Snack World - February 2012 - (Page 5)

FEATURES 12 75 Years and Growing 22 Transportation Rules Roll VOLUME FIVE, ISSUE ONE The snack food industry can trace its roots back more than 150 years, while the Snack Food Association marks 75 years. We review past events as well as look toward the future. Federal rules address driving time and distracted driving as well as target independent contractors. 26 Strategies for Acrylamide Reduction New white paper stresses an all-inclusive approach for mitigating acrylamide. 30 Building Knowledge Blocks Annual SNAXPO event focuses on education and insight as well as honing tools for business success. 6 8 10 32 33 34 DEPARTMENTS Letter from SFA Supplier’s Corner Calendar of Events New Snacks Products & Services Advertisers’ Index SFA Board of Directors SFA Staff President and Chief Executive Officer James McCarthy ext. 201 Vice-President, Operations, Member Services & Education Christopher Clark ext. 218 Trade Show Manager Wendy Stevens (856) 423-7222, ext. 262 Director of Meetings Liz Wells ext. 202 Coordinator, Member Services David Walsh ext. 213 Chairman Matt Colford, Old Dutch Foods, Inc. 1st Vice Chairman Scott W. Smith, Shearer’s Foods, Inc. 2nd Vice Chairman William “Chip” Mann, II Pretzels, Incorporated Treasurer Mike Harper, Rudolph Foods Co., Inc. James A. McCarthy Snack Food Association Past Chairman (2010-11) Mike Stick, Snyder’s-Lance, Inc. Past Chairman (2009-10) Terry McDaniel, Inventure Foods, Inc. AEC President Mark Lozano, TNA North America, Inc. Secretary Marc L. Kesselman, Frito-Lay, Inc. SFA General Counsel Martin Hahn, Hogan Lovells US LLP Snack World Staff Editorial Bob Gatty Design Sadowna Conarroe Advertising Sales Paul Lattan Dan Malovany Shane Whitaker Lucy Sutton Subscription Coordinator Christopher Clark Snack Food Association 1600 Wilson Blvd. Suite 650 Arlington, VA 22209 Phone: (703) 836-4500 or (800) 628-1334 Fax: (703) 836-8262 Web: E-mail: Trade Show Sales Manager Terri Sullivan (856) 423-7222, ext. 230 Jeff Almond AEC 2nd Vice President Heat and Control, Inc. Mark Costello Better Made Snack Foods Paul Zmigrosky Frito-Lay, Inc. Stephen Sibert Diamond Foods, Inc. David Cantrell AEC Secretary/Treasurer Land O’Lakes Ingredient Solutions Ron Jones Snak King Corp. T. J. Rooney Kraft Foods (Snacks & Cereals Sector) Carl E. Lee Snyder’s-Lance, Inc. Nick Chilton Wyandot, Inc. Jose Garza Evans Food Group Ltd. Todd Staub Utz Quality Foods, Inc. Jesse Spungin ConAgra Foods, Inc., Snack Foods Division Chris Hood The Procter & Gamble Company Charlie Rufo AmTopp Division, Inteplast Group Canadian Snack Food Association Rep. Calum MacLeod PepsiCo Foods Canada Convenience Foods Association CFA Snack World is the official magazine of the Snack Food Association and is produced in conjunction with Sosland Publishing. Snack World is distributed free-of-charge to members of the organization. SUBSCRIPTIONS: Contact Chris Clark, SFA and Sosland Publishing assume no responsibility for the validity of claims in items reported. ©2012 Snack Food Association. All rights reserved. Reproduction of the whole or any part of the contents without written permission is prohibited. Printed in U.S.A. February 2012 Snack World 5

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Snack World - February 2012

Snack World - February 2012
Letter from SFA - 75 Years...Growth, Innovation, Progress
Supplier’s Corner - Time for Change
Calendar of Events
75th Anniversary - The Birth of the Industry
75 Years and Counting
75th Anniversary - An Association is Born
75th Anniversary - A Glance at the Future
Government Affairs - Transportation Rules Roll
Meeting with members of Congress
Acrylamide Update - Strategies for Reduction
SNAXPO 75 - Building Knowledge Blocks
SNAXPO 75 - Exhibitor List
New Snacks
Products & Services
Ad Index

Snack World - February 2012