IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 29


Steven Scott
Google Madison
Madison, WI, USA
for contributions to the architectures of highperformance interconnection networks and
Jong-Soo Seo
Yonsei University
Seoul, South Korea
for contributions to digital multimedia and
mobile broadcasting technologies
Cyrus Shahabi
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA, USA
for contributions to the fields of multimedia,
geospatial and distributed databases
Sanjay Shakkottai
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX, USA
for contributions to the modeling, design, and
analysis of wireless networks
Puneet Sharma
Hewlett-Packard Laboratories
Palo Alto, CA, USA
for contributions to the design of scalable
networking, software defined networks and
energy efficiency in data centers
Jiancheng Shi
Institute for Remote Sensing Applications
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Beijing, China
for contributions to active and passive
microwave remote sensing
Shiuhpyng Winston Shieh
National Chiao Tung University
Hsinchu, Taiwan
for advances in pattern-oriented intrusion
detection and fault-tolerant protection
Toru Shimizu
Renesas Electronics Corp�
Tokyo, Japan
for development of integrated multi-core
microprocessors with large memories
Andrei M. Shkel
University of California-Irvine
Irvine, CA, USA
for contributions to micromachined gyroscopes
Sandeep Kumar Shukla
Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Arlington, VA, USA
for contributions to applied probablistic model
checking for system design
Metin Sitti
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
for contributions to micro- and nano-scale
robotic systems
Raghupathy Sivakumar
Georgia Institute of Technology
Alpharetta, GA, USA
for contributions to the design of algorithms and
protocols for wireless networking and mobile
Kiruba H. Sivasubramaniam
Electric Machines Laboratory
Niskayuna, NY, USA
for contributions to high power density electric
machines for renewable energy and aerospace
Krishna Moorthy Sivalingam
Indian Institute of Technology
Madras Chennai, India
for contributions to medium access control
and energy-efficient protocol design in
communication networks
Dejan J. Sobajic
Grid Consulting, LLC, San Jose, CA, USA
for contributions to applications of neural
networks for power engineering

Emina Soljanin
Bell Labs Alacatel-Lucent, Murray Hill, NJ, USA
for contributions to coding theory and coding
schemes for transmission and storage systems
Jiming Song
Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA
for contributions to algorithms in computational
Anthony C.K. Soong
Huawei Technologies, Plano, TX, USA
for contributions to the standardization of
cellular communication systems
Ashok N. Srivastava
NASA Ames Research Center
Mountain View, CA, USA
for leadership and contributions in data mining
to enhance the safety of aerospace systems
Mircea R. Stan
University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA, USA
for contributions to power- and temperatureaware design of VLSI circuits and systems
John T. Stasko
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA, USA
for contributions to information visualization,
visual analytics and human-computer interaction
Richard M. Stern
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
for contributions to robust speech recognition
and auditory perception
Charles R. Sullivan
Dartmouth Hanover, NH, USA
for contributions to the design of power
electronic circuits and magnetics
Senichi Suzuki
NTT Corporation, Kanagawa, Japan
for contributions to high-density integrated
silica-based planar lightwave circuits for optical
Jacobus W. Swart
State University of Campinas - UNICAMP
Campinas, Brazil
for contributions to microelectronics education
in Brazil
Srinivas Tadigadapa
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA, USA
for contributions to microeletromechanical
systems for fluidic and biochemical sensors
Takunori Taira
National Institutes of Natural Science
Institute for Molecular Science, Okazaki, Japan
for contributions to micro solid-state photonics
Hiroshi Takahashi
Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation
Kanagawa, Japan
for contributions to arrayed-waveguide gratings
Migaku Takahashi
Tohoku University
Sendai, Japan
for contributions to thin film technology for highdensity recording media and heads
Kay Chen Tan
National University of Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
for contributions to evolutionary multiobjective
Kazuo Tanaka
University of Electro-Communications
Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to fuzzy control system design
and analysis
Hisao Taoka
University of Fukui
Fukui, Japan
for contributions to computing technology for
power system analysis and control

Anthony Tether
Sequoia Group, Inc�
Falls Church, VA, USA
for leadership in the advancement of
commercial and defense technologies
Patrick Thiran
Ecole Polytechnique Fdrale de Lausanne
Lausanne, Switzerland
for contributions to network performance analysis
Keiichi Tokuda
Nagoya Institute of Technology
Nagoya, Japan
for contributions to hidden Markov model-based
speech synthesis
Wen Tong
Huawei Technologies
Ottawa, ON, Canada
for leadership in the development of 3G and
4G wireless communication systems
Elie K. Track
Hypres, Inc�
Stamford, CT, USA
for leadership in superconducting electronics
and its applications
Trac Duy Tran
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD, USA
for contributions to multirate and sparse signal
Wade Trappe
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, NJ, USA
for contributions to information and
communication security
A. Galip Ulsoy
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
for contributions to the control of
automotiveand manufacturing systems and
time-delay systems
Kerry J. Vahala
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA, USA
for contributions to the physics, technology, and
applications of quantum-confined semiconductor
lasers and optical microresonators
Jan F. Van Houdt
imec, Leuven, Belgium
for contributions to flash memory devices
Marc M. Van Hulle
KU Leuven
Leuven, Belgium
for contributions to biomedical signal
processing and biological modeling
André van Schaik
University of Western Sydney
Penrith, NSW, Australia
for contributions to neuromorphic circuits and
René Vidal
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD, USA
for contributions to subspace clustering and
motion segmentation in computer vision
Martin Vlach
Mentor Graphics, Portland, OR, USA
for leadership in analog and mixed signal
hardware description languages and their
simulation tools
Yi Wang
Cornell University
New York, NY, USA
for contributions to cardiovascular MRI
development and quantitative susceptibility
Zhou Wang
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, ON, Canada
for contributions to perceptual image processing
and quality assessment


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2014 - Cover4