Seaports Magazine - Fall 2015 - (Page 6)

» AAPA HEADQUARTERS Meet Us in Miami for the 2015 AAPA Annual Convention Port leaders from across the Western Hemisphere will gather for the seaport industry's premier gathering Nov. 2-4 at the Intercontinental Miami Hotel in Florida. The Annual Convention is AAPA's largest membership meeting of the year. This year, an evening reception will be held in the exhibit hall on Monday, Nov. 2. During the business program on Nov. 3-4,  breakfasts, breaks and two pre-luncheon networking events will all be held in the AAPA Exhibit Hall. Key speakers include Miami-Dade County Mayor Carlos A. Gimenez, PortMiami Director Juan M. Kuryla, PPM®, and AAPA President & CEO Kurt Nagle. For more about the convention, including registration and hotel details, business program descriptions and a list of sponsors, visit the official 2015 Annual Convention website, aapaportmiami.com, and make sure to tweet using the convention hashtag, #AAPAPortMiami. Get Social with AAPA Follow AAPA on social media for the latest association and industry news and updates. AAPA is on Facebook (facebook.com/seaportsdeliverprosperity) and Twitter (@AAPA_Seaports and @AAPA_Puertos). Join the conversation today! ● American Association of Port Authorities 1010 Duke St. Alexandria, VA 22314-3589 Tel: (703) 684-5700 Fax: (703) 684-6321 Email: info@aapa-ports.org Website: www.aapa-ports.org Administration KURT J. NAGLE, PRESIDENT & CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER knagle@aapa-ports.org JEAN GODWIN, EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT & GENERAL COUNSEL jgodwin@aapa-ports.org COLLEEN O'SULLIVAN, EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT cosullivan@aapa-ports.org Government Relations SUSAN MONTEVERDE, VICE PRESIDENT OF GOVERNMENT RELATIONS smonteverde@aapa-ports.org JIM WALKER, DIRECTOR OF NAVIGATION POLICY & LEGISLATION jwalker@aapa-ports.org JOHN YOUNG, DIRECTOR OF FREIGHT & SURFACE TRANSPORTATION POLICY jyoung@aapa-ports.org PAM MAHER, ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT pmaher@aapa-ports.org Outreach & Membership Services EDWARD L. O'CONNELL, DIRECTOR OF MEMBERSHIP SERVICES eoconnell@aapa-ports.org JODI GIBSON, TRAINING & PROGRAMS COORDINATOR jgibson@aapa-ports.org ALEXANDRA "ALEX" DORGAN, MANAGER OF OPERATIONS AND ADMINISTRATION adorgan@aapa-ports.org TOM HRANAC, ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT AND LATIN AMERICAN FACILITATOR thranac@aapa-ports.org RAFAEL DÍAZ-BALART, LATIN AMERICAN COORDINATOR rdbalart@aapa-ports.org Communications AARON ELLIS, PUBLIC AFFAIRS DIRECTOR aellis@aapa-ports.org MEREDITH MARTINO, DIRECTOR OF PUBLICATIONS, DIGITAL MEDIA AND TECHNOLOGY mmartino@aapa-ports.org MARY BETH LONG, SENIOR COMMUNICATIONS AND MARKETING SPECIALIST sed the DRIVE Act that On July 30, US Senate pas rts top freight priorities. includes @A APA_Seapo /bit.ly/1haDEJ3. For more, click on http:/ MT @senatorcantwell : New bill will keep U.S . biz, farmers, & shippers competitive in 21st centur y #FreightCantWait career center for job AAPA launches new online industry employers seekers, #ports & maritime 1 http://iz4.me/Ug1ZVO AAPA & 11 organization s urge Congress to fund #TIGER at $1.25 billion to #rebuildrenew transportation infrastructu re http://ow.ly/O5Lv2 GE impact on the Seaport activity has a HU build America's 21st to son economy, another big rea e http://ow.ly/i/aMMTQ centur y #infrastructur 6 AAPA SEAPORTS MAGAZINE mlong@aapa-ports.org Research & Informational Services DR. REXFORD B. SHERMAN, DIRECTOR OF RESEARCH & INFORMATION SERVICES rsherman@aapa-ports.org Editorial Advisory Panel CRAIG ESTABROOKS, PORT SAINT JOHN DUANE SANDUL (ADVISORY PANEL CHAIR), PORT OF REDWOOD CITY RICHARD SCHER, MARYLAND PORT ADMINISTRATION JEAN GODWIN, AAPA AARON ELLIS, AAPA MEREDITH MARTINO, AAPA Published by 5950 NW 1st Place, Gainesville, FL 32607 Tel: (352) 332-1252, (800) 369-6220, Fax: (352) 331-3525 Publisher Jessica Semonin jsemonin@naylor.com Editor Sarah Sain ssain@naylor.com Marketing Lauren Branin lbranin@naylor.com Project & Sales Manager Heather McMillen hmcmillen@naylor.com Media Director Chris Zabel czabel@naylor.com Sales Representatives Amanda Blanchard ablanchard@naylor.com Lou Brandow lbrandow@naylor.com Chris Chiccarello cchiccarello@naylor.com Anook Commandeur acommand@naylor.com Erik Henson ehenson@naylor.com Shane Holt sholt@naylor.com Erin Pande epande@naylor.com Vicki Sherman vsherman@naylor.com Jason Zawada jzawada@naylor.com Layout & Design BK Publication Design ©2015 Naylor, LLC. All rights reserved. The contents of this publication may not be reproduced by any means, in whole or in part, without the prior written consent of the publisher. SEPTEMBER 2015/AAP-Q0315/1718 http://www.aapa-ports.org http://www.aapaportmiami.com http://www.facebook.com/seaportsde http://www.bit.ly/1haDEJ3 http://www.iz4.me/Ug1ZVO1 http://www.ow.ly/O5Lv2 http://www.ow.ly/i/aMMTQ

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Seaports Magazine - Fall 2015

AAPA Headquarters
From the President's Desk
Big Data, Big Possibilities
Greenlight on Green Metrics
An Eye on Data
Trusting Third-Party Data
Data in Latin America
Washington Zeroes in on Port Performance
Improving and Expanding Our Nation's Seaports
Navigating the Waves of Transportation Data
Big, Bad Big Data
Data Strategies to Avoid Trouble Ahead, Trouble Behind
Leveraging Regional Freight Data to Improve Port Connectivity and Boost Trade

Seaports Magazine - Fall 2015

http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0118
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0417
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0317
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0217
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0117
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0416
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0316
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0216
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0116
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0415
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0315
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0215
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0115
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0414
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0314
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0214
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0114
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0413
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0313
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0213
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/AAPQ/AAPQ0113
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com