Potomac Memo - September/October 2013 - (Page 18)

new & noteworthy Welcome New PMPI Members Lauren Barham Wells Fargo Meeting & Event Planner 1753 Pinnacle Dr. McLean, VA 22102 lauren.j.barham@wellsfargo.com Katie Batten 2 Fendall Ave. Alexandria, VA 22304 kbatten@gwu.edu Kim Bercovitz Exercise Bytes Inc. 1021 Arlington Blvd., Suite 942 Arlington, VA 22209 855-892-9837 / 855-9XBYTES kim@x-bytes.com Brianna Bundenthal Meeting Planner 2607 Foundry Way, Apt. 302 Alexandria, VA 22314 202-266-6879 bundentb@advisory.com Michael Burke, CMP, CEM National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Specialist, Meeting & Event Planning 4301 Wilson Blvd. Arlington, VA 22203 703-907-5632 / 703-907-5537 mike.burke@nreca.coop Mara Craft Raleigh Convention Center 500 South Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC 27601 919-996-8509 / 919-996-8550 mara.craft@raleighconvention.com Karen Cosby 8104 Bonaire Court Silver Spring, MD 20910 cosby.karen@gmail.com Prisca Denis Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills 8555 Beverly Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90048 310-228-2707 / 310-657-4679 prisca.denis@sofitel.com Aisha Derricott, CGMP Modus Hotels Senior Area Sales Manager 1 Washington Circle NW Washington, D.C. 20037 202-730-1246 / 202-223-3961 aderricott@modushotelsdc.com UP TO 10% OFF YOUR MASTER BILL* Plan-it Sonesta and book your next group stay at unprecedented savings. To qualify, you must book by October 31, 2013. Meeting attendees must stay by December 30, 2013. Expect exemplary service, artful catering and comfortable meeting spaces in a prime Inner Harbor location. Plus, choose three perks from the following value-added extras... • one complimentary room per 35 rooms consumed • one hour wine and cheese reception • one suite upgrade per 35 room nights consumed • complimentary WiFi in guest rooms • complimentary WiFi in general session For more information, call 410.234.0550 *Terms and conditions apply. Go to Sonesta.com/planit for details. 550 Light Street | Baltimore, MD 21202 Sonesta.com 18 PM I 653946_Royal.indd P1 POTOMAC MEMO www.pmpi.org 16/08/13 2:31 PM Charlene Deville Mark Sonder Productions International Event Entertainment Specialist 7605 Elba Road Alexandria, VA 22306 cbzdeville@yahoo.com Terrill Drake, MBA University of Maryland Robert H. Smith School of Business Executive Director, Events 1306 Van Munching Hall College Park, MD 20742 301-405-9645 / 301-314-0065 tdrake@rhsmith.umd.edu Danielle Esposti Arena Stage at the Mead Center for American Theater Director of Events and Rentals 1101 6th St. SW, Washington, D.C. 20024 desposti@arenastage.org Hannah Flauaus, CID American Society of Interior Designers Sr. Meeting/Event Associate 4551 Strutfield Lane, #4331 Alexandria, VA 22311 hflauaus@asid.org Melissa Goodwin, CMP American Society for Training & Development Education Event Manager 1640 King St., Box 1443 Alexandria, VA 22313 mgoodwin@astd.org Lindsay Kahler Hilton Washington D.C./ Rockville Hotel & Executive Meeting Center Assistant Director of Sales 2705 Advent Court South Bowie, MD 20716 lindsay.kahler@hilton.com Samantha Keedy, CMP Appian Marketing Events Associate 3900 Fairfax Drive, Apt. 1411 Arlington, VA 22203 samantha.keedy@appian.com Cynthia Koebka 1239 Crockett Lane Silver Spring, MD 20904 202-884-2428 koebka@aacu.org Sujata Kumar Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces Director of Sales, Taj International 8608 Stevenson Road Stevenson, MD 21153 sujata.kumar@tajhotels.com Carolina McGlothlin, CMP, CGMP Potomac Management Resources Director, Meeting & Events 400 N. Washington St. Alexandria, VA 22314 carriem@potomacmanagementresources.com Jeannine Mtui, CMP Magna Systems, Inc. Senior Conference Manager 2339 Butte Place Waldorf, MD 20603 301-636-6313, ext. 257 / 703-448-4415 jc9mtui@gmail.com Dana Nearing Hilton Old Town Alexandria Sales Manager 1767 King St. Alexandria, VA 22314 703-647-2009 dnearing@hiltonoldtown.com Tina Nebuloni Hospitality Performance Network Global Vice President Global Accounts 13825 N. Northsight Blvd., Suite 201 Scottsdale, AZ 85260 636-795-5048 Tnebuloni@hpnglobal.com Kelly Obendorfer 22723 Blue Banner Place Germantown, MD 20876 301-807-4304 kobend1@students.towson.edu Theresa Rawlings American Urological Association Convention & Meetings Coordinator 1000 Corporate Blvd. Linthicum Heights, MD 21090 410-689-3780 trawlings@avanet.org M. Kelly Roberts Sheraton Greensboro Sales Manager 3121 High Point Road, Greensboro, NC 27407 kroberts@sheratongreensboro.com Joy Schechter, CMM The Joy of Live Events Event Producer & Business Consultant 10866 Washington Blvd., #707 Culver City, CA 90232 310-954-1597 Joy@thejoyofliveevents.com Janel Schepman TransPerfect Translations Account Executive 700 6th St. NW, 5th Floor Washington, D.C. 20001 jschepman@transperfect.com Shanan Sheldon The Health Management Academy Director, Meeting Services 6326 Deer Ridge Trail Court Springfield, VA 22150 hokee93@gmail.com http://www.sonesta.com/planit http://www.Sonesta.com/planit http://www.Sonesta.com http://www.pmpi.org

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Potomac Memo - September/October 2013

Calendar of Events
President’s Message
Legendary Service on the Horizon in 2014
What’s Wrong with Your Event Badge Design? More Than You Think By Dharmesh Dayabhai
Member Profiles
Old School Demands Meet New School Suppliers By Tom Michalisko, CMP
PMPI’s Mentor Me Program Kicks Off By Angelica Bravo
PMPI on Facebook
Full Circle Certification By Shannon Nelligan, CMP
Alexandria: A Capital Location for Meetings and Events
Meetings at the Summit By Amy Drew Thompson
Members on the Move
PMPI Dashboard
New Members
Index of Advertisers

Potomac Memo - September/October 2013

http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPB0218
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPB0118
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPB0217
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPB0117
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0616
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0516
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0416
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0316
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0216
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0116
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0615
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0515
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0415
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0315
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0215
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0115
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0614
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0514
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0414
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0314
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0214
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0114
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0613
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0513
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0413
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0313
http://www.nxtbook.com/naylor/PMPS/PMPS0213
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0113
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0612
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0512
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0412
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0312
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0212
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0112
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0611
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0511
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0411
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0311
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0211
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0111
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0610
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0510
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0410
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0510
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0410
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0310
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0210
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0110
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM1209
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM1109
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM1009
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0909
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0809
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0709
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com