Georgia County Government - November/December 2012 - (Page 7)

President’sMessage Gearing Up for the 2013 Legislative Session By Clinton Perry President Association County Commissioners of Georgia President CLINTON PERRY Taylor County Commissioner First Vice President MIKE BERG Dawson County Chairman Third Vice President SAM HART Bibb County Chairman Second Vice President KEVIN LITTLE Walton County Chairman Immediate Past President MELVIN DAVIS Oconee County Chairman Executive Director ROSS KING District Representatives 1st District ALLEN POOLE, Haralson County 2nd District JONESY HAYGOOD, Stephens County 3rd District KATHIE GANNON, DeKalb County 4th District EDDIE FREEMAN, Spalding County 5th District TOMMY LYON, Elbert County 6th District JANIE REID, Putnam County 7th District RON CROSS, Columbia County 8th District TERRELL HUDSON, Dooly County 9th District JAMES THOMAS, Wayne County 10th District LAMAR HUDGINS, Dougherty County 11th District JOYCE EVANS, Lowndes County 12th District HELEN STONE, Chatham County At-Large Representatives BROOKS BAILEY, Pulaski County Sole Commissioner JOHNNY DAVIS, Jefferson County Commissioner J. HARRY LANGE, Harris County Chairman CHARLOTTE NASH, Gwinnett County Chairman CARLOS NELSON, Ware County Commissioner Consolidated Government Representative BRUCE HUFF, Columbus-Muscogee County Councilor Active Past Presidents (ex-officio) CLARENCE BROWN, Bartow County MELVIN DAVIS, Oconee County JAMES HAM, Monroe County* BENJAMIN HAYWARD, Mitchell County TOM MCMICHAEL, Houston County O.D. NETTER, Ben Hill County* LAMAR PARIS, Union County *Also a NACo Board Member (ex-officio) Section Presidents (ex-officio) County Attorneys: JEFF AKINS, Bulloch County County Managers/Administrators: DAVID HANKERSON, Cobb County County Clerks: PATRICK DON TOWNSEND, JR., Dade County Service Program Representatives (ex-officio) GSIWCF Board of Trustees (Workers’ Compensation): W.L. “BUD” SANDERS, Greene County IRMA Board of Trustees (Property & Liability): CHARLES NEWTON, McDuffie County Group Health Benefits Program Board of Directors: MIKE MULCARE, Douglas County Pension Board of Trustees: L.B. “BUZZ” AHRENS, Cherokee County Defined Contributions (DC) Board: RICK MUGGRIDGE, Lee County Vice Chairman W hen it comes to the Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG), one shall not expect the same thing every time – rather, expect the unexpected. ACCG approaches each conference and membership gathering with a fresh look, making adaptations based on feedback from county commissioners and other participants to improve the quality of the programming and to help county leaders maximize learning opportunities. This fall, the membership saw ACCG in action in two distinct settings. The 2012 Legislative Leadership Conference convened over 320 county officials to approve the 2013-2014 county platform. This document guides the work of the policy staff before the Georgia General Assembly and Congress. The Standard of Excellence sessions offered during this conference had standing room only because of their outstanding and relevant speakers and presentations. Video from these sessions and other conference materials are now available at In addition, this conference was moved to Athens-Clarke County, providing an opportunity for members to explore a new community and invest conference dollars in another part of the state. ACCG looks forward to returning to Athens-Clarke County for this conference in 2013 and to other counties in future years. ACCG also brought a new twist to the fall district meetings. More than 575 county officials participated in one of these 12 meetings to learn more about the upcoming legislative session. ACCG policy staff and legislators used a town hall meeting format to make these meetings more interactive, allowing county commissioners the opportunity to ask questions and share concerns about a wide range of issues. Legislators provided insight into what they expect during the coming year. This new format was well received by all who were involved. As the new year draws closer, now is the time to become familiar with the 2013 legislative priorities for counties and to schedule meetings with state senators and representatives to discuss these issues. ACCG’s policy staff is extremely effective, but they need the support of county officials. Actions by the Georgia General Assembly can directly impact county operations, both positively and negatively. This year’s legislative priorities are categorized into three major areas: • Partner with the state to ensure wise use of taxpayer dollars. As part of this priority, ACCG will work on legislation to require the $25 passport application fee collected by the Clerks of Court to be placed in the county’s general fund, reduce the public notice requirements, PRESIDENT’S MESSAGE continued on page 8 Officers serve through April 2013 NOVEMBER/DECEMBER 2012 7

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Georgia County Government - November/December 2012

President’s Message
Director’s Desk
Augusta-Richmond County
2013 Legislative Preview
2012 Legislative Service Awards
A First-Hand Look at Governing in Iraq and Afghanistan
Preferred Partner News: How 4G LTE is Changing the Face of County Government
Preferred Partner News: FivePoint’s Suite of Products: Making Georgia Courts More Effi cient
News & Notes
Index of Advertisers

Georgia County Government - November/December 2012