Canadian Yachting April 2015 - (Page 3)

April 2015 CONTENTS PUBLISHER Greg Nicoll 877-620-9373 * gnicoll@kerrwil.com MANAGING EDITOR Andy Adams 416-574-7313 * aadams@kerrwil.com ONLINE EDITOR Terri Hodgson 705-527-7666 * thodgson@kerrwil.com TRAVEL EDITOR Elizabeth Kerr 416-258-9948 * elizabethkerr@kerrwil.com ART DIRECTOR Allan Bates 416-485-9229 * allan.s.bates@sympatico.ca PRODUCTION MANAGER Lynn Lortie 705-527-7666 * lynnlortie@kerrwil.com WEBMASTER Rory Green rorygreen@kerrwil.com CONTRIBUTORS Andy Adams, Robin Ball, Canadian Safe Boating Council, Terri Hodgson, Colin Jackson, Samantha Jackson, Greg Nicoll, Rob Macleod, John Morris, Drew Robertson and Katherine Stone ADVERTISING Mark Collett 604-351-0211 * markcollett@kerrwil.com John Armstrong 289-962-1310 * johnarmstrong@kerrwil.com Jim Negen 320-281-7454 * 855-484-7200 * jnegen@kerrwil.com Ian Gilson 905-719-5152 * igilson@kerrwil.com Mary Nicoll 905-535-2866 * mnicoll@kerrwil.com Lynn Lortie 705-527-9873 * lynnlortie@kerrwil.com PRINT PRODUCTION Eileen Walsh 705-527-7666 * eileenwalsh@kerrwil.com CIRCULATION Elissa Campbell 705-527-7666 * elissacampbell@kerrwil.com ACCOUNTING Michelle McKerness 705-527-7666 * mmckerness@kerrwil.com Canadian Yachting is published by ADASTRA MEDIA INC in association with KERRWIL PUBLICATIONS LIMITED. HEAD OFFICE 538 Elizabeth Street Midland, Ontario L4R 2A3 Tel: 705-527-7666 Fax: 705-527-7662 www.kerrwil.com ADASTRA Media John W. Kerr Jr. Director and Managing Partner Greg Nicoll Vice President Mark Collett Advertising Greg Nicoll Vice President Canadian Yachting is published six times a year. Subscription Rates: 1 year $31.95 + tax; 2 years $47.95 + tax Outside Canada: 1 year US $52.00 Prices include GST Registration #R102819539 The contents of this publication are the property of Kerrwil Publications Limited and may not be reproduced in whole or in part without prior written consent. We encourage letters to the editor, submissions and query letters from writers and our readers. For material to be returned, please include a stamped, self-addressed envelope. Occasionally, we allow the use of mailing lists to firms offering products and information that we feel may be of interest to you. If you do not want your name made available, please return your mailing label to us marked DO NOT RELEASE. We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada, through the Canada Magazine Fund toward our editorial costs. Send all address changes, post office returns and subscription enquiries to: Canadian Yachting 538 Elizabeth Street Midland, Ontario L4R 2A3 T: 705-527-7666 F: 705-527-7662 E-mail: elissacampbell@kerrwil.com Canada Post Mail Agreement 40065481 ISSN 0384-0999 Return postage guaranteed VOLUME 44 ISSUE 2 24 38 FEATURES 24 Feature: Inflatable Lifejacket Selection, Wear, Care and Maintenance A comprehensive guide to personal flotation devices, with options, considerations and some surprising characteristics you may not be aware of. By Canadian Safe Boating Council 29 Galley Guys: What's New and What's Old The Galley Guys explore cutting edge innovation in cooking on board and then turn their hand to playing castaway on a Nova Scotia beach with a knife, a match and a salmon. By Greg Nicoll 32 Feature : B.C. Boat Builder Forbes Cooper Colin Jackson's profile of B.C. industry legend Forbes Cooper illustrates how this prolific boat builder and businessman is redefining retirement. By Colin Jackson, Photos by Samantha Jackson 38 Feature: The Ultimate Anchoring Article The Informed Boater steps us through a thorough and easy-to-follow guide to anchoring in just about any conditions, complete with diagrams, charts and personal experiences. By Rob MacLeod 44 Feature: Towing and Salvage Drew Robertson educates boaters on the facts of towing and salvage issues. By Drew Robertson DEPARTMENTS 4 6 14 18 48 51 98 Vantage Point: Waterfront: One Particular Harbour: Midland Harbour, Georgian Bay Club Profile: Britannia Yacht Club Sail Review: Bavaria Cruiser 37 CPS-ECP Port Hole Crossing the Line On the Cover: Charging along to make your desired anchorage - this Delphia yacht carries a Delta anchor but depending on the bottom and the conditions at the anchorage, they may need different ground tackle. See the feature on Anchoring, page 38. Photo courtesy of Delphia Yachts w w w.c a n a d i a nya c h t i n g .c a 3 http://www.kerrwil.com http://www.canadianyachting.ca

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Canadian Yachting April 2015

Contents
Vantage Point
Waterfront
One Particular Harbour: Midland Harbour, Georgian Bay
Club Profile: Britannia Yacht Club
Feature: Inflatable Lifejacket Selection, Wear, Care and Maintenance
Galley Guys: What's New and What's Old
Feature: B.C. Boat Builder Forbes Cooper
Feature: The Ultimate Anchoring Article
Feature: Towing and Salvage
Sail Review: Bavaria Cruiser 37
CPS-ECP Port Hole
Crossing the Line

Canadian Yachting April 2015

https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/canadian-yachting-february-2022
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/december2021
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/october2021
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/june2021
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/may2021
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/april2021
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/february2021
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/december2020
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/october2020
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/june2020
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/may2020
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/april2020
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/february2020
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/dinghiesanddavitsspring2020
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/december2019
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/october2019
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/portsandresortsspring2019
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/june2019
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/may2019
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/april2019
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/february2019
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/december2018
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/october2018
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/june2018
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/may2018
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/april2018
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/february2018
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/december2017
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/october2017
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/june2017
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/may2017
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/april2017
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/february2017
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/december2016
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/october2016
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/june2016
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/may2016
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/april2016
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/february2016
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/december2015
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/october2015
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/june2015
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/May2015
https://www.nxtbook.com/kerrwil/canadianyachting/april2015
https://www.nxtbookmedia.com