IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 33

ieee fellows class of 2016

Mahmut kandemir
Penn State University
University Park, PA, USA
for contributions to compiler support for performance
and energy optimization of computer architectures

Mark Laubach
Broadcom Corporation
Irvine, CA, USA
for leadership in design and standardization of
cable modems

stefano Lonardi
University of California, Riverside
Riverside,CA, USA
for contributions to computational biology and
data mining

Lance kaplan
Army Research Laboratory
Adelphi, MD, USA
for contributions to signal processing and
information fusion for situational awareness

Eugene Lavretsky
The Boeing Company
Everett, WA, USA
for contributions to the development of adaptive
and robust flight control technologies

songwu Lu
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA, USA
for contributions to wireless and mobile
networking and network security

sheldon kennedy
Niagara Transformer Corporation
Cheektowaga, NY, USA
for leadership in the technology and standards for
rectifier, inverter and harmonic-mitigating transformers

Ta sung Lee
National Chiao Tung University
for leadership and contributions in
communication systems and signal processing

Chenyang Lu
Washington University in St� Louis
Saint Louis, Mo, USA
for contributions to adaptive real-time computing

nam sung kim
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI, USA
for contribution to circuits and architectures for
power-efficient microprocessors

Jong Ho Lee
Seoul National University
Seoul, Korea
for contributions to development and characterization
of bulk multiple-gate field effect transistors

Joungho kim
KAIST- Korea Advanced Institute of
Science and Technology
Daejeon, Korea
for contributions to modeling signal and power
integrity in 3D integrated circuits

shih-Lien Lu
Intel Corporation
Portland, oR, USA
for contributions to low-voltage microarchitecture
and approximate computing

Inkyu Lee
Korea University
Seoul, Korea
for contributions to multiple antenna systems for
wireless communications

katsumi kishino
Sophia University
Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to III-V light emitter technology

Hui Lei
IBM T� J� Watson Research Center
Yorktown Heights, NY, USA
for contributions to scalable and dependable
data access in distributed computing systems

Hitoshi kiya
Tokyo Metropolitan University
Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to filter structure, data hiding,
and multimedia security

Charles Leiserson
MIT-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA, USA
for leadership in parallel and distributed

stuart kleinfelder
University of California - Irvine
Irvine, CA, USA
for contributions to sensors and instrumentation
for high-speed imaging applications

Peng Li
Texas A&M University
College Station,TX, USA
for contributions to the analysis and modeling of
integrated circuits and systems

Michael kneissl
Technische Universitaet Berlin
Berlin, Germany
for contributions to the development of wide bandgap
semiconductor laser diodes and ultraviolet LEDs

shaoqian Li
University of Electronic Science &
Technology of China
Sichuan, China
for leadership in development of broadband
wireless networks

Vladimir kolobov
CFD Research Corporation
Huntsville, AL, USA
for contributions to theory, simulation and
software development for industrial plasma
avinoam kolodny
Technion - Israel Inst� of Technology
Technion City, Haifa, Israel
for contributions to VLSI design and automation tools
Danica kragic
Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm, Sweden
for contributions to vision-based systems and
robotic object manipulation
William krupke
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Livermore, CA, USA
for leadership in laser science and technology
Lawrence kushner
BAE Systems, Inc�
Merrimack, NH, USA
for leadership in RF/microwave circuits for
military and commercial applications

Zhiwu Li
Xidian University
Xi'an, Shaanxi, China
for contributions to Petri nets and their
applications to automated manufacturing
Tsorng-Juu Liang
National Cheng Kung University
Tainan, Taiwan
for contributions to power conversion for lighting
and sustainable energy
Weisi Lin
Nanyang Technical University
Singapore, Singapore
for contributions to perceptual modeling and
processing of visual signals
Xuemin Lin
University of New South Wales
Sydney, NSW, Australia
for contributions to algorithmic paradigms for
database technology

akhlesh Lakhtakia
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA, USA
for contributions to isotropic chiral, bianisotropic
materials, and metamaterials

kai Liu
University of California- Davis
Davis, CA, USA
for contributions to the understanding of
magnetotransport effects and magnetization
reversal in nanostructures

Erik Larsson
Linkoping University
Linkoping, Sweden
for contributions to the technology of multiantenna wireless communications

Blake Lloyd
Iris Power Engineering
Mississauga, oN, Canada
for development of non-intrusive diagnostics for
electrical motors and generators

Victor Lubecke
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Honolulu, HI, USA
for leadership in the development of microwave
transducers for biomedical application
Fa-Long Luo
Element CXI, Inc�
San Jose, CA, USA
for contributions to adaptive signal processing
for hearing and multimedia applications
Jian-Guo Ma
Tianjin University
Tianjin, China
for leadership in microwave electronics and
RFIC applications
Xiaoli Ma
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA, USA
for contributions to block transmissions over
wireless fading channels
souvik Mahapatra
IIT- Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Mumbai, India
for contributions to CMoS transistor gate stack
Gabriele Manganaro
Analog Devices Inc�
Norwood, MA, USA
for leadership in the design of high-speed
Dimitris Manolakis
MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Lexington, MA, USA
for contributions to signal processing
education, algorithms for adaptive filtering, and
hyperspectral imaging
Jonathan Manton
University of Melbourne
Parkville, VIC, Australia
for contributions to geometric methods in signal
processing and wireless communications
Joao Marques silva
Lisboa, Portugal
for contributions to decision and optimization
algorithms for propositional logic
Frank Marzano
Sapienza University of Rome
Rome, Italy
for contributions to microwave remote sensing in
meteorology and volcanology
shinji Matsuo
NTT Device Technology Laboratories
Kanagawa, Japan
for contributions to heterogeneous integration of
semiconductor lasers


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016

IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2016 - Cover4