IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 28

ieee fellows class of 2015

The grade of IEEE Fellow recognizes exceptional distinction in the profession. It is conferred by the IEEE Board
of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.
The total number of IEEE Fellows elevated in any one year must not exceed one-tenth of one percent of the total
voting membership of the IEEE on record as of 31 December of the preceding year. In 2015, 300 IEEE Fellows
were elevated. To learn more about the Fellow program or to nominate, visit:

David K. Abe
U�S� Naval Research Laboratory
Washington DC USA
for leadership and contributions to the
development of high power microwave and
millimeter wave vacuum electronic devices

Wiren Dale Becker
IBM Corporation
Poughkeepsie NY USA
for contributions to power distribution and
signal integrity in high-speed interconnects for
computing systems

Vivek Agarwal
Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay
Mumbai Maharashtra India
for contributions to topologies and control
schemes for solar photovoltaic energy
conversion and power quality enhancement

Kristine L. Bell
Metron, Inc�
Reston VA USA
for contributions to statistical signal processing
with radar and sonar applications

Héctor J. Altuve Ferrer
Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories, Inc�
Monterrey Nuevo Len Mexico
for contributions to power line and transformer
Matthew Andrews
Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs
Murray Hill NJ USA
for contributions to network design and wireless
resource allocation

Ewert Bengtsson
Uppsala University
Uppsala Sweden
for contributions to quantitative microscopy and
biomedical image analysis
Charanjit Singh Bhatia
National Univeristy of Singapore
Singapore Singapore
for contributions to magnetic head-media
interfaces and tribology

Victor Mark Bright
University of Colorado
Boulder CO USA
for contributions to micro- and nanoelectromechanical systems
Martin George Buehler
Decagon Devices
Pullman WA USA
for contributions to metrology through
development of semiconductor process control
test structures, gas sensors and radiation
Wolfram Burgard
University of Freiburg
Freiburg Germany
for contributions to mobile robot navigation and
simultaneous localization and mapping
Rajkumar Buyya
University of Melbourne
Melbourne Victoria Australia
for contributions to cloud computing

David Angeli
Imperial College London
London UK
for contributions to nonlinear control theory

Ricardo Bianchini
Microsoft Corporation
Bellevue WA USA
for contributions to server and data center
energy management

Christian Cachin
IBM Research Laboratory
Ruschlikon Switzerland
for contributions to steganography and secure
distributed systems

Jean Armstrong
Monash University
Clayton Australia
for contributions to the theory and application
of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing in
wireless and optical communications

Marcela Milena Marie Bilek
University of Sydney
Sydney NSW Australia
for contributions to the science and application
of plasma processes for materials modification
and synthesis

Ning Cai
Xidian University
Xi'an Shaanxi China
for contributions to network coding theory and
arbitrarily varying channels

David Isaac August
Princeton University
Princeton NJ USA
for contributions to compilers and architectures
for multicore and parallel processing systems

Kenneth Birman
Cornell University
Ithaca NY USA
for leadership in distributed computing and
management of distributed systems

Christopher Auth
Intel Corporation
Hillsboro OR USA
for contributions to strained silicon transistor

Daniel Wesley Bliss
Arizona State University
Tempe AZ USA
for contributions to adaptive sensor systems in
radar and communications

Jiannong Cao
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Kowloon Hong Kong
for contributions to distributed computing in
mobile wireless networks

Randy Keith Avent
North Carolina State University
Raleigh NC USA
for leadership in automatic target recognition

Aaron Fred Bobick
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta GA USA
for contributions to activity recognition in
computer vision

Paolo Carbone
University of Perugia - Italy
Perugia Italy
for contributions to quantization and data
converter theory

Anastasios G. Bakirtzis
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Thessaloniki Macedonia Greece
for contributions to optimization of power
systems operation and scheduling

Nuno Borges Carvalho
Universidade de Aveiro
Aveiro Portugal
for contributions on characterization and design
of nonlinear RF circuits

Gerhard Bauch
Hamburg University of Technology
Hamburg Germany
for contributions to iterative processing in
multiple-input multiple-output systems

Alberto Borghetti
Univesity of Bologna
Bologna Italy
for contributions to modeling of power
distribution systems under transient conditions

Joseph R. Cavallaro
Rice University
Houston TX USA
for contributions to VLSI architectures and
algorithms for signal processing and wireless

Jason Raymond Baumgartner
IBM Corporation
Austin TX USA
for contributions to formal hardware verification
its and application

Olga Boric-Lubecke
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Honolulu HI USA
for contributions to biomedical microwave

Randal W. Beard
Brigham Young University
Provo UT USA
for contributions to the theory and practice of
guidance, control, and team coordination of
unmanned aerial vehicles

Azzedine Boukerche
University of Ottawa
Ottawa ON Canada
for contributions to communication protocols
for distributed mobile computing and wireless
sensor networks

Natalino Camilleri
Nitero, Inc�
Austin TX USA
for leadership in radio frequency integrated
circuits and systems

Chandan Chakraborty
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
Kharagpur West Bengal India
for contributions to estimation techniques and
control of induction machine and drive systems
Elizabeth Chang
Curtin University, Australia
Perth WA Australia
for contributions to industrial informatics and
cyber physical systems
Chi-Chih Chen
Ohio State University
Columbus OH USA
for contributions wideband and miniature

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - Cover4