Crop Insurance Today May 2012 - (Page 24)

TODAYcrop insurance Leadership of the NCIS Regional/State Committees By Laurie Langstraat, NCIS The NCIS Regional/State Crop Insurance Committees are an integral part of the crop insurance industry. They are critical to the communication flow within the industry and are organized for the purpose of identifying issues that need attention and making recommendations to the Board of Directors. To ensure that the committees understand their role, function properly, and are effective in accomplishing their responsibilities, the chairmen from each committee participate in an annual training session. The primary objective of the training session is to help the chairman succeed by preparing them for their official responsibilities. Specific instruction is provided on: • legal issues, including anti-trust considerations; • NCIS organizational structure; • ensuring program integrity; • making recommendations to the NCIS Board of Directors; • operating in accordance with the NCIS Bylaws and antitrust compliance; • planning and conducting effective meetings and loss school activities; Attending the Regional/State Chairman Orientation were (left to right): Steve Short; Mitch LaTour; Shane Jackson; Ken Shock; Bruce Kirkendall; Jeff Dunlap; Brad Darling; Jordan Atkinson, Vice Chairman East R/S Committee, NAU Country; Dan Bauer; Teri Fellon; Jeff Dexter, Vice Chairman Missouri R/S Committee, Rain and Hail; Dave Peters; Nancy Garoutte; Kenny Young; Spencar Diedrich, Vice Chairman South Dakota R/S Committee, John Deere Insurance Company; and, David Grogan. • parliamentary procedure; and, • understanding the range of products and services offered by NCIS. After the training, the participants better understand the role of the NCIS Regional/State Crop Insurance Committees, what is expected of them as chairman, and are prepared to successfully fulfill their official duties. It is a personal and professional honor to be elected chairman of an NCIS Regional/State Crop Insurance Committee. The expectations and responsibilities are great, but so are the rewards for being selected by ones peers to serve in this important leadership capacity. 2012 NCIS Regional/State Committee Chairmen California/Nevada – David Grogan, RCIS Colorado/Wyoming – Steve Short, RCIS East – Freddy Beach, ProAg Insurance Gulf States – Mitch LaTour, NAU Country Illinois/Wisconsin – Dave Peters, Farmers Mutual Hail Indiana/Ohio/Michigan – Ken Shock, Great American Insurance Iowa – Brad Darling, Rain and Hail Kansas/Oklahoma – Lindsey Schneider, RCIS Kentucky/Tennessee – Brett Lehman, American Farm Bureau 24 MAY 2012 Minnesota – Dan Bauer, ProAg Insurance Missouri – George Swaney, Hudson Crop Insurance Montana – Nancy Garoutte, RCIS Nebraska – Bruce Kirkendall, ProAg Insurance North Dakota – Jeff Dunlap, Farmers Mutual Hail Northwest – Teri Fellon, Rain and Hail South Dakota – John Boomsma, RCIS Southeast – Kenny Young, RCIS Southwest – Shane Jackson, Rain and Hail

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Crop Insurance Today May 2012

Commitment to Excellence
2011 Year in Review
Farming: Pessimists Need Not Apply
Leadership: NCIS Regional/State Crop Insurance Committees
NCIS Board of Directors
Insect Resistance to Bt: Is it a new threat to crop production?
Another Successful Convention
Adam Vetter Given Outstanding Service Award
Pat Flanagan Given Industry Leadership Award
Step 6-Identifying and Evaluating Alternatives: What alternatives are feasible for the future?
In Memory of John F. Ames

Crop Insurance Today May 2012