Seaports Magazine - Fall 2014 - (Page 8)

»PRESIDENT'S MESSAgE Keeping It Simple American Association of Port Authorities 1010 Duke St. Alexandria, VA 22314-3589 Tel: (703) 684-5700 Fax: (703) 684-6321 Email: info@aapa-ports.org Website: www.aapa-ports.org Administration KURT J. NAGLE, PRESIDENT & CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER knagle@aapa-ports.org JEAN GODWIN, EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT & GENERAL COUNSEL By Kurt Nagle President & CEO American Association of Port Authorities W e have the U.S. Navy to thank for the KISS principle - Keep It Simple Stupid. More than 50 years after Lockheed engineer Kelly Johnson is credited with coining the phrase, the design principle that took root in the U.S. military is an idea that continues to drive efficiency and beautiful simplicity in systems, processes and projects. Including those in the port industry. It's the principle behind this issue of Seaports magazine. While AAPA recognizes and proudly trumpets the fact that seaports constantly and successfully balance a wide range of competing priorities - community and stakeholder interests, environmental leadership, long-range transportation planning, homeland security and military support, just to name a few - the simple truth is that ports as organizations only work if they have the resources they need to achieve their myriad goals. So it comes down to the bottom line. It's a financial bottom line in many cases - asking and answering questions, such as: What does this idea/project/trend mean for us and our balance sheets? Will we save money? Spend money on something that we can amortize over time? If we don't spend money now, what will the costs be later? But some issues, events and trends can't be boiled down so neatly to a dollar amount. Yet they have a profound impact on ports. And so the bottom line that is evaluated is one in terms of net impact: Is this good or bad? Are there opportunities to be seized if we act one way and negative consequences if we fail to act? Does this increase or deplete our "social capital" and help or hinder our "social license to operate"? We've tried to tackle the most important industry trends and financial topics that affect ports in this issue, and we've tried to boil it down - to provide you, the reader, with a quick takeaway from each article. We recognize how busy our members are, and while we want to continue to provide valuable information, we know sometimes that information is best delivered in a simple, straightforward way. ● jgodwin@aapa-ports.org TERI NAGLE, FINANCE/HUMAN RESOURCES COORDINATOR tnagle@aapa-ports.org COLLEEN O'SULLIVAN, EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT cosullivan@aapa-ports.org Government Relations SUSAN MONTEVERDE, VICE PRESIDENT OF GOVERNMENT RELATIONS smonteverde@aapa-ports.org JIM WALKER, DIRECTOR OF NAVIGATION POLICY & LEGISLATION jwalker@aapa-ports.org KIP PAYNE, MANAGER OF GOVERNMENT RELATIONS kpayne@aapa-ports.org LOIS MCKUHEN, ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT lmckuhen@aapa-ports.org Outreach & Membership Services EDWARD L. O'CONNELL, DIRECTOR OF MEMBERSHIP SERVICES eoconnell@aapa-ports.org JODI GIBSON, TRAINING & PROGRAMS COORDINATOR jgibson@aapa-ports.org RAFAEL DÍAZ-BALART, LATIN AMERICAN COORDINATOR rdbalart@aapa-ports.org Communications AARON ELLIS, PUBLIC AFFAIRS DIRECTOR aellis@aapa-ports.org MEREDITH MARTINO, DIRECTOR OF PUBLICATIONS, DIGITAL MEDIA AND TECHNOLOGY mmartino@aapa-ports.org MARY BETH LONG, SENIOR COMMUNICATIONS AND MARKETING SPECIALIST mlong@aapa-ports.org Research & Informational Services DR. REXFORD B. SHERMAN, DIRECTOR OF RESEARCH & INFORMATION SERVICES rsherman@aapa-ports.org Editorial Advisory Panel CRAIG ESTABROOKS, PORT ST. JOHN DUANE SANDUL (ADVISORY PANEL CHAIR), PORT OF REDWOOD CITY ROD KOON, PORT OF TACOMA DONA LISEL REGIS, ST. LUCIA AIR & SEA PORTS AUTHORITY RICHARD SCHER, MARYLAND PORT ADMINISTRATION JEAN GODWIN, AAPA AARON ELLIS, AAPA MEREDITH MARTINO, AAPA Published by 5950 NW 1st Place, Gainesville, FL 32607 Tel: (352) 332-1252, (800) 369-6220, Fax: (352) 331-3525 Publisher Jill Andreu jandreu@naylor.com Sales Representatives Amanda Blanchard ablanchard@naylor.com Editor Sarah Sain ssain@naylor.com Lou Brandow lbrandow@naylor.com Marketing Lauren Branin lbranin@naylor.com Project & Sales Manager Heather McMillen hmcmillen@naylor.com Media Director Chris Zabel czabel@naylor.com Chris Chiccarello cchiccarello@naylor.com Erik Henson ehenson@naylor.com Shane Holt sholt@naylor.com Erin Pande epande@naylor.com Jason Zawada jzawada@naylor.com Layout & Design Manish Dutt Sharma ©2014 NAyLoR. All rights reserved. The contents of this publication may not be reproduced by any means, in whole or in part, without the prior written consent of the publisher. SEPTEMBER 2014/AAP-Q0314/9481 8 AAPA SEAPORTS MAGAZINE http://www.aapa-ports.org

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Seaports Magazine - Fall 2014

AAPA Seaports Magazine
From the President’s Desk
The Big Ship Race – Is Bigger Better?
Shipping Lines Partner to Stay Afloat
Cruise Lines Set Sail for Growth
Bulk Cargo Ports Valuable to the Community
Crafting Funding Solutions for Port Projects
Sister Agreements Spread Cultural Wealth
Strong Financial Ratings Open the Door of Opportunity
Customer Service a Key to Strong Bottom Line Results
Plug in to the Fuel of the Future: Electricity
Houston Thinks Outside the Box With Non-Traditional Lines of Business
Ohio Port Authorities Know How to Rock Economic Development
XXIII Congress of Latin American Ports
Index of Advertisers

Seaports Magazine - Fall 2014

http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0118
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0417
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0317
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0217
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0117
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0416
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0316
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0216
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0116
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0415
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0315
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0215
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0115
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0414
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0314
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0214
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0114
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0413
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0313
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0213
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0113
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com