@MPIGNY - Spring 2014 - (Page 30)

#new members ASSOCIATION/NOTFOR-PROFIT MEETING PROFESSIONAL Stephen H. Alter Director of Meetings & Advertising American Symphony Orchestra League salter@symphony.org Melissa Faith Markowitz Events and Outreach Manager Moody's Analytics mfm1831@yahoo.com Kim Williams Meetings Coordinator ASME williamsk@asme.org CHAPTER BUSINESS MANAGER Bryan J. Lavin Chapter Business Manager Meeting Professionals International blavin@mpiweb.org CORPORATE MEETING PROFESSIONAL Michelle Castillo, CMP Senior Vice President Digiday smw118@yahoo.com Kate D'Elia deliakd@gmail.com Rachael Dworsky, DMCP Meeting Planner Guardian Life Insurance Company rachael_dworsky@glic.com Lindsay Hagans Senior Events Manager Moody's Analytics lindsay.hagans@moodys.com Victoria Lee Global Travel and Meetings Associate The Estee Lauder Companies victoria.lee18@gmail.com Natoya Vanessa Matthew Meeting Planner The Lockwood Group natoya@thelockwoodgrp.com Elvis Newman Director of Event Planning and Catering 1954 Fuji Sushi Catering sushicater@gmail.com Danielle Purfey Director, Events & Meetings KPMG, LLP dpurfey@kpmg.com Julia T. Mincheva Student New York University mincheva1@yandex.ru Matthew Davis Director of Corporate Sales Trump International Hotel mdavis@trumphotels.com Nick Osmanaj President 1-800-Book-A-Limo nick@bookalimo.com Susan Seyler Senior Meeting Planner Guardian Life Insurance Company susan_seyler@glic.com SUPPLIER MEETING PROFESSIONAL Catherine Diem Director of Sales Hilton Worldwide Sales cathy.diem@hilton.com Kathleen Roberge Vice President, Global Sales Etouches kroberge@etouches.com Anna De Chevalier Events and Meeting Coordinator Etcetera Etcetera etcrest@gmail.com Cristy Santos Client Relationship Manager Driven Global Limousine Service cristy@drivenglobal.com Alice Dunn Conference Services Manager The New Yorker Hotel adunn@nyhotel.com Ayele Sara Group Sales Manager The Kimberly Hotel Sara@kimberlyhotel.com Justin Griffing Business Development Director Fourth Wall Events Justin@fourthwallevents.com Jennifer Sena In Market National Sales Manager Caesars Entertainment jsena@caesars.com Marnie Hock Director, National Accounts Saddlebrook Resort Mhock@saddlebrook.com Jennifer L. Sorrell Group Sales Manager jsorrell@theknickerbocker.com MEETING MANAGEMENT PROFESSIONAL - PLANNER Jeff Barker President Jeff Barker Productions, Inc. jbproducts@aol.com Jan Blumenfeld, CMP Senior AVP Yeshiva University jblumen1@yu.edu Lisa Denton, CMP Director Meeting Management Associates Inc. lisa@mma-inc.com #advertiser's index Sinem Atahan Catering Sales Manager CPS Events at The Plaza sinem.atahan@cpsevents.com Laura Bauman Sales Manager Highgate Hotel Laura.Bauman@marriott.com Brooke Latham Director of Operations Global Access Meetings brooke@ globalaccessmeetings.com Kathrin Puhan-Henz Owner meetings that work puhan-henz meetingsthatwork.net Jennifer Blair Group Sales Manager The Roosevelt Hotel New York jblair@rooseveltnyc.com Jules Carneiro National Sales Manager Margaritaville jules@margaritaville.com Carolyn Carniaux, CMP Charter/Event Sales Manager Hornblower Cruises & Events carniaux@optonline.net Gerard Reus Managing Director Sofrance Events & Transportation gerard@sofrance.net MEETING MANAGEMENT PROFESSIONAL - SUPPLIER Xenia E. Castillo-Hunter National Corporate Sales Manager Detroit Metro Convention & Visitors Bureau xhunter@meetdetroit.com Alba Cera Director of Special Events Amerivents acera@amerivents.com Audrey Ceuppens Key Account Manager Nespresso audrey.ceuppens@ hotmail.com Christe A. Daddario National Sales Manager Eden Roc Miami Beach cdaddario@ destinationhotels.com Oni Chukwu President & CEO Etouches ochukwu@etouches.com STUDENT CASINOS Tropicana Casino ..........................................................3 www.tropicana.com CATERING 3 West Club .................................................................13 www.3westclub.com CONVENTION & VISITORS BUREAUS Detroit Metro CVB .............................. Inside Front Cover www.MeetDetroit.com/Comeback-Stories @MPIGNY SPRING 2014 Kristin Andersen Group Sales Manager The New York Palace Hotel kandersen@nypalace.com Jenny Back Group Sales Manager Omni Berkshire Place jback@omnihotels.com Megan Hennessey Social Media Manager Waldorf Astoria New York meganphennessey@gmail.com 30 Talya Adesnik Event & Marketing Coordinator 48 Lounge info@48nyc.com Susan Corrado Corporate Sales Manager Westminster Hotel scorrado@westminsterhotel.net David Katz Senior Sales Executive Marriott Hotel Anaheim david.katz@marriott.com Dominique Lahens, CMP Private Dining Manager Felidia dlahens@felidia-nyc.com Melisa Lindley Sales Manager Forty 1 North Hotel & Marina mlindley@41north.com Kim Lowe Sales Manager The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center kim.lowe@woodlandsresort.com Bridget M. Marrin Sr. Catering Sales Manager Sofitel Luxury Hotel New York bridget.marrin@sofitel.com Tiffany L. McEllin Senior Sales Manager Millenium Hilton - NYC tiffany.mcellin@hilton.com Carla I. Olivier Assistant Director of Sales Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto colivier@trumphotels.com HOTEL & CONFERENCE CENTERS Glen Cove Mansion Hotel & Conference Center ..................................................3 www.GlenCoveMeetings.com HOTELS & RESORTS 3 West Club .................................................................13 www.3westclub.com Allegria Hotel.................................................................4 www.allegriahotel.com Inn at Lake Joseph ......................................................19 www.lakejoseph.com MGM Grand Detroit ..........................Outside Back Cover www.mgmgranddetroit.com Katrina M. Stewart New York Marriott East Side katrina.stewart@marriott.com Jane Stivaletta Corporate Events & Memberships Hermitage Club and Inn Jstivaletta@hermitageclub.com Steven Tanzer President TripBuilder Media Inc. stanzer@tripbuildermedia.com Ryan Thompson Sales Manager Sonesta Resort Hilton Head island rthompson@sonesta.com Tess Wilson Group Sales Manager Le Parker Meridien New York twilson@parkermeridien.com LauraLee Wren, CHSP Assistant Director of Sales Kalahari Resorts lwren@kalahariresorts.com Marcella Zuniga Regional Sales Director - Group Sales Dorchester Collection marcella.zuniga dorchestercollection.com Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem ...................................4 www.PaSands.com MEETING & BANQUET FACILITIES 3 West Club .................................................................13 www.3westclub.com PRINTING & PUBLICATIONS Naylor, LLC......................................... Inside Back Cover www.naylor.com RESTAURANTS & CLUBS 3 West Club .................................................................13 www.3westclub.com @ http://www.meetingsthatwork.net http://www.dorchestercollection.com http://www.PaSands.com http://www.tropicana.com http://www.GlenCoveMeetings.com http://www.3westclub.com http://www.3westclub.com http://www.3westclub.com http://www.allegriahotel.com http://www.naylor.com http://www.MeetDetroit.com/Comeback-Stories http://www.lakejoseph.com http://www.mgmgranddetroit.com http://www.3westclub.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of @MPIGNY - Spring 2014

Ask the Board
President’s Message
Speaking the Language of Sustainability
11 Delivering the ‘green’ at AIBTM 2014
IMEX America’s Sustainability Efforts: Greenhouses, Gardens and Growing Commitments
A CSR Preview of MPI’S WEC 2014
Greening Trends: Meeting Planners ‘go Local’ to Drive Down Costs
Sustainability at Caneel Bay Resort
Let’s Get Physical: Team Building for the Active Attendee
Delta Force
#Stickwithmpigny
Mpigny’s Engaging Evening
Legal Review
Member Spotlight
Fitness Focus
Notes From the Field
Asheville CVB Injects Unique Destination Flare Into Meetings
History Comes Alive in Boston
New Members
Advertiser’s Index

@MPIGNY - Spring 2014

http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0119
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0218
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0118
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0217
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0117
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0416
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0316
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0216
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0116
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0415
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0315
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0215
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0115
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0414
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0314
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0214
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0114
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0413
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0313
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0213
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com