NC Pork Report - Spring 2013 - (Page 29)

Feature Another Successful Bacon Bash! I t was another great year for the Bacon Bash, NC Pork Council’s Political Action Committee’s largest annual fundraiser. More than 400 tickets were sold and for the first time in the history of Bacon Bash, the $5,000 reverse raffle grand prize was split between the last five remaining ticket holders! The five gentlemen conferred and agreed to split the cash rather than putting the tickets back into the raffle and continue the drawing. The five lucky winners were Channing Gooden, Stephen Williamson, Fritz Richards, Dempsey Watson and Larry Eason. In addition to the reverse raffle, attendees enjoyed the return of “Casino Night” playing blackjack, poker, roulette and craps. There was also a live auction that included Carolina Hurricanes tickets, tickets to a NCSU basketball game and two basketballs signed by Coach Mark Gottfried and the entire 2013 team! In all, the event raised closed to $42,000 for the NCPC PAC. Thanks to everyone who bought a ticket and to our prize and table sponsors: Alltech, Barwick Ag Services, Eckel & Vaughan, Genetiporc, The Hartford – Livestock Dept., Hog Slat, Merck, Motomco, Murphy-Brown LLC, Murphy Family Ventures and the Policy Group. S p r i n g 2 0 1 3 • N C P o r k R epor t 29

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of NC Pork Report - Spring 2013

Message from the President
Industry News
2013 Livestock Legislative Day on April 30
Introducing the 2013 Board of Directors
Pork Producers and Industry Reps Gather for 2013 Pork Conference
Norman C. Denning Enters NCPC Hall of Fame
Channing Gooden Named Pork All-American
2013 Outstanding Pork Producer is Stephen Williamson
Duplin County’s Bennie Barwick Named Environmental Steward Winner
Bo Stone Wins Faces of Farming & Ranching National Spokesperson Search
Another Successful Bacon Bash!
2nd Annual Flying Pig Challenge Sporting Clays Tournament is April 19
2013 Student Internship Program
2013 North Carolina Pork Council Scholarship

NC Pork Report - Spring 2013