@MPIGNY- Fall 2013 - (Page 4)

#board of directors PRESIDENT, Meghan Schilt, CMP, Events Manager, Apax Partners, meghan.schilt@apax.com DIRECTOR OF LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT, Tom Andrika, Business Development Manager, Fourth Wall Events, tom@fourthwallevents.com PRESIDENT-ELECT, Carvie Gillikin, Vice President, Fourth Wall Events, carvie@fourthwallevents.com DIRECTOR OF MEMBERSHIP, Lannise Galbraith, CMP, Owner, Event Planner, LRGEvent Management, lannise@lrgevents.com IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT, Ken Edwards, National Account Executive, SmartSource Computer & Audio Visual Rentals, kedwards@SmartSourceRentals.com DIRECTOR OF STRATEGIC EVENTS, Carly Roncaglio, Business Development Manager, ZAK EVENTS, LLC, carly@zakevents.com VP OF COMMUNICATIONS, Suzanne Medcalf, Regional Manager – Hosted Buyer Program, IMEX America, suzanne.medcalf@imexexhibitions.com DIRECTOR AT LARGE, EDUCATIONAL SUMMIT, Wendy Blaney, In Market Director of Sales, Caesars Entertainment, wblaney@caesars.com VP OF EDUCATION, Jason Cohen, Regional Sales Director, National Accounts, Sofitel Luxury Hotels - North America, jason.cohen@sofitel.com DIRECTOR AT LARGE, NETWORKING EVENTS, Laura Mulholland, CMP, Director of Sales, Live Nation New York, lauramulholland@livenation.com VP OF FINANCE, Michelle Marie Adams, CMP, Regional Director, Meeting Element, madams@meetingelement.com STAFF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, Kathie Stapleton, MPI Greater New York Chapter (MPIGNY), kstapleton@mpigny.org VP OF MEMBERSHIP, Robert Sanders, CMP, Chairman, Hospitality Resource Group, Robert@HRGinc.net DIRECTOR OF FINANCE, David Strang, Director of Group Sales, Americas, Jumeirah Hotels, david.strang@jumeirah.com CHAPTER BUSINESS MANAGER, Dana Perrino, CMP, Meeting Professionals International (MPI), dperrino@mpiweb.org #ask the board Q uestions about becoming a volunteer? Interested in learning more about the industry? Thinking about planning your next vacation? Ask the board what they think! What is the best place you have traveled this year, either for work or leisure? Great question! I absolutely loved getting to visit Denver, CO, for the first time this year to attend the Meetings Industry Council of Colorado conference and meet the team from the Rocky Mountain MPI Chapter. It is amazing to work with chapters from all over the globe and engage through our MPI family! – Suzanne Medcalf, IMEX America, VP of Communications I am interested in joining a committee, but I’m not exactly sure how to get involved. What is the next step? We are so excited that you want to become involved in making MPIGNY be the best it can be. It’s super easy to get started with the many committee and volunteer opportunities we have available. First, email the Leadership Development Committee – 4 @MPIGNY FALL 2013 Director Tom Andrika at tom@ fourthwallevents.com or Co-Chair Jill Adler at jill.adler@meeting-matters. com. Next, Tom or Jill will schedule a short phone call with you to hear about your interests and strengths and tell you about current opportunities. Within a week, the specific committee leader of the committee or volunteer opportunity to which you have been assigned will call or email you with more details, dates, etc. IT’S THAT EASY! – Tom Andrika, Fourth Wall Events, Leadership Development Director What is your favorite app to use for meetings & events? #TechTuesdays! As a floral design and event decor company, our responsibility is to constantly keep up with the trends. Our design and sales team utilize Pinterest and Instagram quite often. Both of these applications allow us to reach a broad audience and showcase what we love, as well as giving a sneak peek at some of our work. Check out @MPIGNY #TechTuesdays for more of our favorite apps. – Carly Roncaglio, Zak Events, Strategic Events Director @ Published for Meeting Professionals International Greater New York Chapter 7 Fox Run Road Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510 914-762-1456 www.mpigny.org Published by Naylor, LLC 5950 NW 1st Place Gainesville, FL 32607 T: 800-369-6220 F: 352-331-3525 www.naylor.com PUBLISHER Tracy Tompkins EDITOR Sarah Sain PROJECT MANAGER James Ream PROJECT LEADER Jamie Williams MARKETING Megan McGarrell ACCOUNT REPRESENTATIVES Jake Gregory Rick McPhee Shannon O’Brien Jessica Semonin LAYOUT & DESIGN Gordon Klassen ©2013 Naylor, LLC. All rights reserved. The contents of this publication may not be reproduced by any means, in whole or in part, without the prior written consent of the publisher. Published October 2013 MNY-Q0413/8583 http://www.mpigny.org http://www.naylor.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of @MPIGNY- Fall 2013

ASK THE BOARD
HAPPENINGS
PRESIDENT’S MESSAGE
T HE RISE OF HOSTED-BUYER PROGRAMS
CRISIS MANAGEMENT FOR MEETINGS
A PITCH, A PUTT AND A PERFECT DAY
MPIGNY @ WEC
MEMBER SPOTLIGHT
MOBILE SOCIAL NETWORKING IMPROVING THE ATTENDEE EXPERIENCE
ACROSS THE POND – AN MPI UK AND IRELAND CHAPTER MEMBER VISITS MPIGNY
NOTES FROM THE FIELD
GOLF + MEETINGS = GREAT BUSINESS
DESTINATION: THE CATSKILLS
NEW MEMBERS
ADVERTISER’S INDEX

@MPIGNY- Fall 2013

http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0119
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0218
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0118
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0217
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYB0117
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0416
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0316
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0216
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0116
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0415
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0315
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0215
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0115
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0414
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0314
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0214
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0114
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0413
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0313
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/MNYQ/MNYQ0213
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com