CONNstruction - Winter 2008 - (Page 45)

advertiser.com A.H. Harris & Sons, Inc www.ahharris.com 10 A.R. Sandri, Inc. www.sandrisunoco.com 38 Acadia Insurance www.acadiainsurance.com 12 Algonquin Gas Transmission Co. n/a 26 Arthur J. Gallagher Risk Management Services, Inc. www.ajg.com 34 Blakeslee Prestress, Inc. www.blakesleeprestress.com 26 Blakeslee, Arpaia, Chapman, Inc. .. www.bac-inc.com 31 Blum Shapiro www.blumshapiro.com 26 Bond Brothers www.bondbrothers.com 16 Bruen, Deldin, Didio, Assoc. Inc www.bddinsurance.com 6 Call Before You Dig www.cbyd.com 37 Campbell Foundry Company www.campbellfoundry.com 43 Central Connecticut State University www.technology.ccsu.edu 31 Champagne Drywall, Inc. www.champagnedrywall.com 6 Ciulla & Donofrio www.cd-law.com 34 Concrete Systems, Inc. www.csigroup.com outside back cover ConnectiCare Solo www.connecticare.com/solo 8 Connecticut Ladder & Scaffolding www.newyorkladder.com 45 DeSiato Sand and Gravel Corp. pdesiato@snet.net 37 East PBE, Inc www.eastpbe.com 39 Edward Ehrbar, Inc. www.ehrbar.com 22 Everett J. Prescott, Inc. www.ejprescott.com 20 Fay & Wright, Inc. n/a 36 Filomeno & Company www.filomeno.com 28 Fletcher Granite www.fletchergranite.com 44 Garcia & Milas, P.C. www.garciamilas.com 23 Gordon, Muir and Foley, LLP www.gmflaw.com 28 Griffin DewateringNew England, Inc. www.griffindewatering.com 29 Halloran & Sage LLP www.halloran-sage.com 36 JGI Eastern, Inc., A Terracon Company www.terracon.com 34 Joe Passarelli & Co., LLC www.joe-passarelli.com 23 Kelken Construction Systems www.kelken.com 31 Kerin Agency, The www.kerinagency.com 38 Konowitz, Kahn, & Company, P.C. .. www.konowitzkahn.com 21 Kostin, Ruffkess & Co., LLC www.kostin.com 30 Law offices of Michael J. Barnaby PLCC www.barnabylaw.com 31 Lomac, Inc. n/a 44 Lynn Ladder & Scaffolding Co., Inc www.lynnladder.com 38 M & P Pipe Jacking Corporation n/a 45 MD Drilling & Blasting www.mainedrilling.com 43 Mizzy Construction, Inc. www.MizzyConstruction.com 39 Murtha Cullina LLP www.murthalaw.com inside back cover The N.C. Granite Corporation www.ncgranite.com 23 National Ready Mix Concrete Association www.nrmca.org 14 New England Scaffolding, Inc. www.nescaffold.com 8 Pepe & Hazard LLP www.pepehazard.com 37 Pullman & Comley www.pullcom.com 46 Safety Marking, Inc. www.safetymarking.net 31 Shawmut Equipment Company www.shawmutequipment.com 44 Southington Metal Fabricating Company n/a 45 Specialty Foundry, Inc., www.lebaronfoundry.com 31 STV, Inc. www.stvinc.com 26 Temp-Air www.temp-air.com 34 Tilcon Connecticut Inc. www.tilconct.com 4 Toce Brothers www.tocebrothers.com 16 Tyler Equipment www.tylerequipment.com .. inside front cover UHY LLP www.uhy-us.com 29 Underground Locating Services Electronic Dowsing LLC www.magneticfielddetection.com 37 United Concrete Products www.unitedconcrete.com 3 The United Illuminating Company .. www.uinet.com 46 United Rentals - Manchester www.unitedrentals.com 10 United Steel, Inc www.unitedsteel.com 23 Whitney & Son www.whitneyandson.com 14 METAL FABRICATION & ERECTION PIPE JACKING M & P Pipe Jacking Corporation 173 Pane Road Newington, CT 06111 Phone: (860) 667-0896 Fax: (860) 667-4526 E-mail: info@mppj.necoxmail.com Our specialties include Pipe Jacking, Pipe Ramming and Horizontal Boring. SCAFFOLDING Connecticut Ladder & Scaffolding PO Box 847 Yonkers, NY 10702-0847 Phone: (800) 229-2960 Fax: (914) 476-4140 E-mail: nyladder@aol.com Web: www.newyorkladder.com Third generation, family-owned & operated, established in 1894. Serving the industry for over 100 years. Full service scaffolding company including: Sales - Rentals Installations - Steel Frame Scaffolding - Rolling Towers - Electric & Manual Swing Stages - Debris Chutes - Ladders - Sidewalk Shed Protection. Southington Metal Fabricating Company PO Box 456 312823_southington.indd 1 2/13/07 8:49:08 PM Southington, CT 06489 Phone: (860) 621-0149 Fax: (860) 628-0519 E-mail: southington.metal@snet.net Southington Metal Fabricating Company is AISC Certified. Our specialties include: Structural, Ornamental & Miscellaneous Metal Fabrication; Bridge Rail - Fencing Steel - Metalworking and Metal Fabrication & Erection, Stainless Steel Fabrication, Aluminum Fabrication, Brass & Bronze Fabrication, Pipe Fabrication, Sign Structures, Material Rolling and Bending, and Fiberglass & Plexiglass Fabrication. CONNstruction / Winter 2008 / 45 http://www.ahharris.com http://www.kerinagency.com http://www.sandrisunoco.com http://www.konowitzkahn.com http://www.acadiainsurance.com http://www.kostin.com http://www.barnabylaw.com http://www.ajg.com http://www.blakesleeprestress.com http://www.bac-inc.com http://www.lynnladder.com http://www.blumshapiro.com http://www.bondbrothers.com http://www.mainedrilling.com http://www.bddinsurance.com http://www.MizzyConstruction.com http://www.cbyd.com http://www.murthalaw.com http://www.campbellfoundry.com http://www.ncgranite.com http://www.technology.ccsu.edu http://www.nrmca.org http://www.champagnedrywall.com http://www.nescaffold.com http://www.cd-law.com http://www.pepehazard.com http://www.csigroup.com http://www.pullcom.com http://www.connecticare.com/solo http://www.safetymarking.net http://www.shawmutequipment.com http://www.newyorkladder.com http://www.eastpbe.com http://www.lebaronfoundry.com http://www.ehrbar.com http://www.stvinc.com http://www.ejprescott.com http://www.temp-air.com http://www.tilconct.com http://www.filomeno.com http://www.tocebrothers.com http://www.fletchergranite.com http://www.tylerequipment.com http://www.garciamilas.com http://www.uhy-us.com http://www.gmflaw.com http://www.magneticfielddetection.com http://www.griffindewatering.com http://www.unitedconcrete.com http://www.halloran-sage.com http://www.uinet.com http://www.unitedrentals.com http://www.terracon.com http://www.unitedsteel.com http://www.joe-passarelli.com http://www.kelken.com http://www.whitneyandson.com http://www.newyorkladder.com

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of CONNstruction - Winter 2008

CONNstruction - Winter 2008
Contents
The Next Phase of Contracting Reform
A Return to Trust – Partnering
Building Our Future and Theirs
New “Green Buildings” Law Presents Opportunities and Challenges
Internet Searches and Job Applicants
First Impressions
ConnDOT Hosts the Nation’s Transportation Officials
Reducing our Environmental Footprint
Connecticut Apprenticeship Program Handles Industry Changes and Demands for New Workers
2008 Construction Career Days Program
Contractors Must Become More Diligent During Workers’ Compensation Rate Decline
UCAC General Membership Meeting/Lifetime Achievement Award
John “Jack” Costello Memorial Scholarship
Marvin Morganbesser’s Retirement Dinner
Index to Advertisers
Advertiser.com

CONNstruction - Winter 2008

http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0412
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0312
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0212
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0112
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0411
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0311
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0211
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0111
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0410
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0310
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0210
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0110
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0409
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0309
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0209
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0109
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0408
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0308
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/CTCQ0208
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com