IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 26


Thomas Allen Milligan
Littleton, CO, U.S.A.
for development of antennas for space exploration
Bhubaneswar (Bud) Mishra
Courant Institute
New York, NY, U.S.A.
for contributions to the mathematical modeling
of robotic grasping




George James Pappas
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.
for contributions to design and analysis
of hybrid control systems

Hayder Radha
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI, U.S.A.
for contributions to visual coding, communications
and networking

David Lorge Parnas
University of Limerick
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
for contributions to software engineering

Omar M. Ramahi
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, ON, Canada
for contributions to computational
electromagnetics in electromagnetic compatibility

Takashi Mizutani
Nagoya University
Nagoya, Japan
for contributions to device physics, nanostructures
and heterostructure devices

Matthias Passlack
Freescale Semiconductor, Inc
Chandler, AZ, U.S.A.
for contributions to III-V metal-oxidesemiconductor technology

Mahta Moghaddam
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI, U.S.A.
for contributions to forward and inverse scattering
techniques for radar remote sensing

Matteo Pastorino
Department of Biophysical and Electronic
Engineering (DIBE)
Genova, Italy
for contributions to analysis of electromagnetic

Un-Ku Moon
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR, U.S.A.
for contributions to low voltage complementary
metal-oxide semiconductor mixed-signal

2 0 0 9

Parameswaran Ramanathan
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Madison, WI, U.S.A.
for contributions to real-time systems and
Raghuveer M. Rao
Rochester Institute of Technology
Rochester, NY, U.S.A.
for contributions to higher-order statistics-based
signal processing

Chandrakant D. Patel
Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (HPL)
Fremont, CA, U.S.A.
for leadership in thermal and energy management
in data centers

Mark Arthur Reed
Yale University
New Haven, CT, U.S.A.
for contributions to nanoscale and molecular-scale
electronic devices

David E. Perlmutter
Intel Corporation
Santa-Clara, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to the mobile personal
computer industry

Eve A. Riskin
University of Washington
Seattle, WA, U.S.A.
for contributions to variable-rate image and video
compression and to engineering education

Klaus Petermann
Technische Universitat Berlin
Berlin, Germany
for contributions to optical communications

Jonathon Scott Rose
University of Toronto
Tornoto, ON, Canada
for contributions to field-programmable
gate arrays

Terence Malcolm Peters
Robarts Research Institute
London, ON, Canada
for contributions to medical imaging and
image-guided surgery

Helmut Rott
Univeristy of Innsbruck
Innsbruck, Austria
for contributions to microwave techniques
for evaluating climate change

Dario Petri
University of Trento
Povo, Trento, Italy
for contributions to digital signal processing
techniques for instrumentation and measurement

Jaijeet Roychowdhury
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.
for contributions to simulation and automated
macromodelling of integrated circuits

Jorma Uolevi Nieminen
Benefon Oyj
Halikko, Finland
for contributions to development of the mobile
communications industry

Joel Phillips
Cadence Research Laboratories
Berkeley, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to numerical techniques in the
design of high-frequency and radio frequency

Steven B. Sample
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.
for leadership in engineering education

Steven M. Nowick
Columbia University
Leonia, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to asynchronous and mixedtiming integrated circuits and systems

Jose J. Pineda-De-Gyvez
NXP Semiconductors
Eindhoven, Noord Brabant, The Netherlands
for contributions defect oriented testing of
integrated circuits

Yisok Oh
Hongik University
Seoul, Korea
for contributions to microwave remote sensing
of soil moisture and surface roughness

Timothy Mark Pinkston
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to design and analysis of
interconnection networks and routing algorithms

Michal M. Okoniewski
University of Calgary
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
for contributions to computational

Ramjee Prasad
Aalborg University
Aalbrog, Denmark
for leadership in developing personal wireless
communications technologies

Beng Chin Ooi
School of Computing, National University
of Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
for leadership in data management technology

Raymond Quéré
Limoges, Cedex, France
for leadership in device characterization and
computer aided design microwave engineering

Mehmet Cevdet Ozturk
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.
for contributions to silicon and silicongermanium epitaxy in complementary metal-oxide
semiconductor integrated circuits

William Albert Radasky
Metatech Corporation
Goleta, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to understanding high-power
electromagnetic effects on electrical equipment

Duncan T. Moore
Institute of Optics
Rochester, NY, U.S.A.
for contributions to gradient-index optical
systems and optical technology for Hubble
Space Telescope
Shubu Mukherjee
Intel Corporation
Southborough, MA, U.S.A.
for contributions to modeling of and protection
against radiation-induced soft errors
Ross D. Murch
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Kowloon, Clear Water Bay, Hong Kong
for contributions to multiple antenna systems
for wireless communications
Shrikanth S. Narayanan
Univ. of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to human-centric multimodal
signal processing and applications


Niilo K. Saranummi
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
Tampere, Finland
for leadership in biomedical engineering and
biomedical information technology
Masayuki Sato
Gunma University
Kiryu, Japan
for development of high voltage pulsed plasma
in water
Bill N. Schilit
Menlo Park, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to ubiquitous and context-aware
Joel Elliot Schindall
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA, U.S.A.
for leadership in satellite communication
and surveillance systems
Michael S. Schlansker
Hewlett Packard
Palo Alto, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to architectures and compilers
that exploit instruction-level parallelism


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover4