IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 28





2 0 0 9

Nikolai Ivanovich Voropai
Energy Systems Institute
Irkutsk, Russia
for contributions to power system planning
and emergency analysis and control

Thomas Yat Chung Woo
Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent
Murray Hill, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to network security and mobile
data services

Zhiping Yu
Tsinghua University
Beijing, China
for contributions to modeling and simulation
of advanced semiconductor devices

Robert M. Wallace
University of Texas at Dallas
Richardson, TX, U.S.A.
for contributions to high-k gate dielectric materials
for integrated circuits

Jie Wu
Florida Atlantic University
Boca Raton, FL, U.S.A.
for contributions to mobile ad hoc networks
and multicomputer systems

Ming Yu
Cambridge, ON, Canada
for contributions to the design and tuning of
microwave filters and multiplexers

Xi-Fan Wang
Xilin Jiaotong University
Xilin, Shaanxi, China
for contributions to power system planning
and power engineering education

Jean-Lien Chen Wu
National Taiwan University of Science and
Taipei,Taiwan, R.O.C.
for leadership in information and communication

Simon H. Yueh
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institue of
Pasadena, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to polarimetric radar and
radiometer remote sensing

Hans-Joachim Wunderlich
University of Stuttgart
Stuttgart, Germany
for contributions to very-large-scale-integration
circuit testing and fault tolerance

Alan Yuille
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to computer and biological vision,
medical image processing and computational
theories of cognition

Yicheng Wang
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Germantown, MD, U.S.A.
for contributions to precision electrical
measurements in realization of the International
System of Units Farad and Ohm
Albert Z. Wang
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to design-for-reliability
and system-on-chip

Xiang-Gen Xia
University of Delaware
Newark, DE, U.S.A.
for contributions to signal processing for
digital communications

Shan X. Wang
Stanford University
Stanford, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to magnetic materials and device

Takeshi Yamakawa
Kyushu Institute of Technology
2-4 Hibikino, Kitakyushu, Fukuoka, Japan
for contributions in hardware implementation of
fuzzy logic and other soft computing systems

Oleg Wasynczuk
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN, U.S.A.
for contributions to modeling and analysis
in power electronics
Susie J. Wee
Cupertino, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions in multimedia technology
Wolfram Heinz Wellssow
Siemens AG
Ketsch, Germany
for leadership in the development of software
packages for electric power system analysis
Juyang Weng
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI, U.S.A.
for contributions to computer vision and
pattern recognition
Stuart Ross Wenham
ARC Photovaoltaics Centre of Excellence
Sydney, NSW, Australia
for contributions to solar cell technology
Peter J. Winzer
Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent
Holmdel, NJ, U.S.A.
for contributions to high-speed digital optical
modulation in transport networks
Richard Stacy Withers
Varian Inc.
Sunnyvale, CA, U.S.A.
for development of superconductive and cryogenic
radio frequency circuits for nuclear magnetic
resonance probes

Toshiak Yamamoto
Musashi Institute of Technology
Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to pollution and
contamination control
Qiang Yang
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Clear Water Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
for contributions to understanding and application
of intelligent planning, learning and data mining
Yuanyuan Yang
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY,U.S.A.
for contributions to parallel and distributed
computing systems
Felix Josefovich Yanovsky
National Aviation University (NAU)
Kiev, Ukraine
for contributions to airborne radar for flight safety
Gary Gune Yen
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK, U.S.A.
for contribution to intelligent systems and control
Ryuichi Yokoyama
Waseda University
Tokyo, Japan
for leadership in electrical power system
Robert A. York
University of California at Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA, U.S.A.
for contributions to ferroelectric devices, power
amplifiers and phased array systems
Steve J. Young
Cambridge University Engineering Department
Cambridge, UK
for contributions to speech processing, speech
recognition and spoken dialogue systems


Enrico Zanoni
Universita' di Padova, Italy
Padova, Itãly
for contributions to reliability of compound
semiconductor devices
Kenneth John Zdunek
Motorola, Inc
Schaumburg, IL, U.S.A.
for leadership in integrating voice and data
communications in networks
Aidong Zhang
State University of New York at Buffalo
Buffalo, NY, U.S.A.
for contributions to multimedia data indexing
Xiaodong Zhang
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH, U.S.A.
for contributions to computer memory systems
Qi Tu Keith Zhang
City University of Hong Kong
kwoloon, Hong Kong
for contributions to wireless communications
David Dapeng Zhang
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong
for contributions to biometric identification
and systems
Zheng Zhang
Whirlpool Corporation
Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.
for contributions to the design of advanced
variable speed drive systems for appliances
Zi-Qiang Zhu
University of Sheffield
Sheffield, UK
for contributions to analytical modeling of
permanent magnet brishless machines
John C. Zolper
Vienna, VA, U.S.A.
for leadership in compound semiconductor


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2009 - Cover4