IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 32

ieee fellows class of 2016

F. stuart Foster
Sunnybrook & Women's CollegeHealth Sciences Centre
Toronto, oN, Canada
for contributions to the development and
commercialization of ultrasound technology

alan Hanjalic
TU Delft- Delft University of Technology
Delft, Netherlands
for contributions to multimedia information

Xiaobo Hu
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN, USA
for contributions to resource management for
embedded systems

Christina Fragouli
University of California - Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA, USA
for contributions to network coding

Tomohiro Hase
Ryukoku University
Shiga, Japan
for contributions to embedded software for realtime applications

Jiang Hu
Texas A&M University
College Station,TX, USA
for contributions to gate, interconnect, and clock
network optimization in VLSI circuits

Michael Franz
University of California - Irvine
Irvine, CA, USA
for contributions to just-in-time compilation and
to computer security through compiler-generated
software diversity

Dimitrios Hatzinakos
University of Toronto
Toronto, oN, Canada
for contributions to signal processing
techniques for communications, multimedia
and biometrics

Xian-sheng Hua
Alibaba Group
Hangzhou, China
for contributions to multimedia content analysis
and image search

scott Hauck
University of Washington
Seattle, WA, USA
for contributions to Field-Programmable Gate
Array based systems

Tony Jun Huang
Penn State University
University Park, PA, USA
for contributions to acousto-opto-fluidics, and
nanoelectromechanical systems

aaron Hawkins
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT, USA
for contributions to optofluidics

Jianwei Huang
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Shatin, NT, Hong Kong
for contributions to resource allocation in
wireless systems

Patrick French
TU Delft- Delft University of Technology
Delft, Netherlands
for contributions to micro-electromechanical
devices and systems
Jessica Fridrich
Binghamton University- SUNY
Binghampton, NY, USA
for contributions to digital media forensics,
steganography, and steganalysis
Masayuki Fujita
Tokyo Institute of Technology
Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to passivity-based control in
robotics and robust control
Vincenzo Galdi
University of Sannio
Benevento, Italy
for contributions to modeling the interaction
between electromagnetic waves and complex
alan Gatherer
Plano, TX, USA
for contributions to systems-on-chip for 3G and
4G cellular systems
Maryellen Giger
University of Chicago - Radiology
Chicago, IL, USA
for contributions to computer-aided biomedical
imaging and diagnosis
Fernando Gomide
University of Campinas
Sao Paulo, Brazil
for contributions to fuzzy systems

George Hayhoe
Mercer University
Macon, GA, USA
for contributions to professional and technical
Larry Heck
Mountain View, CA, USA
for leadership in application of machine
learning to spoken and text language
Maurice Heemels
Eindhoven University of Technology
Eindhoven, Netherlands
for contributions to analysis and design of
hybrid, networked, and event-triggered systems
Gernot Heiser
University of New South Wales
Sydney, NSW, Australia
for contributions to security and safety of
operating systems
Michael Henderson
ISo New England
Springfield, MA, USA
for contributions to the application of highvoltage DC and flexible AC transmission

Qiang Huang
Beijing Institute of Technology
Beijing, China
for contributions to the design and control of
biped robots
Qing-an Huang
Southeast University
Nanjing, China
for contributions to modeling and packaging of
microsensors and microactuators
Jiwu Huang
Shenzhen University
Shenzhen, China
for contributions to multimedia data hiding and
adrian Ionescu
EPFL - École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
Lausanne, Switzerland
for contributions to the development of novel
devices for low power applications
Mohammad Islam
Halla Mechatronics
Bay City, MI, USA
for development of electromagnetic sensors and
actuators for automotive applications

Mark Hersam
Northwestern University
Evanston, IL, USA
for contributions to carbon nanomaterial
processing methods and devices

rabih Jabr
American University of Beirut
Beirut, Lebanon
for application of robust optimization to power

John Heywood
University of Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
for contributions to engineering education

yungtaek Jang
Delta Products Corporation
Fremont, CA, USA
for contributions to efficiency optimization of
ac-dc power supplies

anthony Guiseppi-Elie
Clemson University
Clemson, SC, USA
for contributions to organic electronic materials
in biotechnology and biomedicine

Mark Horenstein
Boston University
Boston, MA, USA
for contributions to the modeling and
measurements of electrostatics in industrial

Dan Jiao
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN, USA
for contributions to computational

Gerhard Hancke
University of Pretoria
Pretoria, South Africa
for contributions to wireless sensor networks

Tzyy-sheng Horng
Nat'l Sun Yat-Sen University
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
for contributions to system-in-package modeling
and design

Edwin Hancock
University of York
N� Yorkshire, United Kingdom
for contributions to pattern recognition and
computer vision

yu Hu
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN, USA
for contributions to power modeling and energy
management of mobile devices

Tibor Grasser
Technische Universität Wien : TU Wien
Vienna, Austria
for contributions to modeling the reliability of
semiconductor devices
anthony Grbic
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
for contributions to the theory and design of
electromagnetic metamaterials


yaochu Jin
University of Surrey
Surrey, United Kingdom
for contributions to evolutionary optimization
alvin Joseph
IBM Thomas J� Watson Research Center
Yorktown Heights, NY, USA
for contributions to silicon-germanium
bipolar-CMoS and RF silicon-on-insulator


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover4