IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 24





2 0 1 0

One of the most distinguished professional achievements, the grade of IEEE Fellow, recognizes exceptional distinction
in the profession. It is conferred by the IEEE Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of
accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The accomplishments that are being honored shall have
contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science, and technology, bringing the
realization of significant value to society. The total number of IEEE Fellows elevated in any one year must not exceed
one-tenth of one percent of the total voting membership of the IEEE on record as of 31 December of the preceding
year. In 2010, 309 IEEE Fellows were elevated. If you would like to learn more about the IEEE Fellow Program or would
like to nominate an individual, please visit

Raj Acharya
The Penn State University
University Park, PA, USA
for contributions to biomedical imaging
and bioinformatics

Shanker Balasubramaniam
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI, USA
for contributions to time and frequency domain in
computational electromagnetics

Tinku Acharya
Intellectual Ventures
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
for contributions to very large scale integration
algorithms and architectures for electronic image

Martin J. Bastiaans
Eindhoven University of Technology
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
for contributions to signal processing for optical
signals and systems

Charu Aggarwal
IBM Research
Hawthorne, NY, USA
for contributions to knowledge discovery and
data mining techniques
John Edward Allen
Oxford University, UK
Oxford, England
for contributions to high current radio frequency
discharges, sheath and wave phenomena, and
electronegative and dusty plasmas
Eitan Altman
Sophia-Antipolis, PACA, France
for contributions to analysis, optimization,
and control of telecommunication networks
Srinivas Aluru
Iowa State University
Ames, IA, USA
for contributions to computational biology
Nancy M. Amato
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX, USA
for contributions to the algorithmic foundations
of motion planning in robotics and
computational biology
Joerg Appenzeller
Birck Nantechnology Center
West Lafayette, IN, USA
for contributions to carbon nanotube transistors
and circuits
Shigehisa Arai
Quantum Nanoelectronics Research Center
Meguro-ku, Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to single-mode semiconductor
lasers for optical communications
Kazutami Arimoto
Renesas Technology Corporation
Itami, Hyogo, Japan
for development of high-density dynamic random
access memory and embedded memory
David A. Bader
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA, USA
for contributions to parallel algorithms for
combinatorial problems and computational

Polina Bayvel
University College London (UCL)
London, UK
for contributions to the design of optical networks,
with emphasis on wavelength-routing architectures
and mitigation of optical-fiber impairments
Alberto Bemporad
University of Siena, Italy
Siena, Italy
for contributions to model predictive control of
constrained linear and hybrid systems
Shmuel (Sam) Ben-Yaakov
Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Beer Sheva, Israel
for development of modeling and simulation
methodologies for pulse width modulated and
resonant converters

Athman Bouguettaya
CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial
Research Organization)
Acton, ACT, Australia
for contributions to large scale autonomous and
heterogeneous databases and service-oriented
James Edward Bowen
Powell Electrical Systems
Houston, TX, USA
for leadership in "safety by design" in electrical
substation engineering
Georg Anton Brasseur
Graz University of Technology
Graz, Styria, Austria
for developments in electronic diesel engine
Lionel C. Briand
Simula Research Laboratory
Lysaker, Norway
for contributions to testing of object-oriented
software systems
Shira L. Broschat
Washington State University
Pullman, WA, USA
for contributions to modeling of rough surface
electromagnetic scattering

Samuel Paul Benz
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Boulder, CO, USA
for contributions to quantum-based Josephson
junction array waveform synthesizer

Lorenzo Bruzzone
University of Trento
Trento, Italy
for contributions to pattern recognition and image
processing for remote sensing

Theodore William Berger
University of Southern California
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA
for contributions to nonlinear systems modeling
of neural tissue and development of neural

Francesco Bullo
University of California at Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
for contributions to geometric and cooperative
control with applications to mechanical and robotic

Jennifer T. Bernhard
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL, USA
for development of multifunctional, reconfigurable,
and integrated antennas

Douglas Christopher Burger
The University of Texas at Austin
Redmond, WA, USA
for contributions to processor and memory

Joseph Ernest Berthold
Ciena Corporation
Fallston, MD, USA
for leadership in optical internetworking

Edgar Herbert Callaway
Motorola, Inc.
Plantation, FL, USA
for contributions to wireless sensor networks and
low power design techniques for communications
devices and systems

Dieter H. Bimberg
Technical University of Berlin
Berlin, Germany
for advancement of semiconductor nanostructures,
and development of self-organized quantum dot
E. Grady Booch
IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center
Littleton, CO, USA
for contributions in software engineering and
creation of the Unified Modeling Language

James Baker-Jarvis
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Boulder, CO, USA
for contributions to dielectric measurement and
analysis of microwave measurement structures

Christophe Caloz
École Polytechnique, Montréal
Montréal, QC, Canada
for contributions to the development and
application of electromagnetic metamaterial
Sandoval Carneiro
Federal University of Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
for leadership in power systems research
and engineering education
Ahmet Enis Cetin
Bilkent University
Ankara, MN, Turkey
for contributions to signal recovery and image
analysis algorithms


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 37
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 38
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 39
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 40
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - Cover4