IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 29

ieee fellows class of 2018

The grade of IEEE Fellow recognizes exceptional distinction in the profession. It is conferred by the IEEE Board
of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of Interest.
The total number of IEEE Fellows elevated in any one year must not exceed one-tenth of one percent of the total
voting membership of the IEEE on record as of 31 December of the preceding year. In 2018, 296 IEEE Fellows
were elevated. To learn more about the Fellow program or to nominate, visit

Pieter Abbeel
University of California-berkeley
berkeley, Ca, Usa
for contributions to apprenticeship and
reinforcement learning for robotics and
autonomous systems
Pamela Ann Abshire
silver spring, Md, Usa
for contributions to CMos biosensors
Haithem Abu-rub
Texas a&M University
College station, TX, Usa
for contributions to power electronic converters
for renewable energy applications
Erik Agrell
Chalmers University of Technology
Goteborg, sweden
for contributions to coding and modulation in
optical communications
Fauzia Ahmad
Temple University
Philadelphia, Pa, Usa
for contribution to through-the-wall radar
Anastasia Ailamaki
Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
Lausanne, switzerland
for contributions to hardware-conscious
database systems and scientific data
Matteo Albani
Firenze, Italy
for contributions to the uniform geometrical
theory of diffraction
Andrew Alleyne
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL, Usa
for contributions to the control of thermal
management systems
Pietro Andreani
Lund University
Lund, sweden
for contributions to CMos integrated voltagecontrolled oscillators
Walid Aref
Purdue University
west Lafayette, IN, Usa
for contributions to spatio-temporal database
indexing and query processing
Kohtaro Asai
Mitsubishi Electric Corporation
Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to video coding development
and standardization
Hajime Asama
University of Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan
for contributions to distributed autonomous
robotic systems
Bertan Bakkaloglu
arizona state University-Tempe
scottsdale, aZ, Usa
for contributions to radio frequency circuits

Bijnan Bandyopadhyay
IIT bombay
Mumbai, India
for contributions to discrete-time, multi-rate,
output feedback sliding-mode control
Paul Barford
University of wisconsin
Madison, wI, Usa
for contributions to Internet measurement and
N. Scott Barker
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Va, Usa
for contributions to millimeter-wave and
terahertz micromachining
Erik Blasch
Us dept. of air Force
rome, NY, Usa
for leadership in aerospace information fusion
Glenn Boreman
University North Carolina at Charlotte
Charlotte, NC, Usa
for contributions to optical and infrared antenna
Vicente Boria
Universidad Politecnica de Valencia
Valencia, spain
for contributions to high-power microwave filters
and multiplexers
Timothy Boykin
University of alabama
Huntsville, aL, Usa
for contributions to atomistic models for
semiconductor device simulation
Maurizio Bozzi
University of Pavia
Pavia, Italy
for contributions to substrate integrated
waveguides and integrated periodic structures
Oliver Brock
Technische Universit├Ąt berlin
berlin, Germany
for contributions to mobile manipulation and
Alexander Bronstein
Tel aviv University
Tel aviv, Israel
for contributions to three-dimensional geometric
processing in imaging
Charles Bunting
oklahoma state University
stillwater, ok, Usa
for educational contributions to electromagnetic
compatibility and reverberation chambers
Karen Butler-Purry
Texas a&M University
College station, TX, Usa
for contributions to expanding minority
participation in power systems education
Marco Caccamo
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL, Usa
for contributions to the theory and applications
of hard real-time multicore computing

29 | 2018 IEEE awards bookLET

Yigang Cai
Naperville, IL, Usa
for innovations in high-speed wireless networks
Giuseppe Calafiore
Politecnico di Torino
Torino, Italy
for contributions to probabilistic methods for
robust control design
Jeffrey Calame
annapolis, Md, Usa
for contributions to high-power microwave and
millimeter-wave amplifiers enabled by composite
dielectric materials
Linda Camp
Indiana state University
bloomington, IN, Usa
for research in human-centered risk and security
Mark Campbell
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY, Usa
for contributions to control and estimation theory
for autonomous systems
Gustau Camps-Valls
Universitat de Valencia
Valencia, spain
for contributions to machine learning in remote
Emmanuel Candes
stanford University
stanford, Ca, Usa
for contributions to sparse and low-rank signal
and image processing
Leo Casey
san Francisco, Ca, Usa
for contributions to high-speed power electronic
interfaces for grid-tied distributed resources
Sherman Chan
aspen Incorporated
san Mateo, Ca, Usa
for contributions to power system modeling and
analysis tools for protective relaying
Chip Hong Chang
Nanyang Technical University
singapore, singapore
for contributions to hardware security
Kun-Yung Chang
Los altos Hills, Ca, Usa
for contributions to transceivers for highperformance networking and high-density
Ni-Bin Chang
University of Central Florida
orlando, FL, Usa
for contributions to computational techniques for
the analysis of environmental sustainability
Tsung-Yung Chang
Taiwan semiconductor Manufacturing Company
Hsinchu, Taiwan
for application of sraM technology to lowpower and high-performance computing
Kuan-Neng Chen
National Chiao Tung Univeristy
Hsinchu, Taiwan
for contributions to 3d integrated circuit and
packaging technologies

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018

Table of Contents
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - Table of Contents
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 8
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2018 - Cover4