The Crush June 2023 - 7

The California Association of Winegrape
Growers (CAWG) Foundation has awarded
$44,000 in college scholarships to eight
students whose parent or legal guardian is
employed by a California winegrape grower.
" The scholarships, awarded annually by
the CAWG Foundation, serve as a powerful
testament to our profound gratitude for the
families of vineyard employees. The workforce
is the very essence of our industry, and these
scholarships stand as a heartfelt expression of
our immense appreciation, " stated Davindar
Mahil, Chair of the CAWG Foundation Board
of Directors.
The CAWG Foundation board selects
scholarship recipients who have truly
excelled in various aspects. From
academic achievement and involvement in
extracurricular activities to making a positive
impact through public service and active
community engagement. In addition to
considering financial need and scholastic ability, the board also values a strong spirit of community service, a track
record of leadership, and a personal essay that embodies their journey.
Since the program's inception in 1998, the CAWG Foundation has awarded $603,500 in scholarships to help students
pursue higher education. Generous donations from CAWG members and the California wine community fund the
scholarship program.
This year, five scholarships at $8,000 each were awarded to students attending a four-year University of California
or California State University campus, one two-year scholarship at $2,000 was awarded to a student attending a
California community college, and two $1,000 scholarships were awarded to two students through the Robert Miller
Memorial Scholarship. Created by the Miller family, the Robert Miller Memorial Scholarship supports Central Coast
students who plan to pursue a career in the winegrape industry and are studying viticulture or enology at either Allan
Hancock College or Cal Poly San Luis Obispo.
Four-Year University Scholarship Recipients | $8,000 each
Sofia Arredondo, Lakeport, Clear Lake High School
Harmandeep Batth, Lodi, Tokay High School
Faith Hunt, Lodi, Lodi High School
Julie Sporleder, Acampo, Galt High School
Juan Sanchez Velazquez, Santa Rosa, Roseland Collegiate Prep
Two-Year Community College Scholarship Recipient | $2,000
Edgar L. Jara, Santa Rosa, Roseland University Prep
Robert Miller Memorial Scholarship Recipient | $1,000 each
David Luera, Creston, Mission Prep High School
Mindy Diaz Jacobo, Lompoc, Cabrillo High School

The Crush June 2023

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of The Crush June 2023

The Crush June 2023 - 1
The Crush June 2023 - 2
The Crush June 2023 - 3
The Crush June 2023 - 4
The Crush June 2023 - 5
The Crush June 2023 - 6
The Crush June 2023 - 7
The Crush June 2023 - 8
The Crush June 2023 - 9
The Crush June 2023 - 10
The Crush June 2023 - 11
The Crush June 2023 - 12