Oculus - Summer 2015 - (Page 27)

introduction 2 01 5 A I A N Y A RC H ITE C TUR E IN TE INTE R IOR S AWARDS U RB A N D ES IGN PR EC P R OJ EC TS ©Inbal Newman DESIGN Going Beyond the Program By alexander lamis, aia, and Kai-uwe Bergmann, aia, riBa 2015 aianY design awards jury (l-r): teddy cruz, Estudio Teddy Cruz; nick Winton, Anmahian Winton Architects; Simon frommenwiler, HHF Architects; hadrian Predock, predock frane architects; Johanna hurme, 5468796 architecture; Stan field, Saia, riBa, int'l. assoc. aia, Field Architecture; richard maimon, faia, KieranTimberlake. 2015 AIANY Design Awards t he AIA New York Chapter Design Awards judging took place at the Center for Architecture over two days in March, followed by a public jury symposium and presentation of the commended work. A total of 35 awards were conferred across four categories - Architecture, Interiors, Projects, and Urban Design - out of 391 total projects submitted. Two significant changes were instituted in the jury process this year. In response to the increasingly hybridized and collaborative nature of practice today, and to minimize the effects of "siloing" of both projects and juries, a single superjury composed of seven national and international architectural leaders reviewed projects across all categories. Projects were sent to jurors electronically in advance of their coming together in New York. Through two long days of substantive and passionate deliberation and discussions, the jury developed a real esprit de corps, which was evident in the public forum. The AIANY Chapter and the Awards Committee wish to thank the jurors, Teddy Cruz, Stan Field, SAIA, RIBA, Int'l Assoc. AIA, Simon Frommenwiler, Johanna Hurme, Richard Maimon, FAIA, Hadrian Predock, and Nick Winton, and symposium moderator Beatrice Galilee for their efforts. A second change this year was the award of a Best in Competition prize that exemplified work at the highest level of professional practice, and also illuminated significant current issues related to practice. This year's award was conferred on Songpa Micro-Housing in Seoul, South Korea, by SsD. The project is an exemplar of high-density, lowrise, micro-unit housing that manages, in a very constrained footprint, to create a variety of spaces, interesting relationships between public and private realms, and novel approaches to sustainability and the ground plane, all within a disciplined and sophisticated architectural composition. Several threads of thought wove through jury deliberations. Significant among these was the architects' social responsibility within the public realm. The Henderson-Hopkins School by ROGERS PARTNERS Architecture+Urban Designers, Ennead Architects' Rethinking Refugee Communities, and the Beijing Horticultural Exposition Masterplan and Pavilions by WORK Architecture Company, SCAPE, SLAB Architecture, and Studio Zhu Pei each showed how architects can go beyond the stated program to further social and environmental goals. Climate change, and specifically design responses to Superstorm Sandy, factored in several awarded designs. The Dryline proposal by BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group and Garrison Architects' NYC Emergency Housing Prototype were seen as creative design responses to this challenge. Sustainable design in another guise was awarded to the Brooklyn Botanic Garden Visitor Center by WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism, which merged building and landscape into a single organic entity. The National September 11 Memorial Museum by Davis Brody Bond was honored for being a sober and moving tribute to the catastrophic events of September 11, 2001. Design quality and innovation across many scales and project types were awarded. From the diminutive Haffenden House by PARA-Project, and the small interior of St. Mark's Bookshop by Clouds Architecture Office, to the grandly scaled Restoration of the Nave of Sterling Memorial at Yale by Helpern Architects, this year's award winners point to the high level of achievement of new work in New York and by New York architects throughout the world. Congratulations to all winners! \ alexander lamis, aia, is a partner at Robert A.M. Stern Architects, and co-chair of the 2015 Awards Committee. Kai-uwe Bergmann, aia, riBa, is a partner at BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group Architects, and co-chair of the 2015 Awards Committee. Summer 2015 Oculus 27

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Oculus - Summer 2015

First Words: Letter From the President: Collecting Change
Center for Architecture: Center Highlights
Introduction: Going Beyond the Program
Urban Design
Last Words: Letter From the Interim Executive Director: Design Matters - to Everyone
Index to Advertisers

Oculus - Summer 2015