The Institute - March 2007 - 4

From Around the IEEE & the World

Left to right: Pedro Ray,
John Vig, and Marc Apter

Board Names Three For
2008 President-Elect
The candidates for 2008 IEEE
President-Elect are Marc Apter, Pedro Ray,
and John Vig. The IEEE Board of Directors nominated them at its November
meeting, and the three men will face off
during the next annual election.
The winner serves as 2009 IEEE
President, succeeding 2008 President
Lewis Terman.
Apter, an IEEE senior member,
retired in 2000 after 36 years with the
Naval Sea Systems Command, in Washington, D.C. For six years before he
retired, he was the command information systems security manager and head
of the Information Technology Operations and Maintenance Branch. He is
currently a senior information assurance specialist with EG&G Technical
Services, a subsidiary of URS Corp., in
San Francisco.
Apter was IEEE vice president,
Regional Activities, in 2004 and 2005,
and served as director of Region 2 (Eastern United States) in 2001 and 2002.
Ray, a senior member, is chief executive of Ray Engineers, one of the largest architectural design firms in Puerto

Rico. He also owns Magdalena 1212 (a
builder of luxury, high-rise condominiums) and River Stone Development
(which erects office buildings).
This is Ray's second year as Regional
Activities vice president. He also was
IEEE treasurer in 2003 and 2004, and
director of Region 9 (Latin America) in
2000 and 2001.
Vig, an IEEE Fellow, retired in February 2006 after 36 years as an electronics engineer leading R&D programs at
the U.S. Army Communications and
Electronics Research, Development, and
Engineering Center, in Fort Monmouth,
N.J. He now is a technical consultant to
Systems Planning Corp., in Arlington,
Va., and also serves on the technical
advisory board of SiTime Corp., a Silicon Valley startup.
Vig founded the IEEE Sensors Council, of which he was president in 2000 and
2001. In 2002 and 2003, he was director
of Division IX and a member of the IEEE
Board of Directors, and in 2005 he was
IEEE vice president, Technical Activities.
A candidate for 2007 President-Elect, Vig
lost that election to Lewis Terman.  *

In "Tom Bartlett Receives First Herz Staff Award" [December, p. 4], the name of
Bartlett's wife, who is deceased, should have been given as Elaine.
Also, the IEEE Board of Directors, at its November 2006 meeting, made the
IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award [p. 4] an annual recognition. *

Voters Choose Lewis Terman
As 2007 President-Elect
Life Fellow Lewis
Terman was chosen the 2007
IEEE President-Elect this
past November. He begins
his term as IEEE President
on 1 January 2008, succeeding current President Leah
H. Jamieson.
In Terman's 45-year career
at IBM Research, he served as a researcher,
a manager, and associate director of the
systems department before retiring in
January 2006. He worked on solid-state

circuits and memory technology, digital and analog circuits, and processor design.
Terman has been a member of the IEEE Board of
Directors for three of the last
five years and was president of
the IEEE Electron Devices and
Solid-State Circuits societies.
Of the IEEE members who turned
in valid ballots last year, 20 656 selected
Terman, while 16 337 chose his opponent, IEEE Fellow John Vig.

Thomas Kailath Awarded
IEEE Medal of Honor
IEEE Life Fellow Thomas Kailath
is the recipient of the 2007 IEEE Medal
of Honor for his development of powerful algorithms in the fields of communications, computing, control, and
signal processing.
A professor emeritus of electrical engineering at Stanford University, in California, Kailath is regarded as an engineering
Renaissance man. As J.F. Gibbons, former
Stanford dean of engineering, said, "His
career has been an extraordinary success
many times over, and for a different set of
reasons each decade." Indeed, the focus of
Kailath's research and teaching was information theory and communications in
the 1960s; linear systems, estimation, and

control in the 1970s; very large-scale integration design and sensor-array signal processing in the 1980s; and applications to
semiconductor manufacturing and digital
communications in the 1990s. Meanwhile,
he has also made important contributions
to stochastic processes, operator theory,
and linear algebra. And he has co-founded
several successful high-tech companies.
In 1961 he became MIT's first student from India to earn a doctorate in
electrical engineering. He taught at
Stanford for more than 40 years.
Kailath is scheduled to receive the
Medal of Honor on 16 June at the Loews
Hotel in Philadelphia. The award is
sponsored by the IEEE Foundation. *

Three Share Education Prize
2004 IEEE President and Life Fel- ary at Union Station in Washington, D.C.
low Arthur Winston has been named
Winston, Goldberg, and Levy were recco-recipient of the Bernard M. Gordon ognized for their "multidisciplinary gradPrize-one of the engineering profession's uate program for engineering professionhighest honors, given annually by the U.S. als who have the potential and the desire
to be engineering leaders."
National Academy of EngineerThe three created the master
ing. The academy selected Winof science program in engineerston, along with IEEE Life Fellow
ing management offered at the
Harold S. Goldberg and Member
Gordon Institute, established in
Jerome E. Levy, and Tufts Gordon Institute, in Medford, Mass.,
1984 in Wakefield, Mass. The
to share the US $500 000 prize.
institute joined Tufts University
Neither the institute nor Tufts
in 1992 and is now part of its
had a role in choosing this year's Arthur Winston School of Engineering.
Gordon Prize recipients.
The master's program teaches project
The three were to receive the award, management and communication skills,
which recognizes innovation in engineer- product innovation and development,
ing and technology education, on 20 Febru- and leadership.
-News compiled by Anna Bogdanowicz

Jason Laday

The Institute | March 2007 4

2/7/07 3:43:19 PM


Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of The Institute - March 2007

The Institute - March 2007 - 1
The Institute - March 2007 - 2
The Institute - March 2007 - 3
The Institute - March 2007 - 4
The Institute - March 2007 - 5
The Institute - March 2007 - 6
The Institute - March 2007 - 7
The Institute - March 2007 - 8
The Institute - March 2007 - 9
The Institute - March 2007 - 10
The Institute - March 2007 - 11
The Institute - March 2007 - 12
The Institute - March 2007 - 13
The Institute - March 2007 - 14
The Institute - March 2007 - 15
The Institute - March 2007 - 16
The Institute - March 2007 - 17
The Institute - March 2007 - 18
The Institute - March 2007 - 19
The Institute - March 2007 - 20