Bold Voices - July 2013 - (Page 21)

AACN Pioneering and distinguished career contributions celebrated. AACN annually recognizes visionary leaders in the healthcare community. This year’s recipients of the GE Healthcare-AACN Pioneering Spirit Award are the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation Foundation’s Healthcare Technology Safety Institute, JoAnn Grif Alspach and Richard AAMI Foundation Healthcare Technology Safety Institute1 Irwin. Sally Millar received the Marguerite R. Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career. All were honored in May at the National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition (NTI) in Boston. A pioneer in nursing preceptorship, Alspach developed the first educational program for nurse preceptors. As editor of “AACN Core Curriculum for Critical Care Nursing,” she 2 JoAnn Grif Alspach was instrumental in identifying and disseminating to clinicians worldwide critical care nursing’s requisite core body of knowledge. She serves as editor of AACN’s bimonthly award-winning peer-reviewed journal Critical Care Nurse. Professor of medicine, professor of nursing and chair of critical care operations at the University of Massachusetts and UMass Memorial Medical Center, Irwin Richard Irwin3 is a dedicated advocate for patient safety, patient-focused care, collaborative leadership and interdisciplinary practice and education. He is a champion of AACN’s healthy work environSally Millar4 ments initiative. Director of Patient Care Services Informatics at Massachusetts General Hospital, Millar has championed true collaboration and authentic leadership throughout her 43-year career. A diploma graduate herself, as AACN national president in 1980-1981, she passionately advocated for nurses’ academic education and helped establish AACN’s scholarship program. Millar edited AACN’s first book on clinical procedures, continuing as senior editor for the second edition, now titled “AACN Procedure Manual for Critical Care.” Mary Logan, AAMI president (left) receives award from Patricia McGaffigan, past chair of AACN Certification Corporation and interim president, National Patient Safety Foundation. Award presenter Patricia Gonce Morton, AACN past board member (left), congratulates Alspach. 3 Award presenters Dorrie Fontaine (left) and Kathy McCauley, AACN past presidents, join Irwin. 4 Millar (left) receives award from Marguerite Kinney-Handlin, AACN past president. 1 2 21 September 17-20, 2013 MGM Grand Las Vegas, Nevada Enhance Your Professional Development in a Collaborative Learning Environment Evidence-based content designed to address a wide range of progressive care nurses’ educational needs and provide direct clinical application of the evidence. For more information, visit AACN BOLD VOICES JULY 2013 Visionary Leaders Recognized at NTI

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Bold Voices - July 2013

Front/Digital Edition Viewing Guide
Another Angle
We Welcome New, Thank Off-going National Board Members
Managers Note Less Professionalism Among Nurses
Joint Commission: Alarm Fatigue Can Be Deadly
Many Nurses Subject to Workplace Violence
Sharps Injuries Continue to Pose Work Hazard
Medicare Commission Explores Pay Inequality for APRNs
NTI 2013 in Photos
Can iPads Disrupt Function of Implanted Heart Devices?
Copper Surfaces Can Cut in Half the Risk of HAI
In OurJournals
Boston Eds Ready for Emergencies, Some Airlines Unprepared
AACN Scholarships Support Your Future
Visionary Leaders Recognized at NTI
Step Forward

Bold Voices - July 2013