Florida/Caribbean Architect - Winter 2013 - (Page 10)

DESIGN: “ Search for the Soul A of a Project” Today, the word “design” is overused, describing virtually every consumer product from bedding to chocolate. In its application to architecture, the word was first used in the 17th century to refer to drawing and composition and soon became controversial as it marked a split between “the work of the mind” and the “work of the hands.” Design methodology, as taught in schools of architecture, has sought to replace the traditional view of design, as mysterious and unteachable, with rational and analytic techniques. For students of architecture, the design studio is the place where academics, technology and ideas come together. While there are many areas of importance in the practice of architecture, including marketing, accounting and management, design remains the core of the profession. But, because of its incredible complexity, architecture is not well understood by laypeople even though it is the most “public” of art forms. Unlike painting, sculpture, writing and music, it has to comply with a complex and often burdensome bureaucracy, building codes and laws, health and safety issues, budgets, client imperatives, product choices, schedules and aesthetics. Function and form often battle each other, but when a building functions well and is beautiful, the seed of an idea is brought to fruition as a magnificent work of architecture. In 1967, AIA Florida awarded its first Award of Honor for Design to Alfred Browning Parker, FAIA. In the association’s words, “This award recognizes an individual architect in Florida who has distinguished himself or herself by high quality and original work, thereby advancing the value and public awareness of good architecture over an extended period of time. In 2012, the new Medal of Honor for Design was created. The criteria for receiving this award remains stringent. It is the highest recognition for outstanding design over a period of time awarded to a member of AIA Florida. Since 1967, 23 architects have received the award. The 18 living recipients are honored on these pages. Only once, in 1998, was it awarded to two architects in the same year and many years it was not awarded at all. The work here reflects a wide range of aesthetic expressions but common to each is its design value. Though most of these architects have experimented with form, color and materials, they have in common a history of pushing the envelope. Each of the 18 living recipients was asked to provide a very personal design statement representative of his award-winning career. All of the responses are quoted here; all thoughtful, insightful, even poetic. This tribute to the designers and their work is inadequate at best, but it is an attempt to recognize, for some posthumously, 23 lifetimes of truly excellent design. Thanks to Alberto Alfonso, AIA, the author of the quote used in the title of this tribute. 10 Award of Honor for Design Recipients 1967 Alfred Browning Parker, FAIA (deceased) 1970 Nils M. Schweizer, FAIA (deceased) 1976 Guy Chandler Fulton (in memoriam) 1978 William Morgan, FAIA 1979 Robert Bradford Browne, FAIA (deceased) 1980 Hilario Candela, FAIA 1981 Peter L. Rumple, FAIA 1982 Dwight E. Holmes, FAIA 1984 Donald Singer, FAIA 1985 John Howey, FAIA 1986 Carl Abbott, FAIA 1987 Mark Hampton, FAIA 1988 Gene Leedy 1989 Robert C. Broward, FAIA 1992 Roney Mateu, FAIA 1995 Edward J. Siebert, FAIA 1997 Walter Q. Taylor, FAIA 1998 Charles Harrison Pawley, FAIA (deceased) Guy Peterson, FAIA 1999 I.S.K. (Keith) Reeves V, FAIA 2000 Clyde Brady, FAIA 2006 Maurizio Maso, AIA 2008 Alberto Alfonso, AIA www.aiafla.org http://www.aiafla.org

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Florida/Caribbean Architect - Winter 2013

President's Perspective/Dan Kirby, AIA, AICP, LEED AP
Editorial / Diane D. Grteer
AIA Design - " A Search for the Soul of a Project"
Advertisers Index

Florida/Caribbean Architect - Winter 2013