IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 31

ieee fellows class of 2016

yiu Tong Chan
Royal Military College
Kingston, oN, Canada
for development of efficient localization and
tracking algorithms

armando Colombo
Schneider Electric Automation GmbH
Bayern, Germany
for contributions to industrial cyber-physical

schahram Dustdar
Vienna University of Technology
Vienna, Austria
for contributions to elastic computing for cloud

Tony Chan
Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
Clearwater Bay, Hong Kong, China
for contributions to computational models and
algorithms for image processing

Ian Craddock
University of Bristol
Bristol, United Kingdom
for leadership in imaging for healthcare

Michael Eineder
TUM - Technische Universität München
München, Germany
for contributions to synthetic aperture radar
image processing for geodesy

Chorng-Ping Chang
Applied Materials, Inc�
Santa Clara, CA, USA
for contributions to replacement gate and
shallow trench isolation for CMoS technology

Lorrie Cranor
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
for contributions to privacy engineering

Georges El Fakhri
Massachusetts General Hospital/
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA, USA
for contributions to biological imaging

Jie Chen
University of Alberta, Canada
Edmonton, AB, Canada
for contributions to low-power and biomedical
ultrasound circuits and devices
Xilin Chen
Institute of Computing Technology
Beijing, China
for contributions to machine vision for facial
image analysis and sign language recognition
Chun-Hung Chen
George Mason University
Fairfax, VA, USA
for contributions to simulation-based
optimization of automation systems
shigang Chen
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL, USA
for contributions to quality of service
provisioning and policy-based security
management in computer networks
Degang Chen
Iowa State University
Ames, IA, USA
for contributions to testing of analog and mixedsignal integrated circuits
shu-Ching Chen
Florida International University
Miami, FL, USA
for contributions to multimedia data and disaster
information management
Gyu Hyeong Cho
KAIST- Korea Advanced Institute of Science and
Daejeon, Korea
for contributions to power management circuit
Henry Chung
City University of Hong Kong
Kowloon Tong, Hong Kong, China
for contributions to power electronic converters
for lighting
C. y. Chung
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
for contributions to power system stability and

Luiz Da silva
Trinity College Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
for contributions to cognitive networks and
resource management for wireless networks
Gilles Dambrine
IEMN - Institute of Electronic, Microelectronic
and Nanotechnology
Lille, France
for contributions to the modeling of small signal
and noise characteristics in nanoscale highfrequency devices
Timothy Davis
Texas A&M University
College Station,TX, USA
for contributions to sparse matrix algorithms and
Leila De Floriani
University of Genova
Genova, Italy
for contributions to geometric modeling and
robert Deng
Singapore Management University
Singapore, Singapore
for contributions to security algorithms, protocols
and systems
yixin Diao
IBM T� J� Watson Research Center
Yorktown Heights, NY, USA
for contributions to modeling, optimization, and
control of computing systems
Maria-Gabriella Di Benedetto
Sapienza University of Rome
Rome, Italy
for contributions to impulse-radio ultra
wideband and cognitive networks for wireless
Warren Dixon
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL, USA
for contributions to adaptive control of uncertain
nonlinear systems
ananth Dodabalapur
Univeristy of Texas at Austin
Austin,TX, USA
for contributions to organic electronic devices
and circuits

Danilo Erricolo
University of Illinois
Chicago, IL, USA
for contributions to electromagnetic scattering
and associated computational algorithms
karu Esselle
Macquarie University
Sydney, NSW, Australia
for contributions to resonance-based antennas
Giuseppe Fabrizio
Defence Science & Technology Group
Edinburgh, SA, Australia
for contributions to adaptive array signal
processing in over-the-horizon radar systems
Jun Fan
Missouri University of Science & Technology
Rolla, Mo, USA
for contributions to power delivery networks in
printed circuit designs
Mukta Farooq
IBM Corporation
Hopewell Junction, NY, USA
for contributions to 3D integration and
interconnect technology
Patrick Fay
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN, USA
for contributions to compound semiconductor
tunneling and high-speed device technologies
Faramarz Fekri
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA, USA
for contributions to coding theory and its
Leonard Feldman
Rutgers University
Piscataway, NJ, USA
for contributions to semiconductor-dielectric
interfaces for MoS technologies
Claudia Felser
Max-Planck-Institut fur CPfS
Gesellschaft, Munchen, Germany
for contributions to the design and chemical
synthesis of new materials with multi-functional

David Doman
USAF Air Force Research Laboratory
Rome, NY, USA
for contributions to flight dynamics and control

Gabor Fichtinger
Queens University
Kingston, oN, Canada
for contributions to medical robotics and
computer-assisted intervention

Terry Cisco
Glendale, CA, USA
for leadership in the development of airborne
active array transmit and receive module

ravindranath Droopad
Texas State University
San Marcos, TX, USA
for contributions to epitaxial growth of
advanced materials for RF and CMoS

Dinei Florencio
Microsoft Research
Redmond, WA, USA
for contributions to statistical and signal
processing approaches to adversarial and
security problems

George Clark
Alabama Power Company
Birmingham, AL, USA
for contributions to distribution automation for

Frederic Dufaux
Telecom ParisTech
Paris, France
for contributions to visual information processing
and coding

Thor Fossen
Norwegian University of Science & Technology
Trondheim, Norway
for contributions to modelling and controlling of
marine crafts

Wan kyun Chung
Pohang University of Science & Technology
Pohang, Korea
for developments in robust control theory for
mechanical systems



Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover4