IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 30

ieee fellows class of 2016

The grade of IEEE Fellow recognized exceptional distinction in the profession. It is conferred by the IEEE Board
of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.
The total number of IEEE Fellows elevated in any one year must not exceed one-tenth of one percent of the total
voting membership of the IEEE on record as of 31 December of the preceding year. In 2016, 297 IEEE Fellows
were elevated. To learn more about the Fellow program or to nominate, visit:

David abramson
University of Queensland
Queensland, Australia
for contributions to software tools for high
performance, parallel, and distributed
Vassilios agelidis
University of New South Wales
Sydney, NSW, Australia
for contributions to power electronics, renewable
energy conversion and integration with electricity
kiyoharu aizawa
University of Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to model-based coding and
multimedia lifelogging
ozgur B. akan
Koc University
for contributions to wireless sensor networks
alin albu-schaeffer
Technical University Munich
oberpfaffenhofen-Wessling, Germany
for contributions to compliant and lightweight
Massimo alioto
National University of Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
for contributions to energy-efficient VLSI circuits
alexandre P. alves da silva
GE Global Research
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
for contributions to dynamic security assessment
and load forecasting in power systems

ronald azuma
Intel Laboratories
Santa Clara, CA, USA
for contributions to augmented reality
Fan Bai
General Motors Global R&D
Detroit, MI, USA
for contributions to vehicular networking and
mobility modeling
Christopher Baker
ohio State University
Columbus, oH, USA
for contributions to cognitive sensing in passive
and diversity radars
William Baldygo
U�S� Air Force Research Laboratory
Dayton, oH, USA
for leadership in signal processing for radar
sanghamitra Bandyopadhyay
Indian Statistical Institute
West Bengal, India
for contributions to genetic algorithm based
classification and clustering techniques
Edward Baranoski
Intelligence Advanced Research,
Projects Activity (IARPA)
McLean, VA, USA
for leadership in knowledge-aided radar systems
for indoor environments

Laura Bottomley
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC, USA
for leadership in increasing student interest in
STEM education
Brian Brandt
Maxim Integrated Products
San Jose, CA, USA
for leadership in data converters and mixedsignal circuits
Michael Branicky
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS, USA
for contributions to switched and hybrid control
Henning Braunisch
Intel Corporation
Phoenix, AZ, USA
for contributions to high-bandwidth
microprocessor packaging
David Brooks
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA, USA
for contributions to power-efficient and resilient
computer system design
Juergen Brugger
EPFL - École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
Lausanne, Switzerland
for contributions to micro and nano
manufacturing technology

kenneth Barner
University of Delaware
Newark, DE, USA
for contributions in nonlinear signal processing

Tracy Camp
Colorado School of Mines
Golden, Co, USA
for contributions to wireless networking

Lorenzo alvisi
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX, USA
for contributions to reliable distributed systems

siegfried Bauer
Johannes Kepler-University Linz
Linz, Austria
for contributions to the understanding and
application of electroactive polymer dielectrics

Eugenio Cantatore
Eindhoven University of Technology
Eindhoven, Netherlands
for contributions to the design of circuits with
organic thin film transistors

Massoud amin
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN, USA
for leadership in smart grids and security of
critical infrastructures

B. Wayne Bequette
Rensselaer Poly Institute
Troy, NY, USA
for contributions to design and control of
chemical and biomedical systems

Carlos Canudas de Wit
Grenoble, France
for contributions to modeling and control of
mechanical, robotic, and networked systems

Plamen angelov
Lancaster University
Lancaster, United Kingdom
for contributions to neuro-fuzzy and autonomous
learning systems

karl Berggren
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA, USA
for contributions to nanofabrication and
nanomanufacturing in the sub-10 nm regime

Jinde Cao
Southeast University
Nanjing, China
for contributions to the analysis of neural

Tatsuo arai
osaka University
osaka, Japan
for contributions to micro manipulators and
sensors, and applications to cellular biology

shannon Blunt
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS, USA
for contributions to radar waveform diversity
and design

Bruce Carlsten
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM, USA
for contributions to high-brightness electron
beams and vacuum electron devices

Huseyin arslan
University of South Florida
Tampa, FL, USA
for contributions to spectrum sensing in cognitive
radio networks

kwabena Boahen
Stanford University
Stanford, CA, USA
for contributions to system design for
neuromorphic chip

sandro Carrara
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
Lausanne, Switzerland
for contributions to design of nanoscale
biological CMoS sensors

David atienza
EPFL- École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
Lausanne, Switzerland
for contributions to design methods and tools for
multiprocessor systems on chip

Francesco Borrelli
University of California - Berkeley
Berkeley, CA, USA
for contributions to the theory and application of
model predictive control

Umit Catalyurek
ohio State University
Columbus, oH, USA
for contributions to combinatorial scientific
computing and parallel computing


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover4