IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 33

ieee fellows class of 2015

Luca Selmi
University of Udine
Udine Italy
for research on carrier transport and reliability
of semiconductor devices

Stefano Stramigioli
University of Twente
Borne The Netherlands
for contributions to modeling, control and
realization of complex robotics systems

Harry Trentelman
University of Groningen
Groningen Netherlands
for contributions to geometric theory of linear
systems and behavioral models

Michael C. Shebanow
Samsung - San Jose, CA
San Jose CA USA
for contributions to superscalar out-of-order

Suresh Subramaniam
George Washington University
Washington DC USA
for contributions to optical network architectures,
algorithms, and performance modeling

James Joseph Truchard
National Instruments
Austin TX USA
for leadership in instrumentation and computing
for signal processing

Peng Shi
University of Adelaide
Adelaide SA Australia
for contributions to control and filtering
techniques for hybrid dynamical systems

Ponnuthurai Nagaratnam Suganthan
Nanyang Technological University
Singapore Singapore
for contributions to optimization using
evolutionary and swarm algorithms

James D. Shields
Draper Laboratory
Cambridge MA USA
for leadership in advanced guidance,
navigation and information systems

Yu Sun
University of Toronto
Toronto ON Canada
for contributions to automated manipulation of
biological cells

Masashi Usami
KDDI Corporation
Saitama Japan
for contributions to development of high
reliability semiconductor optical devices for
undersea cable systems

Yoshihiro Shiroishi
Hitachi Research and Development Group,
Hitachi Ltd�
Tokyo Japan
for leadership in the development of high density
magnetic recording technologies and devices

Dong Sun
City University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong China
for contributions to robot-aided manipulation of
biological cells

Moshe Shoham
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Haifa Israel
for contributions to robot manipulators and
miniature medical robots

Jian Sun
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
for contributions to modeling and control of
power electronic circuits and systems

Mario G. Silveirinha
University of Coimbra, Portugal
Coimbra Portugal
for contributions to electrodynamics of metamaterials

Dan Keun Sung
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and
Technology (KAIST)
Daejeon Korea
for contributions to network resource management

Gail Skofronick Jackson
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Greenbelt MD USA
for contributions to microwave remote sensing
of snow

Wonyong Sung
Seoul National University
Seoul Korea
for contributions to real-time signal processing

Paris Smaragdis
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana IL USA
for contributions to audio source separation and
audio processing

Johan A. K. Suykens
KU Leuven
Leuven Belgium
for developing the least squares support vector

Peter Jeffrey Smith
University of Canterbury
Christchurch Canterbury New Zealand
for contributions to statistical modeling and
analysis of wireless communication systems

Dacheng Tao
University of Technology, Sydney
Sydney NSW Australia
for contributions to pattern recognition and
visual analytics

Hing Cheung So
City University of Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong China
for contributions to spectral analysis and source

Paul J. Tasker
Cardfiff University,UK
Cardiff Wales UK
for contributions to microwave measurements
and their application to microwave models

Haruhisa Soda
FiBest Limited
Hachioji Tokyo Japan
for contributions to vertical-cavity surfaceemitting and distributed-feedback lasers

David Taubman
University of New South Wales
Sydney NSW Australia
for contributions to image and video communications

Vesa Valimaki
Aalto University
Espoo Finland
for contributions to synthesis and processing of
audio signals
Son Van Nghiem
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena CA USA
for contributions to cryospheric sciences and
Earth remote sensing applications
John Thomas Vaughan, Jr.
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis MN USA
for contributions to high-field magnetic
resonance imaging technology
Vaithianathan Venkatasubramanian
Washington State University
Pullman WA USA
for contributions to on-line detection of
oscillatory behavior of electric power systems
Michel Verleysen
Universite Catholique de Louvain
Louvain-la-Neuve Belgium
for contributions to high-dimensional analysis
and manifold learning
Mahesh Viswanathan
IBM Corporation
Yorktown Heights NY USA
for contributions to ubiquitous access to
cloud computing and to vehicular speech
Yurii A. Vlasov
IBM Corporation
Yorktown Heights NY USA
for contributions to silicon-integrated
Alexander Waibel
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA USA
for contributions to neural network based speech
recognition and translation and multimodal

Fernando Lisboa Teixeira
Ohio State University
Columbus OH USA
for contributions to time-domain electromagnetic
techniques and applications

Jian-Ping Wang
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis MN USA
for contributions to magnetic material and
spintronic devices for magnetic recording,
information processing and biomedical

Rajeev Thottappillil
KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm Sweden
for contributions to the understanding of
lightning and electromagnetic interference

Geoffrey Ian Webb
Monash University
Clayton Victoria Australia
for contributions to machine learning, data
mining and knowledge discovery

Eckehard Steinbach
Technische Universitat Munchen
Munich Bavaria Germany
for contributions to visual and haptic communications

Yuichi Tohmori
NTT Electronics
Atsugi-shi Kanagawa Japan
for contributions to tunable semiconductor lasers
for optical fiber communications

Mark H. Weichold
Texas A&M University at Qatar
Doha Qatar
for contributions to international development of
engineering education

Gregory Stewart
Honeywell International, Inc�
North Vancouver BC Canada
for contributions to model-based control of
industrial systems

Ridha Touzi
Canada Center for Remote Sensing
Ottawa ON Canada
for contributions to design and calibration of
polarimetric synthetic aperature radar

David M. Weiss
Iowa State University
for contributions to software measurement and
product line engineering

William S. Song
MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Lexington MA USA
for contributions in high-performance low-power
embedded processors
Charles W. Stearns
GE Healthcare
Milwaukee WI USA
for contributions to medical imaging with
positron emission tomography



Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2015 - Cover4