CONNstruction - Spring 2009 - (Page 46)

classifieds ENGINEERS AI Engineers, Inc. 919 Middle Street Middletown, CT 06457 Phone: (860) 635-7740 Fax: (860) 635-7312 E-mail: amurphy@aiengineers.com Web: www.aiengineers.com AI Engineers, Inc. is a full service consulting engineering firm providing quality engineering and planning services in the areas of civil, architectural, sustainable design & construction, estimating, scheduling, construction management, construction inspection, utilities/power, transportation planning, design/build, M/E/P and survey. The firm specializes in bridge design/ inspection services. METAL FABRICATION & ERECTION advertiser.com A.H. Harris & Sons, Inc. www.ahharris.com 14 A.R. Sandri, Inc. www.sandrisunoco.com 8 Acadia Insurance www.acadiainsurance.com 12 AI Engineers, Inc. www.aiengineers.com 46 Algonquin Gas Transmission Co. n/a 38 Blakeslee Prestress, Inc. www.blakesleeprestress.com 34 Blakeslee, Arpaia, Chapman, Inc www.bac-inc.com 37 Blum Shapiro www.blumshapiro.com 38 Bruen, Deldin, Didio, Assoc. Inc www.bddinsurance.com 10 Call Before You Dig www.cbyd.com 26 Campbell Foundry Company www.campbellfoundry.com 26 CCIA Insurance Program n/a 21 Central Connecticut State University www.technology.ccsu.edu 38 Champagne Drywall, Inc. www.champagnedrywall.com 6 Ciulla & Donofrio www.cd-law.com 40 Concrete Systems, Inc. www.csigroup.com Outside Back Cover Connecticut Ladder & Scaffolding www.newyorkladder.com 46 Connecticut Precast Corporation www.ctprecast.com 18 Cosgrove Construction Company, Inc. n/a 34 East Jordan Iron Works, Inc. www.lebaronfoundry.com 38 East PBE, Inc www.eastpbe.com 31 Edward Ehrbar, Inc. www.ehrbar.com 30 Fay & Wright, Inc n/a 23 Filomeno & Company www.filomeno.com 24 Fletcher Granite www.fletchergranite.com 46 Garcia & Milas, P.C www.garciamilas.com 34 Gordon, Muir and Foley, LLP www.gmflaw.com 25 Griffin Dewatering-New England, Inc. www.griffindewatering.com 28 Halloran & Sage LLP www.halloran-sage.com 22 Hemlock Directional Boring www.hdboring.com 32 Joe Passarelli & Co., LLC www.joe-passarelli.com 34 Kelken Construction Systems www.kelken.com 40 Kerin Agency, The www.kerinagency.com 29 Konowitz, Kahn, & Company, P.C www.konowitzkahn.com 8 Kostin, Ruffkess & Co., LLC www.kostin.com 10 Law offices of Michael J. Barnaby PLCC www.barnabylaw.com 43 Lomac, Inc. n/a 46 Luchs Consulting Engineers, LLC www.luchs.com 37 Lynn Ladder & Scaffolding Co., Inc. www.lynnladder.com 27 M & P Pipe Jacking Corporation n/a 46 McGraw-Hill Construction Network www.construction.com 14 MD Drilling & Blasting www.mainedrilling.com 28 Mizzy Construction, Inc. www.MizzyConstruction.com 8 Moretrench www.moretrench.com 25 Murtha Cullina LLP www.murthalaw.com Inside Back Cover New England Scaffolding, Inc. www.nescaffold.com 16 The North Carolina Granite Corp. www.ncgranite.com 32 Pepe & Hazard LLP www.pepehazard.com 29 Petrowsky Auctioneers, Inc. www.petrowskyauctioneers.com 32 Pullman & Comley www.pullcom.com 27 Robinson & Cole LLP www.rc.com 37 Safe at Work n/a 46 Safety Marking, Inc. www.safetymarking.net 43 Southington Metal Fabricating Company n/a 46 Standard Builders, Inc www.standardbuilders.com 36 STV, Inc. www.stvinc.com 40 Superior Products Distributors, Inc. www.superiornetwork.com 42 Tilcon Connecticut Inc. www.tilconct.com 4 Toce Brothers www.tocebrothers.com 36 Tyler Equipment www.tylerequipment.com Inside Front Cover UHY LLP www.uhy-us.com 24 United Concrete Products www.unitedconcrete.com 3 The United Illuminating Company www.uinet.com 43 United Rentals – Manchester www.unitedrentals.com 16 United Steel, Inc. www.unitedsteel.com 32 URS Corporation www.urscorp.com 43 The W.I. Clark Company www.wiclark.com 6 Whitney & Son www.whitneyandson.com 18 Southington Metal Fabricating Company P. O. Box 456 Southington, CT 06489 Phone: (860) 621-0149 Fax: (860) 628-0519 E-mail: southington.metal@snet.net Southington Metal Fabricating Company is AISC Certified. Our specialties include: Structural, Ornamental & Miscellaneous Metal Fabrication; Bridge Rail – Fencing – Steel – Metalworking and Metal Fabrication & Erection, Stainless Steel Fabrication, Aluminum Fabrication, Brass & Bronze Fabrication, Pipe Fabrication, Sign Structures, Material Rolling and Bending, and Fiberglass & Plexiglass Fabrication. EQUIPMENT RENTALS Lomac, Inc. 261 Burnham Street East Hartford, CT 06108 Phone: (860) 528-9663 Fax: (860) 282-0533 E-mail: lomac@snet.net Lomac, Inc. We Sell, Service, and Rent! Celebrating 47 Years In Business! John Deere Construction Utility Equipment, Doosan Construction Equipment, Interstate Trailers, Gehl Skid Loaders and Excavators, Woods Equipment and Attachments, Stanley Hydraulic Tools, Geith Buckets, JRB Quick Change Attachments, Sweeper and Brooms, and Hudson Utility Trailers. PIPE JACKING M & P Pipe Jacking Corporation 173 Pane Road Newington, CT 06111 Phone: (860) 667-0896 Fax: (860) 667-4526 E-mail: info@mppj.necoxmail.com Our specialities include Pipe Jacking, Pipe Ramming and Horizontal Boring. SCAFFOLDING Connecticut Ladder & Scaffolding P.O. Box 847 Yonkers, NY 10702-0847 Phone: (800) 229-2960 Fax: (914) 476-4140 E-mail: nyladder@aol.com Web: www.newyorkladder.com Third generation, family-owned & operated, established in 1894. Serving the industry for over 100 years. Full service scaffolding company including: Sales – Rentals – Installations – Steel Frame Scaffolding – Rolling Towers – Electric & Manual Swing Stages – Debris Chutes – Ladders – Sidewalk Shed Protection. GRANITE Fletcher Granite 534 Groton Road Westford, MA 01886 Phone: (978) 251-4031 Fax: (978) 251-8773 Toll Free: 800-253-8168 E-mail: info@fletchergranite.com Web: www.fletchergranite.com “Quality through Tradition” Granite Curbing for Roadways & Bridges – Dimension Stone – Landscape Products. Curb extension #1222; Landscape extension #1276; Dimension Stone extension #1232 Safe At Work can develop and assist you in implementing a customized health and safety program • Employee Training • Job Hazard Analysis • Job Site Inspectors • Health & Safety Committee Development • Trades Training Program • Construction Education Bookstore Think Safety • Work Safely Daniel Gorman 203.232.7820 safeatwork2002@yahoo.com 46 / CONNstruction / Spring 2009 Safe At Work LLC http://www.ahharris.com http://www.sandrisunoco.com http://www.acadiainsurance.com http://www.aiengineers.com http://www.aiengineers.com http://www.blakesleeprestress.com http://www.bac-inc.com http://www.blumshapiro.com http://www.bddinsurance.com http://www.cbyd.com http://www.campbellfoundry.com http://www.technology.ccsu.edu http://www.champagnedrywall.com http://www.cd-law.com http://www.csigroup.com http://www.newyorkladder.com http://www.ctprecast.com http://www.lebaronfoundry.com http://www.eastpbe.com http://www.ehrbar.com http://www.filomeno.com http://www.fletchergranite.com http://www.garciamilas.com http://www.gmflaw.com http://www.griffindewatering.com http://www.halloran-sage.com http://www.hdboring.com http://www.joe-passarelli.com http://www.kelken.com http://www.kerinagency.com http://www.konowitzkahn.com http://www.kostin.com http://www.newyorkladder.com http://www.barnabylaw.com http://www.luchs.com http://www.fletchergranite.com http://www.lynnladder.com http://www.construction.com http://www.mainedrilling.com http://www.MizzyConstruction.com http://www.moretrench.com http://www.murthalaw.com http://www.nescaffold.com http://www.ncgranite.com http://www.pepehazard.com http://www.petrowskyauctioneers.com http://www.pullcom.com http://www.rc.com http://www.safetymarking.net http://www.standardbuilders.com http://www.stvinc.com http://www.superiornetwork.com http://www.tilconct.com http://www.tocebrothers.com http://www.tylerequipment.com http://www.uhy-us.com http://www.unitedconcrete.com http://www.uinet.com http://www.unitedrentals.com http://www.unitedsteel.com http://www.urscorp.com http://www.wiclark.com http://www.whitneyandson.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of CONNstruction - Spring 2009

CONNstruction - Spring 2009
Contents
The Proving Year
AGC’s Building Division – Where the Value Shines Through
A List Worth Checking
In Defense of “Special Interests”
The Vexatious Litigant
Your Industry Association Membership - Now More Than Ever
Executive Summary
CCIA’s Executive Committee and Officers for 2009
CCIA Board of Directors 2009
Association Activities
Education and Training
Legislative-Lobbying and Government Relations
Labor Relations
CCIA Division Officers
CCIA Staff
Plenty of Parking
Building a Foundation
Connecticut Roadbuilders Fall Meeting
UCAC Annual Scholarship Auction
2008 CCIA’s Annual Membership Meeting and Reception
Diggers/Mixers/Fixers Golf Outing
AGC/CT Industry Recognition Awards Dinner
Index to Advertisers
Advertiser.com

CONNstruction - Spring 2009

http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0412
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0312
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0212
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0112
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0411
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0311
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0211
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0111
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0410
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0310
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0210
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0110
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0409
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0309
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0209
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0109
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0408
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0308
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0208
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com