IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 22





2 0 0 9

One of the most distinguished professional achievements, the grade of IEEE Fellow, recognizes exceptional distinction
in the profession. It is conferred by the IEEE Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of
accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The accomplishments that are being honored shall have
contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science, and technology, bringing the
realization of significant value to society. The total number of IEEE Fellows elevated in any one year must not exceed
one-tenth of one percent of the total voting membership of the IEEE on record as of 31 December of the preceding
year. In 2009, 302 IEEE Fellows were elevated. If you would like to learn more about the IEEE Fellow Program or would
like to nominate an individual, please visit

Fellow Class of 2009
Yuri I. Abramovich
Defence Science Technology Organization
Edinburgh, SA, Australia
for contributions to adaptive signal processing
for detection and estimation in radar arrays
Tülay Adali
University of Maryland
Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.
for contributions to nonlinear and complex-valued
statistical signal processing
Kazimierz Adamiak
University of Western Ontario
London, ON, Canada
for contributions to the numerical analysis of
applied electrostatic and electrohydrodynamic
Metin Akay
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ, U.S.A.
for contributions to biomedical signal
modeling and processing
Bashir Mohammad Al-Hashimi
University of Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire, UK
for contributions to low power integrated
circuits and systems
Mohamed Slim Alouini
Texas A&M University at Qatar
Doha, Qatar
for contributions to design and performance
analysis of wireless communication systems
Nirwan Ansari
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Newark, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to broadband networks and
Alexander P. Apostolov
Omicron Electronics
Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to use of digital computers
for power system protection, communication,
and operation
Francisco Jose Ares
Universidad de Santiago de Compostela
Santiago de Compostela, A Coruna, Spain
for contributions to antenna array pattern synthesis
Anish K. Arora
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH, U.S.A.
for contributions to scalability and stabilization of
networks of sensors and computers
Alessandro Astolfi
Imperial College London
London, UK
for contributions to nonlinear control theory and
its applications to mechanical, electromechanical
and power systems
Yves Baeyens
Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent
Murray Hill, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to the broadband and
millimeter-wave circuits for optical and wireless

Thomas L. Baldwin
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.
for contributions to grounding and protection
in industrial power distribution systems
Uptal Banerjee
Intel Corporation
Fremont, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to the mathematical theory
of optimizing parallelizing compilers
Rashid Bashir
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Champaign,, IL, U.S.A.
for contributions to development of micro-systems
and nanotechnology for medical applications
Roberto Battiti
University of Trento, Italy
Povo, Trento, Italy
for contributions to machine learning techniques
for intelligent optimization and neural networks
Leslie Alan Baxter
Baxter Enterprises
Little Silver, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to high-speed digital
communication networks
Ilan Ben-Zvi
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Upton, NY, U.S.A.
for leadership in superconducting accelerators,
high brightness electron sources and free
electron lasers
Jean-Pierre Gabriel Bérenger
Centre d'Analyse de Defense
Arcueil, France
for contributions to perfectly matched layer
absorbing boundary condition in computational
solutions of Maxwell's equations in open regions
Keren Bergman
Columbia University
New York, NY, U.S.A.
for contributions to development of optical
interconnection and transport networks
Claude Berrou
TELECOM Bretagne (Institut TELECOM)
Brest, France
for invention of turbo codes, generalization
of the turbo principle in receivers, and influence
in standardization
Glen John Bertini
Novinium, Inc.
Tacoma, WA, U.S.A.
for applications to the dielectric performance
of underground electrical power cable
John W. Betz
The MITRE Corporation
Bedford, MA, U.S.A.
for contributions to signal design and radio
frequency compatibility of global positioning
and navigation satellite systems
Navin B. Bhatt
American Electric Power (AEP)
Gahanna, OH, U.S.A.
for contributions to technologies and standards
for power system performance


Ronald DeShawn Blanton
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A.
for contributions to testing of
microelectromechanical systems and
integrated circuits
Gerald Vincent Blessing
National Institute of Standards & Technology
Frederick, MD, U.S.A.
for contributions to ultrasonic techniques
in materials evaluation and sensor systems
Georg Böck
Berlin University of Technology
Berlin, Germany
for contributions to radio frequency and
microwave integrated circuits and systems
Helmut Bölcskei
ETH Zurich
Zurich, Switzerland
for contributions to multiple input/multiple
output wireless communication and filter
bank theory
Shekhar Yeshwant Borkar
Intel Corporation
Hillsboro, OR, U.S.A.
for contributions to low power digital circuits
in deep submicron technology
David J. Brady
Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics & Dept.
of Electrical Engineering
Durham, NC, U.S.A.
for contributions to computational optical
imaging and spectroscopy
Aleksander I. Braginski
Research Center Juelich, Germany
Juelich, Germany
for leadership in research and development in
magnetics and applied superconductivity
Michael Shapiro Brandstein
MIT Lincoln Laboratories
Lexington, MA, U.S.A.
for contributions to microphone array signal
processing for speech and multimedia applications
Dennis Brian Brown
U.S. Naval Research Lab
Alexandria, VA, U.S.A.
for contributions to radiation effects
in semiconductor devices for space
Nicholas E. Buris
Schaumburg, IL, U.S.A.
for contributions to electromagnetic design
automation and multidisciplinary optimization
of complex wireless communications problems
Kenneth Michael Butler
Texas Instruments
Richardson, TX, U.S.A.
for contributions to testing of digital
integrated circuits
Gary Milton Carter
University of Maryland Baltimore County
Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.
for contributions to understanding nonlinear
and polarization effects in optical fiber
communications systems

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover4