IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 8


IEEE Mildred Dresselhaus Medal

IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award

Sponsored by Google LLC

Sponsored by the IEEE Technical Activities

Kristina M. Johnson

Lewis M. Terman

For leadership and technical contributions
spanning academia, government, and

For contributions to and leadership of
multiple IEEE technical Societies, the
Technical Activities Board, and IEEE
humanitarian technology activities

An internationally recognized leader in engineering, education, the
private sector, and government, Kristina M. Johnson has served as a
role model for women in engineering and has helped increase the
participation of underserved populations in science and technology fields. At the University of Colorado at Boulder, she cofounded
and directed the U.S. National Science Foundation's Engineering
Research Center for Optoelectronic Computing Systems. She designed a new class of optoelectronic light engines that enabled highquality, digital projection HDTV and helped advance 3D cinema
applications. Johnson was the first woman to serve as dean of Duke
University's Pratt School of Engineering, where she established
cross-disciplinary initiatives in photonics, bioengineering and biologically inspired materials, and energy and the environment. The
first woman provost at Johns Hopkins University, she led a university-wide strategic planning process called Framework for the Future,
which included the creation of the Mosaic Initiative to recruit outstanding underrepresented faculty. As chancellor of the State University of New York, she developed a vision comprising individualized education, innovation and entrepreneurship, and sustainability.
One of her initiatives was PRODI-G (Promoting Recruitment,
Opportunity, Diversity, Inclusion and Growth), which is designed
to enable SUNY campuses to hire up to 1,000 early-to-mid-career
professors over the next decade, including underrepresented populations and women in STEM disciplines. In 2009, she was appointed
as the Under Secretary of Energy for Energy and Environment in
the U.S. Department of Energy, directing a portfolio that included a
base budget of US$116 billion with US$36 billion in ARRA funding research, development, demonstration, and deployment projects
involving the U.S. national laboratories, universities, state and local
governments, and private industry in renewable energy, carbon capture and sequestration, nuclear power, smart grid, and nuclear waste.
She later founded Cube Hydro Partners, a company that builds and
upgrades hydroelectric power plants with modern technology to
help fight climate change.
An IEEE Fellow and member of the U.S. National Academy of
Engineering, the National Academy of Inventors, and the National
Inventors Hall of Fame, Johnson was awarded the John Fritz medal
in 2007. Johnson currently serves as the 16th President of The Ohio
State University in Columbus, Ohio.

An agent of change within IEEE for decades, Lewis M. Terman
has profoundly impacted the operation and success of many IEEE
entities and has been a champion of humanitarian efforts that
helped establish IEEE's mission of fostering technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. He has served as
president of both the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society and the
IEEE Electron Devices Society, has been involved with practically
all functions within the IEEE Technical Activities Board (TAB),
including as TAB VP, and served as director of IEEE Division I
and as chair of the IEEE Awards Board. Terman was IEEE president in 2008, and he is currently secretary of the IEEE Society
on Social Implications of Technology (SSIT). Terman played a
key role in guiding the Solid-State Circuits Council's transition
to society status in the mid 1990s, leading a group to produce its
constitution, by-laws, and a proposal to TAB for the transition.
The conversion to the IEEE Solid State Circuits Society occurred
in 1997 while Terman was vice president of the Council, and he
became the first elected president of the Society. He received the
IEEE Solid-State Circuits Award in 1995. During his involvement
with the IEEE Electron Devices Society, he helped start six new
conferences, and received the Electron Devices Distinguished
Services Award in 1995. Terman is credited with the initiation of
IEEE's humanitarian efforts, appreciating the potential of IEEE's
very diverse skill sets to impact areas that were not traditionally
considered within IEEE's realm, leading in 2011 to the creation of
the IEEE Humanitarian Technology Activities Committee, which
facilitates cross-disciplinary efforts to examine systems and technologies to aid in humanitarian issues. He helped found the IEEE
Global Humanitarian Technology Conference and is a founding
contributor to the IEEE Humanitarian Technology Fund. Terman has also been a very productive member of the IEEE SSIT,
helping to improve the operations and image of the Society, and
he received the Brian M. O'Connell SSIT Distinguished Service
Award in 2016. In 2018, he was elected to the TAB Hall of Honor.
An IEEE Life Fellow and member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, Terman retired in 2006 as the Associate Director of the Systems Department at the IBM Research Division,
Yorktown Heights, NY, USA.

Scope: For outstanding technical contributions in science and engineering of great impact to IEEE fields of interest.

Scope: For distinguished service advancing the technical objectives
of the IEEE.


2021AwardsBook_v7.indd 8

4/12/21 1:27 PM


IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021

Table of Contents
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - Cover1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - Cover2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 1
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 2
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 4
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 5
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 6
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 7
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - Table of Contents
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 9
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 10
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 11
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 12
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 13
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 14
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 15
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 16
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 17
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 18
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 19
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 20
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 21
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 22
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 23
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 24
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 25
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 26
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 27
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 28
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 29
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 30
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 31
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 32
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 33
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 34
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 35
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 36
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - 37
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - Cover3
IEEE Awards Booklet - 2021 - Cover4