Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 4

Retail Leader
MAY/JUNE 2018 VOL. 8, NO. 3

6 EDITORIAL

HOW COME I CAN'T...? So many
things in our daily lives are faster,
cheaper and better. But those attributes
are never used to describe health care.

8 GROWTH AND BUSINESS
DEVELOPMENT

ALDI ACCELERATES GROWTH.
The German grocer's onward march
continues, and with few visible
weaknesses competitors should be
concerned.

12 HUMAN CAPITAL

GETTING COMFORTABLE BEING
UNCOMFORTABLE. Nothing short
of business continuity is at stake for
retailers and suppliers who fail to
achieve diversity - fast.

14 MERCHANDISING AND
MARKETING

SPONSORED AUTHENTICTY.
New standards of accountability
and expectations of performance
are transforming the growing field of
influencer marketing.

16 SUPPLY CHAIN

SKIPPING THE TRIP. Promotion of
home delivery will impact store traffic,
but the alternative is losing share to
competitors.

SVP, Group Brand Director Katie Brennan
kbrennan@ensembleiq.com 917-859-3619

EDITORIAL
Editor-In-Chief & Brand Director Mike Troy
mtroy@ensembleiq.com 813-857-6512
Managing Editor Gina Acosta
gacosta@ensembleiq.com 813-417-4149

20 COVER STORY

THE BUSINESS CASE FOR
DIVERSITY. Ulta Beauty offers a
differentiated business model and
a rare approach to gender diversity.

32 TECHNOLOGY AND
INNOVATION

MAGIC MAKER. Lolli & Pops'
formula of experiential stores,
cutting edge technology and
delightful service is a sweet lesson
for retailers.

36 SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

THE MOST BEAUTIFUL STORE
IN AMERICA. After opening a
supermarket that helped revitalize
downtown Cleveland the Heinen
brothers are moving fast to serve
shoppers in new ways.

38 FINANCE AND CAPITAL
MANAGEMENT

PROFITING FROM TRUST.
Taking a stand on social issues is
fraught with risk.

42 WHAT'S NEXT

THINKING LIKE A STARTUP.
Philosophy applies to trade
associations too, says NACDS
CEO Steven Anderson.

ADVERTISING SALES & BUSINESS
Associate Brand Director Mike Shaw
mshaw@ensembleiq.com
Office 201-855-7631 Cell 201-281-9100
Senior Sales Manager Judy Hayes
jhayes@ensembleiq.com 925-785-9665
Senior Sales Manager Theresa Kossack
tkossack@ensembleiq.com 214.226.6468

MARKETING
Brand Marketing Manager Carly Kilgore
ckilgore@ensembleiq.com

AUDIENCE ENGAGEMENT
Director of Audience Engagement Gail Reboletti
greboletti@ensembleiq.com
Audience Engagement Manager Shelly Patton
spatton@ensembleiq.com

PROJECT MANAGEMENT/
PRODUCTION/ART
Vice President, Production Kathryn Homenick
khomenick@ensembleiq.com
Creative Director Colette Magliaro
cmagliaro@ensembleiq.com
Custom Project Manager Kathy Colwell
kcolwell@ensembleiq.com
Custom Project Manager Judi Lam
jlam@ensembleiq.com
Production Manager Jackie Batson
jbatson@ensembleiq.com
Art Director Regina Loncala
rloncala@gmail.com
Subscriber Service/Single-Copy Purchases
EnsembleIQ@e-circ.net
Reprints, Permissions and Licensing
Contact Wright's Media at
ensembleiq@wrightsmedia.com
or 877-652-5295

Executive Chairman Alan Glass
Chief Executive Officer David Shanker
Chief Operating Officer & Chief Financial Officer
Richard Rivera
Chief Brand Officer Korry Stagnito
President, Enterprise Solutions Terese Herbig
Chief Digital Officer Joel Hughes
Chief Human Resources Officer Jennifer Turner
Senior Vice President, Innovation
Tanner Van Dusen

24
32
4

Retail Leader.com MAY/JUNE 2018

Retail Leader is published seven times yearly by
EnsembleIQ: 8550 W. Bryn Mawyr,
Chicago, IL 60631; Phone 224-632-8200
Fax: 224-632-8266. www.retailleader.com
For address changes, send to Chicago, IL
address or e-mail spatton@ensembleiq.com.
© Copyright 2018


http://www.retailleader.com http://retailleader.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Retail Leader - May/June 2018

Contents
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - Cover1
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - Cover2
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 3
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - Contents
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 5
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 6
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 7
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 8
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 9
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 10
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 11
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 12
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 13
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 14
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 15
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 16
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 17
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 18
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - S1
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - S2
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - S3
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - S4
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - S5
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - S6
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - S7
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - S8
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 19
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 20
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 21
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 22
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 23
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 24
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 25
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 26
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 27
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 28
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 29
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 30
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 31
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 32
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 33
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 34
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 35
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 36
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 37
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 38
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 39
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 40
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 41
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - 42
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - Cover3
Retail Leader - May/June 2018 - Cover4
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com