ASHRAE Insights - June 2019 - 1


June 2019
Volume 34
Number 3

ASHRAE Honors 103 Members
Andrew T. Boggs Service Award

Louise & Bill Holladay
Distinguished Fellow Award
Predrag Pega Hrnjak, Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE,
receives the Louise and Bill Holladay Distinguished Fellow Award. This annual award is given to an ASHRAE
Fellow for continuous preeminence in engineering or
research work. The honor was initiated in 1979 by Presidential Member Bill Holladay. Hrnjak is Stoecker Faculty
Fellow, Distinguished Research Professor, Director, Air
Conditioning and Refrigeration Center, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Ill., and president, Creative
Thermal Solutions, Inc., Urbana, Ill.

Exceptional Service Award
The Exceptional Service Award recognizes Distinguished Service Award
recipients who have continued to serve
faithfully and with exemplary effort.
M. Kent Anderson, Life Member
ASHRAE, resides in Traverse City, Michigan.
Walid Chakroun, Ph.D., P.E., Fellow
ASHRAE, is professor, college of engineering and petroleum, Kuwait City, Kuwait
Kelley Cramm, P.E., is mechanical
technical leader, Henderson Engineers,
Lenexa, Kan.
David Scott Fisher, Life Member
ASHRAE, retired consulting engineer,
State Farm Mutual Automobile Company,
Bloomington, Ill.
Arthur L. Giesler is director of sales,
PermAlert, Perma-Pipe Inc., Niles, Ill.
William Klock, P.E., is vice president,
EEA Consulting Engineers, Austin, Texas.
Lawrence C. Markel, Fellow/Life Member
ASHRAE, is technical staff consultant,

Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award salutes
members of any grade who have served
the Society faithfully and with distinction
and who have given freely of their time
and talent in chapter, regional and Society
Gerardo Alfonso, Eng., is senior consultant, Ingeal, S.A., Bogota, Colombia.
Charlene Warres Bayer, Ph.D., Fellow/
Life Member ASHRAE, is chairman and
chief science officer, Hygieia Sciences LLC,
Marietta, Ga.
Niels Bidstrup, Ph.D., is chief engineer, Grundfos Holdings A/S, Bjerringbro,
Alonzo A.B. Blalock, P.E., is commissioning manager, Jacobs Engineering
Group, Fort Worth, Texas.
Nohad I. Boudani, P.Eng., is director of
technical and R&D department, SODICOM
S.A.L., Beirut, Lebanon.
Clive Broadbent, P.Eng., Fellow/Life
Member ASHRAE, is consulting engineer,
Clive Broadbent & Associates Pty. Ltd.,
Canberra, Australia.
Robert B. Burkhead is president, Blue
Haven Technologies, Louisville, Ky.

Ross D. Montgomery, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, receives the
Andrew T. Boggs Service Award. The award, named after
ASHRAE's executive vice president emeritus, recognizes an
Exceptional Service Award recipient for continuing unselfish, dedicated and distinguished service.
Montgomery is president, Quality Systems & Technology
Inc., Tampa, Fla.


energy and environmental directorate, Oak
Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.
R. Christopher Mathis is president,
MC2-Mathis Consulting Company, Asheville, N.C.
John H. Nix II, is energy engineer, John
Nix Consulting, LLC, Gainesville, Fla.
Jeffrey D. Spitler, Ph.D., P.E., Fellow
ASHRAE, is regents professor, school of
mechanical and aerospace engineering,
Oklahoma State University, Stillwater,
Wei Sun, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, is president and chief executive officer, Engsysco,
Inc., Ann Arbor, Mich.
Edward Ka Cheung Tsui is managing
director, Intelligent Technologies, Ltd.,
Wanchai, Hong Kong, China.
William F. Walter is retired, Carrier
Corporation, Syracuse, N.Y.
Richard D. Watson is president, SSHC,
Inc., Old Saybrook, Conn.
David P. Yuill, Ph.D., P.E., is assistant
professor of architectural engineering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Omaha, Neb.

Dimitris A. Charalampopoulos is
owner, D.A. Charalampopulos & Associates Engineering Consultants, Paleon
Phaliron, Greece.
Rupal A. Choksi is assistant vice
president, quality and product selection
services, Air Conditioning, Heating and
Refrigeration Institute (AHRI), Arlington,
Jon J. Cohen is technical staff consultant, ChemTreat, Glen Allen, Va.
James G. Crawford, Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE, is retired from Trane/Ingersoll-Rand, Tyler, Texas.
Lorenzo Cremaschi, Ph.D., is associate professor, mechanical engineering,
Auburn University, Auburn, Ala.
Den Low Han Guan, P.E., is director,
EMS Design & Consultation, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Pam Duffy, P.E., is owner, Spark One
Solutions, LLC, Dallas, Texas.
Philip W. Fairey is deputy director,
Florida Solar Energy Center, Cocoa, Fla.
Gus Faris, Life Member ASHRAE, is
vice president, engineering, Nailor Industries, Inc., Houston, Texas.
Distinguished Service Award,
continued on P. 2


One-hundred-eleven awards that honor research, presentations,
papers and service will be presented at the 2019 ASHRAE Annual
Conference, to be held in Kansas City, Mo., June 22-26, 2019.












Learn how to
nominate a
member for
an Award on
Page 3.





















ASHRAE Insights - June 2019

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of ASHRAE Insights - June 2019

Louise & Bill Holladay Distinguished Fellow Award
Andrew T. Boggs Service Award
Exceptional Service Award
Distinguished Service Award
Lou Flagg Historical Award
Lincoln Bouillon Award
Chapter Program Star Award
Government Affairs Award
Student Activities Achievement Award
Youth Outreach Award
Donald Bahnfleth Environmental Health Award
Homer Addams Award
Standards Achievement Award
Ralph G. Nevins Physiology & Human Environment Award
William J. Collins, Jr. RP Award
ASHRAE Journal Paper Award
Crosby Field Award
Science and Technology for the Built Environment Best Paper Award
ASHRAE Technical Paper Award
Willis H. Carrier Award
Distinguished 50-Year Member Award
Nominations for Honors and Awards
Member Advancement
ASHRAE Certifications
ASHRAE Insights - June 2019 - Distinguished Service Award
ASHRAE Insights - June 2019 - Homer Addams Award
ASHRAE Insights - June 2019 - Nominations for Honors and Awards
ASHRAE Insights - June 2019 - ASHRAE Certifications