IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 29


John Ashley Rogers
University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign
Urbana, IL, USA
for contributions to nanomaterials and
nanofabrication techniques for electronic and
photonic devices
Thomas Roser
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Upton, NY, USA
for contributions to the design of magnets in
particle accelerator applications
Richard C. Ruby
Avago Technologies
San Jose, CA, USA
for contributions to film bulk acoustic resonators,
filters, and duplexers for mobile phones
Yong Rui
Microsoft China Research and Development
Beijing, China
for contributions to image and video analysis,
indexing and retrieval
Daniela Lucia Rus
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA, USA
for contributions to distributed and modular robotic
Leslie Ann Rusch
Université Laval
Quebec, QC, Canada
for contributions in optical and wireless
communications systems
Seth Robert Sanders
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA, USA
for contributions to integrated passive component
technology and digital control of power electronic
Timothy David Sands
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN, USA
for contributions to metal/semiconductor
interfaces and heterogeneous integration
Jafar Saniie
Illinois Institute of Technology
Chicago, IL, USA
for contributions to ultrasonic signal detection,
estimation and imaging




Abdel A. Sebak
Concordia University
Montreal, QC, Canada
for contributions to electromagnetics scattering,
and design and modeling of antennas

Peter A. Steenkiste
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
for contributions to optimization and monitoring
techniques for distributed communication systems

Timoleon K. Sellis
National Technical University of Athens
Zografou, Attica, Greece
for contributions to database query optimization,
and spatial data management

Milica Stojanovic
Northeastern University
Boston, MA, USA
for contributions to underwater acoustic

Rodolphe Sepulchre
Université de Liège
Liège Sart-Tilman, Belgium
for contributions to nonlinear systems

Grant H. Stokes
MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Lexington, MA, USA
for leadership in the development and
implementation of advanced space search systems

Vladimir M. Shalaev
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN, USA
for contributions to nanophotonics and the
development of optical materials
Mark Alan Shayman
University of Maryland
College Park, MD, USA
for contributions to the theory of Riccati equations
and discrete-event dynamic systems
Jose Silva-Martinez
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX, USA
for contributions to Complimentary Metal-Oxide
Semiconductor transconductance amplifiers and
continuous-time filters
Andrew C. Singer
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL, USA
for contributions to signal processing techniques
for digital communication
Bhim Singh
Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
New Delhi, New Delhi, India
for contributions to active power filters and
multipulse AC-DC converters
Vishwanath Sinha
The LNM IIT Jaipur
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
for contributions to electrical engineering

Maria Sabrina Sarto
Sapienza University of Rome
Rome, Italy
for contributions to advanced materials in
electromagnetic compatibility applications

Thomas Piotr Skotnicki
Crolles, France
for contributions to development of metal-oxide
semiconductor field effect transistor models and
advanced semiconductor technologies

Motoyuki Sato
CNEAS, Tohoku University, Kawauchi Campus
Sendai, Miyagi-ken, Japan
for contributions to radar remote sensing technologies
in environmental and humanitarian applications

Malcolm Graham Slaney
Yahoo! Research and CCRMA
Palo Alto, CA, USA
for contributions to perceptual signal processing
and tomographic imaging

Christian Schlegel
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
for contributions to iterative demodulation and
decoding in wireless communicatio

Asim Smailagic
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
for contributions to wearable, pervasive, and
context aware computing

Robert Schober
University of British Columbia (UBC)
Vancouver, BC, Canada
for contributions to wireless communications

John E. Snyder
Cardiff University
Cardiff, UK
for contributions to synthesis anc characterization
of magnetic bulk and thin film materials

Dan Schonfeld
University of Illinois at Chicago
Glenview, IL, USA
for contributions to image and video analysis
Michael L. Scott
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY, USA
for contributions to parallel and distributed

2 0 1 0

Frank K. Soong
Microsoft Research
Beijing, China
for contributions to speech processing
Aravind Srinivasan
University of Maryland
College Park, MD, USA
for contributions to randomized algorithms and
probabilistic methods


Heinrich Josef Stuttgen
NEC Europe Ltd.
Heidelberg,, Germany
for leadership in industrial research
Shun-Feng Su
National Taiwan University of Science and
Taipei, Taiwan
for contributions to computational intelligence and
intelligent control
Wei Su
US Army Communication-Electronics RD&E Center
Englishtown, NJ, USA
for leadership in military communications and
electronic warfare technology
Madhu Sudan
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA, USA
for development of list-decoding algorithms
for error-correcting codes and probabilisticallycheckable proofs
Jordi Sune
Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
Bellaterra, Barcelona, Spain
for contributions to the understanding of gate
oxide failure and reliability methodology
Jan Kazimierz Sykulski
University of Southampton
Southampton, Hants, UK
for contributions to methods and applications of
computational electromagnetics
Tadashi Takenaka
Tokyo University of Science
Noda, Chiba-ken, Japan
for research on properties and applications of leadfree piezoelectrics and ferroelectric ceramics
Giorgio Taricco
Politecnico di Torino
Turin, Italy
for contributions to digital communications using
wireless fading and multiple input multiple output
Emmanouil M. Tentzeris
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA, USA
for contributions to three dimensional conformal
integrated devices for wireless communications and
Nobukazu Teranishi
Panasonic Corporation
Nagaokakyo, Kyoto, Japan
for contribution to the development of chargecoupled device image sensors
Jie Tian
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Beijing, China
for contributions to medical image processing,
pattern recognition, and molecular imaging
Valentino Trainotti
University of Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires, Argentina
for contributions to the broadcast industry
through development of antenna and propagation


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 37
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 38
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 39
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - 40
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2010 - Cover4