Oculus - Fall 2016 - 8

Fall 2016 Vol. 78, No. 3 Oculus: A publication of the AIA New York Chapter OCULUS STAFF Editor-in-Chief Kristen Richards, Hon. AIA, Hon. ASLA kristen@ArchNewsNow.com Contributing Editors Lisa Delgado; John Morris Dixon, FAIA; Julia van den Hout; Jonathan Lerner; Bill Millard; Linda G. Miller; Stanley Stark, FAIA; Richard Staub; Janet Adams Strong, Ph.D.; Claire Wilson Copy Editor Elena Serocki Art Director Wyman Projects Design Consultant Pentagram, New York Publisher Naylor Association Solutions AIANY/Center for Architecture News (formerly eOculus) Camila Schaulsohn Frenz cschaulsohn@aiany.org Oculus Committee/Advisory Board Miguel Baltierra, Assoc. AIA; Julie Engh, Assoc. AIA; Elie J. Gamburg, AIA; Cynthia Phifer Kracauer, AIA, LEED AP; Carol Loewenson, FAIA, LEED AP; John Massengale, AIA; Suzanne Mecs, Hon. AIANYS; Andrea Monfried; Philip Nobel; James Morgan Petty, Assoc. AIA; Benjamin Prosky; Barbara E. Spandorf, AIA, LEED AP (chair); Stephen Yablon, AIA Editorial Advisor James S. Russell, FAIA BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2016 BOSTON, MA CHICAGO, IL CALGARY, CANADA FREEHOLD, NJ HOUSTON, TX IRVINE, CA KANSAS CITY, MO LOS ANGELES, CA MEXICO CITY, MEXICO MIAMI, FLORIDA PARIS, FRANCE SAN DIEGO, CA SHANGHAI, CHINA 8 Oculus Fall 2016 792936_Cosentini.indd 1 President Carol Loewenson, FAIA, LEED AP First Vice President/President-Elect David Piscuskas, FAIA, LEED AP Vice President for Design Excellence Jennifer Sage, FAIA, LEED AP Vice President for Professional Development Jane Smith, AIA, IIDA Vice President for Public Outreach Gerard (Guy) F. X. Geier, II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP Secretary Jack Travis, FAIA Treasurer Mark C. Regulinski, AIA Director, Development Affairs Paul Bello, PE Director, Educational Affairs Lia Gartner, FAIA, LEED AP Director, Industry Affairs Ashok Raiji, Assoc. AIA, PE, LEED AP Director, Legislative Affairs Eric Goshow, AIA, LEED AP Director, Programs and Strategic Planning Illya Azaroff, AIA Director, Publications Barbara E. Spandorf, AIA, LEED AP Directors, Sustainability Laurie D. Kerr, FAIA, LEED AP Associate Director Michael Szivos, Assoc. AIA Public Director Jeff Shumaker, Assoc. AIA Public Director, Educational Affairs Brian McGrath Directors, Student Affairs Thomas A. Heyer and Jonathan J. Ngo Immediate Past President Tomas Rossant, AIA Alternate Director, Design Excellence Stephanie Gelb, FAIA Alternate Director, Professional Development Venesa Alicea, AIA, LEED AP BD+C Alternate Director, Public Outreach Faith Rose, AIA Executive Director Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ARCHITECTS New York Chapter Center for Architecture 536 LaGuardia Place | New York, NY 10012 212.683.0023 | info@aiany.org www.aiany.org AIANY/CENTER FOR ARCHITECTURE STAFF AND SERVICES Executive Director Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA (ext. 129) bprosky@aiany.org Managing Director, AIANY Suzanne Howell Mecs, Hon. AIA NYS (ext. 115), smecs@aiany.org Education Assistant Hadley Beacham (ext. 133) info@cfafoundation.org Office Manager Julia Christie (ext. 113) info@aiany.org Development Associate Annie Ciccarello (ext. 134) aciccarello@aiany.org Membership Coordinator Joseph Corbin (ext. 118) jcorbin@aiany.org Director of Program Committees Eve Dilworth Rosen (ext. 117) erosen@aiany.org Digital Projects Manager Meghan Edwards (ext. 136) medwards@aiany.org Director of Event Operations James Fallarino (ext. 112) jfallarino@aiany.org Program Committees Coordinator Kelly Felsberg (ext. 139) kfelsberg@aiany.org Archtober Coordinator Jacob Fredi (ext. 111) archtober@aiany.org Lead Design Educator Tim Hayduk (ext. 137) thayduk@cfafoundation.org Director of Exhibitions Berit Hoff (ext. 117) bhoff@aiany.org Development Director Jesse Lazar (ext. 108) jlazar@aiany.org Senior Archtober Manager/ Exhibitions Manager Katie Mullen (ext. 120) kmullen@aiany.org Policy Coordinator Justin Pascone (ext. 116) jpascone@aiany.org Communications Director/ Editor-in-Chief, AIANY/Center for Architecture News Camila Schaulsohn Frenz (ext. 114) cschaulsohn@aiany.org Development Manager Anne Shisler-Hughes (ext. 134) ashislerhughes@cfafoundation.org Director of Education Catherine Teegarden (ext. 135) cteegarden@cfafoundation.org Development Associate Morgan Watson (ext. 110) mwatson@aiany.org Finance Director Henry Zachary (ext. 131) hzachary@aiany.org Oculus is a benefit of both AIA New York Chapter and Center for Architecture membership. For information on professional and public memberships, please call 212.358.6115. One-year subscription (4 issues): $40 (U.S.), $60 (foreign). The AIA New York Chapter also publishes the twice-monthly online newsletter eOculus. To advertise in Oculus or eOculus, please contact David Freeman at dfreeman@naylor.com or 678.808.3193. For reprint or back issue information or to be placed on the e-mail list, contact info@aiany.org. The opinions expressed herein or the representations made by advertisers, including copyrights and warranties, are not those of the Board of Directors, officers, or staff of the AIA New York Chapter or the Editor of Oculus, unless expressly stated otherwise. ©2016 The American Institute of Architects New York Chapter. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without written permission is strictly prohibited. Authenticity + Innovation: Architecture Repurposed 2/2/16 7:45 PM http://www.cosentini.com http://www.cosentini.com http://www.aiany.org

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Oculus - Fall 2016

First Words Letter from the President
Letter from the Editor
Center for Architecture
One Block Over
Opener: Authenticity and Innovation
Civic Purpose Repurposed: Brooklyn
Civic Purpose Repurposed: Bronx
A Study in Contrasts
WeLive on Wall Street
A Preservation Paradox
Industrial Strength
Innovation Rooted in History
In Print
97-Year Watch
Last Words
Index to Advertisers
Oculus - Fall 2016 - cover1
Oculus - Fall 2016 - cover2
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 3
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 4
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 5
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 6
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 7
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 8
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 9
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 10
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 11
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 12
Oculus - Fall 2016 - First Words Letter from the President
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 14
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Letter from the Editor
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 16
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 17
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Center for Architecture
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 19
Oculus - Fall 2016 - One Block Over
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 21
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 22
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 23
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 24
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Opener: Authenticity and Innovation
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Civic Purpose Repurposed: Brooklyn
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 27
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Civic Purpose Repurposed: Bronx
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 29
Oculus - Fall 2016 - A Study in Contrasts
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 31
Oculus - Fall 2016 - WeLive on Wall Street
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 33
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 34
Oculus - Fall 2016 - A Preservation Paradox
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 36
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 37
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Industrial Strength
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 39
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 40
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 41
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Innovation Rooted in History
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 43
Oculus - Fall 2016 - In Print
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 97-Year Watch
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 46
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Last Words
Oculus - Fall 2016 - Index to Advertisers
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 49
Oculus - Fall 2016 - 50
Oculus - Fall 2016 - cover3
Oculus - Fall 2016 - cover4
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0317
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0217
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0117
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0416
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0316
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0216
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0116
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0415
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0315
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0215
https://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/ARCQ/ARCQ0115
https://www.nxtbookmedia.com