Georgia County Government - May/June 2012 - (Page 6)

Association County Commissioners of Georgia President CLINTON PERRY Taylor County Commissioner First Vice President MIKE BERG Dawson County Chairman Third Vice President SAM HART Bibb County Chairman Second Vice President KEVIN LITTLE Walton County Chairman Immediate Past President MELVIN DAVIS Oconee County Chairman President’sMessage President’s Message: Are You Ready? By Clinton Perry President Executive Director ROSS KING District Representatives 1st District ALLEN POOLE, Haralson County 2nd District JONESY HAYGOOD, Stephens County 3rd District KATHIE GANNON, DeKalb County 4th District EDDIE FREEMAN, Spalding County 5th District TOMMY LYON, Elbert County 6th District JANIE REID, Putnam County 7th District RON CROSS, Columbia County 8th District TERRELL HUDSON, Dooly County 9th District JAMES THOMAS, Wayne County 10th District LAMAR HUDGINS, Dougherty County 11th District JOYCE EVANS, Lowndes County 12th District HELEN STONE, Chatham County At-Large Representatives BROOKS BAILEY, Pulaski County Sole Commissioner JOHNNY DAVIS, Jefferson County Commissioner J. HARRY LANGE, Harris County Chairman CHARLOTTE NASH, Gwinnett County Chairman CARLOS NELSON, Ware County Commissioner Consolidated Government Representative BRUCE HUFF, Columbus-Muscogee County Councilor Active Past Presidents (ex-officio) MELVIN DAVIS, Oconee County JAMES HAM, Monroe County* BENJAMIN HAYWARD, Mitchell County TOM MCMICHAEL, Houston County O.D. NETTER, Ben Hill County* LAMAR PARIS, Union County *Also a NACo Board Member (ex-officio) Section Presidents (ex-officio) County Attorneys: JEFF AKINS, Bulloch County County Managers/Administrators: DAVID HANKERSON, Cobb County County Clerks: PATRICK DON TOWNSEND, JR., Dade County Service Program Representatives (ex-officio) GSIWCF Board of Trustees (Workers’ Compensation): W.L. “BUD” SANDERS, Greene County IRMA Board of Trustees (Property & Liability): CHARLES NEWTON, McDuffie County Group Health Benefits Program Board of Directors: MIKE MULCARE, Douglas County Pension Board of Trustees: L.B. “BUZZ” AHRENS, Cherokee County Defined Contributions (DC) Board: O.D. NETTER, Ben Hill County S Officers serve through April 2013 6 GEORGIA COUNTY GOVERNMENT tanding before the Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG) membership, as well as family, friends and partners from Taylor County during my installation as president was quite an honor. Department of Corrections Commissioner Brian Owens handled the official swearing in, which underscores his encouragement for staff members like me to seek and serve in leadership roles outside of our dayto-day responsibilities. Not long after being elected to serve as a Taylor County commissioner in 2004, ACCG Board Member and Mitchell County Chairman Ben Hayward began reaching out to me. Chairman Hayward has served the citizens of his county since 1986 – more than 25 years, which is quite an accomplishment. He used his experience to guide me in my early years of service and, in his own quiet but passionate way, to nudge me to get more involved in ACCG through leadership positions. “Are you ready?” he would ask. Thanks to his confidence and urging, along with the foundation of training provided through ACCG’s certification programs and experience that only comes from serving as a county official, I am ready. Georgia State School Superintendent, Dr. John Barge, was one of the featured speakers during the ACCG Annual Cinference general session. He spoke about many important issues when it comes to public education and encouraged county commissioners to get more involved with school leaders. In the last year, Dr. Barge also has created two awards that pay tribute to people that helped to make a difference in his life – one that is given annually to a teacher and the other that is given to a school staff support person. This recognition serves as a reminder to not only work to make a difference in the lives of others, but to also stop and thank the people who have made a difference in my own. Commissioner Owens and Chairman Hayward are just two of many mentors to whom I owe the credit and a word of thanks. Each and every ACCG president has left his or her legacy of service to the Association. Many of them are still actively involved, such as Lamar Paris, Tom McMichael, O.D. Netter, Jim Ham, Clarence Brown, Ben Hayward – and of course, immediate past president Melvin Davis. These individuals and the other members of our Board of Managers and the retirement and insurance boards are committed to working with Ross King and the ACCG staff to provide the kinds of programs and services that counties want and need. Board members expect and welcome feedback from county commissioners throughout the year. Get to know your district representative on the Board of Managers. Their role is to ensure all counties stay connected to ACCG and that ACCG is being responsive to every county. ACCG’s focus on the four pillars – legislative advocacy, leadership development, civic and community engagement, and membership services – has set a clear vision for the future. Counties and county officials will benefit the most from staying involved with the Association.

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Georgia County Government - May/June 2012

President’s Message
In Memoriam
Director’s Desk
An Inside Look at Criminal Justice Reform
Taylor County: Strongly Rooted in an Agricultural Economy with Expectations for Growth
ACCG Annual Meeting Highlights
How Counties Can Stay on Top with an Uncertainty in Federal Funding
A More Level Playing Field for the 2012 LOST Renegotiations
Counties & the Law: Road Acquisition and Abandonment
Preferred Partner News: Georgia United Credit Union Now Welcomes County Employees
Preferred Partner News: How M2M Technology is Poising Local Government for Growth
News & Notes
Index of Advertisers

Georgia County Government - May/June 2012