The Main Course - Winter 2020 - 17

SPECIALTY COOKING CLASSES

17

ESSENTIAL COOKING TECHNIQUES
Knife Skills + Butchery + Grilling + Roasting + Sautéing
Knife Skills 1

$105 D 1 session D Level 1
Knowing how to use knives skillfully is the foundation of all cooking, and doesn't have to be scary or frustrating. Many home and even professional cooks don't always wield a knife correctly, however, which
increases food preparation time and makes the process harder - and less safe - than it should be. Simply put, good knives are the foundation of a well-equipped kitchen. This class remedies all these basic
issues: You will learn how to slice, dice, chop, and much more in the safest and most efficient manner. This class will even guide you through the practice of keeping your knives sharp and handling them
correctly.
Monday, January 6, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Thursday, January 9, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Saturday, January 11, 6-9 p.m.
Tuesday, January 14, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Friday, January 17, 2-5 p.m.
Sunday, January 19, 6-9 p.m.
Monday, January 20, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Wednesday, January 22, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Friday, January 24, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Monday, January 27, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Friday, January 31, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Monday, February 3, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 5, 6:30-9:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 11, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Thursday, February 13, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 15, 6-9 p.m.
Monday, February 17, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Wednesday, February 19, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Thursday, February 20, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Tuesday, February 25, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Friday, February 28, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Monday, March 2, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 5, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 7, 6-9 p.m.
Tuesday, March 10, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 12, 6:30-9:30 p.m.

Monday, March 16, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 19, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Friday, March 20, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 22, 6-9 p.m.
Thursday, March 26, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Monday, March 30, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Monday, April 6, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 9, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 11, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Monday, April 13, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 16, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Monday, April 20, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 22, 6:30-9:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 26, 2-5 p.m.
Tuesday, April 28, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Sunday, May 3, 2-5 p.m.
Tuesday, May 5, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 9, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Monday, May 11, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Wednesday, May 13, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Tuesday, May 19, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Thursday, May 21, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.

Knife Skills 2: Butchery

$120 D 1 session D Level 2
Knowing how to use knives skillfully is critical for cooks, yet many people have never mastered proper technique. Similarly, good knives form the foundation of a well-equipped kitchen, yet even some
accomplished home cooks don't know how to select and care for them. In Knife Skills 2, you will hone your fish and poultry fabrication skills. You will learn to properly break down a raw chicken and fillet
a fish. Note that Knife Skills 1 is a recommended prerequisite.
Wednesday, January 15, 6:30-9:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 21, 6-9 p.m.

Friday, April 24, 6:30-9:30 p.m.

Wednesday, May 27, 6:30-9:30 p.m.

ALL ABOUT TECHNIQUE

Techniques: Grilling + Sauces + Butchery + Steaming + Sushi
Cooking Level: Basic
All About Technique:
All About Technique: Fish Butchery
Monday, January 20, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Roast, Sauté and Steam
Sunday, January 5, 6-10 p.m.
Saturday, February 15, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
$125 D 1 session D Level 1
Once you master basic cooking techniques like roasting,
sautéing and steaming, you can cook perfect dishes every
time. Rather than recipes, this class focuses on the
techniques themselves, which you will learn and then
apply in a variety of dishes that include perfect roast
chicken and steamed mussels with Thai curry. You will also
master the techniques for cooking green vegetables and
sautéeing potatoes, and learn to make a simple, crowdpleasing dessert: honey-roasted pears with mascarpone.

All About Technique: Sushi
Monday, January 6, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 1, 6-10 p.m.
Saturday, March 14, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Sunday, May 31, 6-10 p.m.
$125 D 1 session D Level 1
Sushi-making doesn't have to be limited to the view from
a seat at your local Japanese restaurant. Bring the sushi
bar home by practicing your skills at preparing nigiri
(sashimi fish on top of thumb-size, compact sushi rice),
perfecting the texture of rice, and learning the proper
techniques to create a stellar hand roll. Once you've gotten
the basics down, you will try your hand at: sushi rice; maki
and futomaki rolls (both thin and thick), inside-out rolls;
nigiri; temaki (hand roll); miso soup; and edamame. You
will soon learn that sushi is something you too can
master.

All About Technique: Sauces
Monday, January 13, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Monday, March 2, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 5, 6-10 p.m.
Thursday, May 7, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
$125 D 1 session D Level 1
The sauces you will learn to make in this class are not just
for special-occasion dishes you'll prepare once a year.
Relying on pantry ingredients and reflecting the
contemporary cook's lifestyle, they are meant to easily take
a grilled meat or poached fish from simple to superlative
with a pan reduction, beurre blanc, pesto or crème anglaise.
You will master these techniques by making sauteed steak
with red wine reduction sauce; poached salmon with beurre
blanc; pasta with pesto; and poached pears with vanilla
crème anglaise.

CLASS SKILL LEVEL: LEVEL 1 D BASIC CLASS

Sunday, February 23, 6-10 p.m.
Monday, March 9, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Friday, April 3, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Thursday, May 28, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
$130 D 1 session D Level 1
Fish butchering doesn't have to be intimidating. Get this
essential skill down to a science as you learn the
techniques to fabricate a whole flat fish, a whole round fish
and much more. You'll learn the cooking methods most
suitable to fish cookery, such as en papillote, sautéing and
frying. Then you'll use those techniques to make a feast of:
sautéed fillets of flounder à la meuniere; Mediterranean
branzino baked en papillote; panko-breaded flounder with
tartar sauce; and sides of haricots verts and roasted new
potatoes.

All About Technique: Braising
Sunday, February 9, 6-10 p.m.
Sunday, March 1, 6-10 p.m.
$125 D 1 session D Level 1
Braising - searing at a high temperature, then finishing
in a liquid at a lower temperature to infuse flavor - can
add umami and more to pretty much any meal, from
mains to desserts! And the best part is, it creates tender,
juicy dishes with a minimum of effort. We'll master this
technique as we make a braised banquet of: Guinnessbraised short ribs with creamy polenta and roasted cipollini
onions; braised chicken thighs with mushrooms and
balsamic vinegar; braised fennel; braised medley of onions;
and marsala braised apples.

All About Technique: Grilling
Monday, March 16, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Thursday, May 21, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 30, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
$125 D 1 session D Level 1
Grilling is one of the best ways to cook food simply while
obtaining a maximum amount of flavor. You can grill on
the stovetop, in your backyard, or over charcoal or gas. In
this class you will learn how to modify your grilling
technique depending on the medium used. You will also
discuss how dry rubs and sauces are used on the grill, then
put those lessons to use as you make: New York strip
steaks; shrimp skewers; chicken satay with peanut dipping
sauce; grilled portobello mushrooms; grilled assorted
vegetables; and grilled pineapple.

LEVEL 2 D INTERMEDIATE CLASS

ESSENTIAL SKILLS

Techniques: Roasting + Poaching + Sautéing
Cooking Level: Basic

Essential Skills
Wednesday, January 15, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Thursday, January 23, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Tuesday, January 28, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 15, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Friday, February 28, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 10, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Monday, March 30, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Friday, April 17, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 23, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Friday, May 15, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Sunday, May 31, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
$125 D 1 session D Level 1
For a flash course on all the basics you need to make a varied and impressive meal,
look no further. With a professional chef, you'll gain the skills vital for moving
through any simple menu with ease. You'll practice knife skills, roasting vegetables,
cooking proteins with a pan sauce, vinaigrette and a simple fruit crisp. Then you'll
use what you learned as you make a menu of: popovers; sauteed chicken with classic
pan sauce; roasted root vegetable salad with fresh herb dressing; garlic mashed
cauliflower; and individual blueberry crisps.

Essential Skills 2
Tuesday, January 7, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 8, 6-10 p.m.
Friday, April 24, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
Thursday, May 21, 6:30-10:30 p.m.
$125 D 1 session D Level 1
Learn techniques that will serve you for years, whether you're making a casual
dinner or a gourmet multicourse meal. We'll cover techniques including poaching,
sautéing, grilling and cooking risotto. Using your newly acquired skills, we'll make
and dine on a complete meal of: grilled vegetable gratin; mushroom risotto;
pan-seared steak with compound butter; mesclun salad with Dijon vinaigrette; and red
wine poached pears.

LEVEL 3 D ADVANCED CLASS

LEVEL 4 D ICE PRO CLASS
For more information, call 888.961.CHEF


https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/51?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/815?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/15091?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/13539?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/14141?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/15681?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/16471?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/13661?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/13869?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook https://recreational.ice.edu/Courses/Detail/15752?utm_source=rec_email.winter2020nxtbook&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=rec_email&utm_content=winternxtbook

The Main Course - Winter 2020

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of The Main Course - Winter 2020

Program Overview
Frequently Asked Questions
Culinary Arts Program
Pastry & Baking Arts Program
Health-Supportive Culinary Arts
Culinary Management Program
Hospitality Management Program
Bread Baking
Cake Decorating
Demonstrations; First Fridays
CAPS@ICE
Classes with Michael Laiskonis
Food Media
Culinary Management & Business
Beverage Management Program
Program Overview
Knife Skills; Technique
Techniques of Cooking
Butcher Block; Meat & Poultry
Fish & Seafood; Surf & Turf
American; Basics
Ingredient Focused
Italian; Pasta; Pizza
Latin
French; Asian; Alumni News
The Essential Cuisines
International; Holiday
Brunch & Entertaining
Health-Supportive
Vegan & Gluten-Free
Couples´ Cooking
Techniques of Pastry & Baking
Cake Decorating
Pastry & Baking; Chocolate
Bread; Sugar; Macarons
Wine; Wine & Food Pairing
Essentials of Wine; Mixology
Beverages; Professional Mixology
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Cover1
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - 2
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - 3
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Program Overview
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Frequently Asked Questions
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Culinary Arts Program
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Pastry & Baking Arts Program
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Health-Supportive Culinary Arts
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Culinary Management Program
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Hospitality Management Program
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Cake Decorating
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Demonstrations; First Fridays
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Classes with Michael Laiskonis
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Culinary Management & Business
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Beverage Management Program
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Program Overview
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Knife Skills; Technique
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Techniques of Cooking
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - 19
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Butcher Block; Meat & Poultry
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Fish & Seafood; Surf & Turf
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - American; Basics
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Ingredient Focused
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Italian; Pasta; Pizza
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Latin
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - French; Asian; Alumni News
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - The Essential Cuisines
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - International; Holiday
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Brunch & Entertaining
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Health-Supportive
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Vegan & Gluten-Free
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - 32
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Couples´ Cooking
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Techniques of Pastry & Baking
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Cake Decorating
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Pastry & Baking; Chocolate
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Bread; Sugar; Macarons
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Wine; Wine & Food Pairing
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Essentials of Wine; Mixology
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Beverages; Professional Mixology
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - 41
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - 42
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - 43
The Main Course - Winter 2020 - Cover4
https://www.nxtbookmedia.com