Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 1

THE BIG IDEAS ISSUE: PLACES

BICYCLE
FRIENDLY
AMERICA

THE LEAGUE OF AMERICAN BICYCLISTS

The League of American Bicyclists' mission is to lead
the movement to create a Bicycle Friendly America for
everyone. As leaders, our commitment is to listen and
learn, define standards and share best practices to engage
diverse communities and build a powerful, unified voice
for change. Contact League officers, directors or staff
at League of American Bicyclists, 1612 K Street, NW,
Suite 1102 Washington, DC 20006-2850, 202-822-1333;
bikeleague@bikeleague.org, fax: 202-822-1334.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Ralph Monti, Chair, ralph@bikeleague.org
Ken Podziba, Vice Chair, kenpodziba@bikeleague.org
Harry Brull, Secretary, harrybrull@bikeleague.org
Nicole Preston, At Large, nicolepreston@bikeleague.org
Diane Albert, dianealbert@bikeleague.org
Maria Boustead, mariaboustead@bikeleague.org
Steve Durrant, stevedurrant@bikeleague.org
Rob Gusky, robgusky@bikeleague.org
Max Hepp-Buchanan, maxheppbuchanan@bikeleague.org
Karen Jenkins, karenjenkins@bikeleague.org
Fernando Martinez, fernandomartinez@bikeleague.org
Torrance Strong, torrancestrong@bikeleague.org

STAFF
Bill Nesper, Executive Director
Amelia Neptune, Bicycle Friendly America Director
Ken McLeod, Policy Director
Alison Dewey, Education Director
Kevin Dekkinga, Membership Director
Lorna Green, Operations Director
Steve Taylor, Communications Manager

BICYCLE FRIENDLY AMERICA MAGAZINE
Designed by Mercury Publishing Services, Inc.
Editor: Steve Taylor
Photo Editor: James Copes
Bicycle Friendly America magazine (ISSN 0747-0371) is
published by the League of American Bicyclists, Inc. to
help the organization achieve its mission to educate the
public and promote awareness of bicycling issues. ©2017
League of American Bicyclists. Reproduction in whole
or in part without permission is prohibited. Article queries should be addressed to communications@bikeleague.org. Your submission of manuscripts, photographs,
or artwork, is your warranty that the material in no way
infringes on the rights of others and that the material
may be published without additional approval. Opinions
expressed by writers are their own and do not necessarily
reflect the policies of the League.

CONTENTS
Winter 2018

ADVOCATING FOR THE SPORT OF WOMEN'S CYCLING
Viewpoint: Ralph Monti, Chair, Board of Directors

2

Viewpoint: Bill Nesper, Executive Director

3

Bicycle Friendly State Rankings

4

National Bike Summit

6

The League's Smart Cycling Program

9

2017 Bicycle Friendly University Award Highlights

14

What do the Infrastructure Funding Debates Mean for Biking?

18

Advocating for the Sport of Women Cycling

20

Bike Diplomacy in Korea

23

New Advocacy Software Enables State and Local Actions

25

May is Bike Month: Tools and Materials

27

I'm Just a Bill: Protecting Vulnerable Road Users in Florida

28

2018 National Bike Challenge

30

Excerpt: Coast to Coast on a Tandem

33

COVER IMAGE: WISCONSIN WOMEN CYCLING


http://www.mercurypubs.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018

No label
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - No label
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - Cover1
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - Cover2
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 1
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 2
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 3
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 4
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 5
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 6
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 7
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 8
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 9
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 10
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 11
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 12
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 13
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 14
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 15
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 16
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 17
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 18
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 19
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 20
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 21
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 22
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 23
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 24
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 25
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 26
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 27
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 28
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 29
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 30
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 31
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 32
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 33
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 34
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - 35
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - Cover3
Bicycle Friendly America Winter 2018 - Cover4
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Summer2018
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Winter2018
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Summer2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Winter2017
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2016_GatewayDemo
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Fall2016
http://www.nxtbook.com/mercury/bikeleague/BFA_Spring2016
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com