IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 23





2 0 0 9

John C. Cartledge
Queen's University
Kingston, ON, Canada
for contributions to modulation dynamics
of optical devices

Vikram Dalal
Iowa State University
Ames, IA, U.S.A.
for contributions to thin-film photovoltaic energy
conversion materials and devices

Abdulmotaleb El Saddik
University of Ottawa
Ottawa, ON, Canada
for contributions to interactive haptic audio
visual systems

Moises Cases
Austin, TX, U.S.A.
for contributions to design and noise control for
power and signal distribution in digital systems

Dragan Damjanovic
Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
for contributions to piezoelectric ceramics
and single crystals

Anwar I. Elwalid
Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent
Murray Hill, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to multimedia traffic in
telecommunication networks

Sheng Chen
University of Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire, UK
for contributions to intelligent learning systems
and adaptive signal processing for communications

Pasquale Daponte
Universita del Sannio
Benevento, Italy
for contributions to the metrology and
standardization of analog to digital and digital
to analog converters

Lars Eriksson
Siemens Molecular Imaging
Knoxville, TN, U.S.A.
for development of instrumentation and
methodologies for molecular imaging

Gagan Lal Choudhury
AT&T Labs
Middletown, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to design and analysis of
telecommunication networks and routing protocols
Weng W. Chow
Sandia National Laboratories
Albuquerque, NM, U.S.A.
for contributions to semiconductor-laser theory
Andrew R. Chraplyvy
Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent
Holmdel, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to high-capacity optical
communications systems, dispersion management
and non-zero dispersion fiber
George Chrisikos
Applied Wave Research, Inc.
San Diego, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions simulation and design of
communication systems
Panagiotis D. Christofides
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to analysis and control of
nonlinear and distributed parameter processes
Char-Dir Chung
National Taiwan University
Taipei, Taiwan
for leadership in the broadband wireless
communications industry
Cor L. Claeys
Leuven, Belgium
for contributions to semiconductor device
physics, defect engineering, and low frequency
noise characterization
Alan Clements
University of Teesside, England
Middlesbrough, Tees Valley, UK
for contributions to computer science education
Rodney F. Coates
Seiche, Ltd.
Holyhead, Anglesey, UK
for contributions to underwater acoustics
Gerald Cooperstein
Naval Research Laboratory
Washington, DC, U.S.A.
for contributions to pulsed power and intense
electron and ion beam technologies and
development of x-ray sources for pulsed
Ian Graham Cumming
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC, Canada
for achievements in synthetic aperture
radar signal processing
Fa Foster Dai
Auburn University
Auburn, AL, U.S.A.
for contributions to high-speed frequency
synthesis and radio frequency integrated circuits

Lucian Doru Dascalescu
University of Poitiers
Angouleme, France
for contributions to the modeling of electrostatic
processes in the recycling and mineral
processing industries
Aniruddha Datta
Texas A & M University
College Station, TX, U.S.A.
for contributions to control techniques
in cancer genomics
Frederick E. Daum
Carlisle, MA, U.S.A.
for the integration of modern mathematical signal
processing and tracking techniques to practical
radar implementation
Francis Philip Dawson
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON, Canada
for contributions to modeling of excitation
and detection of electrical arcs
Martin David Dawson
University of Strathclyde
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
for contributions to compound semiconductor
Gustavo de Veciana
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX, U.S.A.
for contributions to the design of communication
Piet Marie Demeester
Ghent University - IBBT
Gent, Belgium
for contributions to optical communication
networks and technologies
Manfred Depenbrock
Ruhr-University Bochum
Bochum, NRW, Germany
for contributions to the theory of electrical power
under nonsinusoidal conditions and to direct
methods for control of motor drives
Louis Gilles Durand
Montreal, QC, Canada
for contributions to instrumentation and
methods for assessing cardiovascular and
respiratory diseases
David S. Ebert
Purdue University School of ECE
West Lafayette, IN, U.S.A.
for contributions to data visualization and its
Nicholas Philip Economou
Carl Zeiss Smt, Inc.
Peabody, MA, U.S.A.
for leadership in developing and commercializing
focused ion beam systems,
Michelle Effros
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to source and network coding


Brian Lawrence Evans
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX, U.S.A.
for contributions to multicarrier communications
and image display
Kevin Roland Fall
Intel Corporation
Berkeley, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to Internet architectures and
protocols in challenging environments
Orla C. Feely
University College Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
for contributions to nonlinear discrete-time circuits
and systems
Gang (Gary) Feng
City University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
for contributions to theory and application
of fuzzy systems and control
Gerhard Paul Fettweis
Technische Universita Dresden
Dresden, Saxony, Germany
for contributions to signal processing
algorithms and chip implementation architectures
for communications
Paolo Fiorini
University of Verona
Verona, Italy
for contributions to mobile robot navigation in
dynamic environments
David Alexander Forsyth
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL, U.S.A.
for contributions to human motion computing and
object recognition in computer vision
William Freeman
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA, U.S.A.
for contributions to computer vision, computer
graphics and machine learning
Brendan J. Frey
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON, Canada
for contributions to information processing and
machine learning
Shen-Li Fu
I-Shou University
Kaohsiung County, Taiwan
for contributions to electronic packaging research
and education
Roger U. Fujii
Northrop Grumman
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, U.S.A.
for development of software verification and
validation and system safety standards
Yoshitaka Fukuoka
Weisti (Worldwide Electronic Integrated Substrate
Technology Inc.)
Suginami-ku, Tokyo, Japan
for development of multichip module and high
density substrate technologies


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover4