The Crush July 2022 - 6

USDA Makes Disaster Frost Declaration for Several Counties
Primarily North Coast, Sacramento Valley, and San Joaquin Valley
The U.S. Department of Agriculture has reviewed the loss assessment reports and determined that there were
sufficient production losses to warrant a federal natural disaster designation. Based on that review, Secretary of
Agriculture, Thomas J. Vilsack has designated 15 California counties as primary natural disaster areas, in three
separate disaster designations.
In his letter to Governor Newsom, Vilsack stated, " A Secretarial
disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and
those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be
considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency
(FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance
includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have
8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to
apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan
application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of
production losses on the farm and the security and repayment
ability of the operator. "
CAWG will be putting together a webinar soon to provide
information to growers on relief funding available and what they need to do to obtain that funding.
Click HERE for information from USDA.
Below are the designations including freeze dates, primary counties and contiguous counties for each
DESIGNATION NUMBER 1: Freeze that occurred during February 21 through February 28, 2022:
Primary Counties:
Butte, Madera, Merced, San Joaquin, Solano, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba
Contiguous Counties:
Alameda, Amador, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Glenn, Fresno, Lake, Mariposa, Mendocino, Mono, Napa,
Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Benito, Santa Clara, Shasta, Sierra, Trinity, Tuolumne
DESIGNATION NUMBER 2: Freeze that occurred on February 24, 2022:
Primary Counties:
Colusa, Glenn
Contiguous Counties:
Butte, Lake, Mendocino, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo
DESIGNATION NUMBER 3: Freeze that occurred during April 11 through April 13, 2022:
Primary Counties:
Amador, Calaveras, El Dorado
Contiguous Counties:
Alpine, Placer, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne
Page 6 | July 2022

The Crush July 2022

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of The Crush July 2022

The Crush July 2022 - 1
The Crush July 2022 - 2
The Crush July 2022 - 3
The Crush July 2022 - 4
The Crush July 2022 - 5
The Crush July 2022 - 6
The Crush July 2022 - 7
The Crush July 2022 - 8
The Crush July 2022 - 9
The Crush July 2022 - 10
The Crush July 2022 - 11