IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 4

IIDA BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2016-2017
PRESIDENT
Primo Orpilla, FIIDA,
Studio O+A

VICE PRESIDENTS
Edwin Beltran, IIDA,
NBBJ

P R E S I D E N T- E L E C T
James Kerrigan, IIDA,
LEED AP ID+C,
Jacobs

Julio Braga, FIIDA, LEED AP,
IA Interior Architects
Gabrielle Bullock, IIDA, FAIA,
NOMA, LEED AP,
Perkins+Will

Annie Chu, IIDA, FAIA,
Chu + Gooding Architects

Scott Hierlinger, FIIDA,
LEED AP

Susana Covarrubias, IIDA,
Gensler

Marlene M. Liriano, FIIDA,
LEED AP ID+C,
IA Interior Architects

Jeff Fenwick, Industry IIDA,
Tarkett

EXECUTIVE VICE
PRESIDENT / CEO
Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA,
LEED AP,
International Interior Design
Association

Doug Shapiro, Industry IIDA,
OFS Brands

IIDA HEADQUARTERS STAFF
E X E C U T I V E S TA F F
Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA,
LEED AP
Executive Vice
President and CEO
cdurst@iida.org
Dennis Krause, Hon. IIDA
Senior Vice President
dkrause@iida.org
A D M I N I S T R AT I V E S TA F F
Lisa Toth
Senior Director of
Association Operations
ltoth@iida.org
Elizabeth Cooley
Executive Assistant
ecooley@iida.org
Jessica Leung
IT Manager
jleung@iida.org

Jake Szczepaniak
Receptionist and
Administrative Support
jszczepaniak@iida.org

FINANCE

A DVO C AC Y A N D
L E G I S L AT I V E A F FA I R S
Emily Kluczynski
Director of Advocacy, Public
Policy, and Legislative Affairs
ekluczynski@iida.org
Abigail Rathbun
Advocacy and Public Policy
Manager
arathbun@iida.org
E D U C AT I O N

Lisa Taylor
Senior Manager,
Association Finance
ltaylor@iida.org
Karen Rolsing
Finance Manager
krolsing@iida.org
MARKETING,
C O M M U N I C AT I O N S ,
AND BRAND
Vera Reinke
Senior Director of Marketing
and Communications
vreinke@iida.org
Darren Coon
Motion Graphics Designer
dcoon@iida.org

Ely Alaniz
Director of Continuing
Education
ealaniz@iida.org

Louisa Fitzgerald
Director of Content
lfitzgerald@iida.org

MEMBER SERVICES
Karen Kiell
Senior Director of
Member Services
kkiell@iida.org

Melissa Garcia
Graphic Designer
mgarcia@iida.org

Aisha Williams
Senior Director of Industry
Relations and Special Events
awilliams@iida.org

Anastasia Gedman
Leaders Breakfast and Special
Events Manager
agedman@iida.org

Elizabeth Moran
Design Competitions
Director
lmoran@iida.org

Lauren Haras
Creative Project Director
lharas@iida.org
Genevieve Ramos
Digital Content Strategist
gramos@iida.org

Ryan Ben
Student Engagement and
Advancement Manager
rben@iida.org

Abby Smith
Student Marketing
and Communications
Coordinator
asmith@iida.org

Patricia Fraley
Membership Processing
Manager
pfraley@iida.org
Beth Juarez
Chapter Relations Manager
bjuarez@iida.org

PERSPECTIVE TEAM
FOR IIDA
PUBLISHER
Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA,
LEED AP
cdurst@iida.org
EDITORIAL DIRECTORS
Vera Reinke
vreinke@iida.org
Louisa Fitzgerald
liftzgerald@iida.org

FOR IMAGINATION
PUBLISHER
James Meyers
jmeyers@imaginepub.com
EXECUTIVE VICE
PRESIDENT AND CHIEF
CONTENT OFFICER
Kim Caviness
kcaviness@imaginepub.com
EXECUTIVE VICE
P R E S I D E N T, D E S I G N
Douglas Kelly
dkelly@imaginepub.com
V P, E D I TO R I A L D I R E C TO R
Cyndee Miller
cmiller@imaginepub.com

EDITORS
Elizabeth Cotner
ecotner@imaginepub.com
Becky Maughan
bmaughan@imaginepub.com
Lindsay Roseman
lroseman@imaginepub.com
SENIOR ART DIRECTOR
Melissa H. Miller
mmiller@imaginepub.com
P R O J E C T M A N AG E R ,
PRINT PRODUCTION
Breanne Moreno
bmoreno@imaginepub.com

EXECUTIVE EDITOR
Kelley Hunsberger
khunsberger@imaginepub.com

The Commercial Interior Design
Association
Perspective is the journal of the
International Interior Design
Association © 2016
Price: $4.95

FOR EMERALD EXPOSITIONS
PUBLISHER
John M. Rouse, Hon. IIDA
john.rouse@
emeraldexpo.com
A S S O C I AT E P U B L I S H E R
Karen M. Donaghy
karen.donaghy@
emeraldexpo.com
P R O D U C T I O N M A N AG E R
Grace Casey
646-668-3706
grace.casey@
emeraldexpo.com
SALES
Vito Salvatore (East)
646-654-4576
vito.salvatore@
emeraldexpo.com

International Interior Design
Association (IIDA)
111 East Wacker Drive
Suite 222
Chicago, IL 60601 USA
Phone: 888-799-IIDA
Fax: 312-467-0779
Email: perspective@iida.org
Web: www.iida.org

Scott Goist (Midwest)
216-288-4170
scott.goist@
emeraldexpo.com
Ellen Cook (South)
423-580-8827
ellen.cook@
emeraldexpo.com
Larry Shore (West)
562-598-5560
larry.shore@
emeraldexpo.com
Oliver D. Casiraghi
(International)
+39-031-261407
oliver@casiraghi.info

Winner

ASAE
2016
GOLD
CIRCLE
AWARD

Pr
in t

ne
M ag azi


http://www.iida.org http://www.fsc.org http://www.iida.org

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017

IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017
Contents
From IIDA
Next
World View
Sum of Its Parts
Talk, Talk
Pre/Post
Data Viz
A Common Good
Pop Goes Design
A New School of Thought
Balancing Act
Scratch Pad
Insider Intel
Sound Bytes
IIDA News + Updates
Why This Design Works
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Cover2
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 1
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Contents
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 3
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 4
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - From IIDA
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Next
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 7
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 8
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 9
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 10
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 11
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - World View
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 13
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Sum of Its Parts
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 15
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Talk, Talk
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 17
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Pre/Post
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 19
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Data Viz
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 21
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 22
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 23
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - A Common Good
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 25
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 26
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 27
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 28
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 29
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 30
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 31
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Pop Goes Design
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 33
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 34
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 35
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 36
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 37
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - A New School of Thought
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 39
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 40
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 41
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 42
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 43
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Balancing Act
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 45
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 46
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 47
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Scratch Pad
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 49
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Insider Intel
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 51
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Sound Bytes
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 53
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - IIDA News + Updates
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - 55
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Why This Design Works
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Cover3
IIDA Perspective - Spring/Summer 2017 - Cover4
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019summer
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2019spring
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018summer
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2018spring
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2017fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2017springsummer
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2016fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2016springsummer
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2015fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2015springsummer
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2014fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2014springsummer
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2013fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2013springsummer
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2012fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2012springsummer
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2011fallwinter
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nielsen/perspective_2011springsummer
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com