1334.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Ralph Monti, Chair, ralphmonti@bikeleague.org
Ken Podziba, Vice Chair, kenpodziba@bikeleague.org
Harry Brull, Secretary, harrybrull@bikeleague.org
Mark Thomas, Treasurer, markthomas@bikeleague.org
Nicole Preston, At Large, nicolepreston@bikeleague.org
Diane Albert, dianealbert@bikeleague.org
Maria Boustead, mariaboustead@bikeleague.org
Steve Durrant, stevedurrant@bikeleague.org
Max Hepp-Buchanan, maxheppbuchanan@bikeleague.org
Fernando Martinez, fernandomartinez@bikeleague.org
Bob Oppliger, boboppliger@bikeleague.org
Mike Sewell, mikesewell@bikeleague.org
Torrance Strong, torrancestrong@bikeleague.org
Karin Weisburgh, karinweisburgh@bikeleague.org
A.J. Zelada, ajlzelada@bikeleague.org

STAFF
Bill Nesper, Executive Director
Caron Whitaker, Vice President Government Relations
Amelia Neptune, Bicycle Friendly America Director
Ken McLeod, Policy Director
Alison Dewey, Education Director
Kevin Dekkinga, Membership and Development Director
Lorna Green, Operations Director
Steve Taylor, Communications Manager

BICYCLE FRIENDLY AMERICA MAGAZINE
Designed by Mercury Publishing Services, Inc.
Editor: Steve Taylor
Photo Editor: James Copes
Bicycle Friendly America magazine (ISSN 0747-0371) is
published by the League of American Bicyclists, Inc. to
help the organization achieve its mission to educate the
public and promote awareness of bicycling issues. ©2017
League of American Bicyclists. Reproduction in whole
or in part without permission is prohibited. Article queries should be addressed to communications@bikeleague.org. Your submission of manuscripts, photographs,
or artwork, is your warranty that the material in no way
infringes on the rights of others and that the material
may be published without additional approval. Opinions
expressed by writers are their own and do not necessarily
reflect the policies of the League.

CONTENTS
Summer 2018
XXXXX
Viewpoint	2
New Board Members	

4

It's Awkward to talk about race. Let's do it anyway!	

6

A Closer Look at Automated Vehicles	

10

Bicycle Friendly Driver Program	

15

Biking in the Biggest Little City	

18

Every Advocacy win requires more Advocacy!	

21

What was the best part of the Summit for you?	

24

National Bike Summit, Review by the Nevada Contingent	

30

Summit Awardees	

32

E-bikes get more people riding more often,
but does that mean current bicyclists want them?	

34

Summit Scholarship Recipients	

37

Active Transportation Leadership Retreat	

39

Summit Attendee Demographics	

41

COVER IMAGE: BRIAN PALMER


http://www.mercurypubs.com http://www.mercurypubs.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018

No label
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - No label
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - Cover1
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - Cover2
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 1
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 2
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 3
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 4
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 5
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 6
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 7
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 8
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 9
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 10
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 11
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 12
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 13
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 14
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 15
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 16
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 17
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 18
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 19
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 20
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 21
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 22
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 23
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 24
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 25
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 26
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 27
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 28
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 29
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 30
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 31
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 32
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 33
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 34
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 35
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 36
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 37
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 38
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 39
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 40
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - 41
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - Cover3
Bicycle Friendly America Summer 2018 - Cover4
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Summer2018
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Winter2018
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Summer2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Winter2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2016_GatewayDemo
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2016
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Spring2016
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com