Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 15

By John Berggren

Network Awards
Yasmin Cheema, M.D., and Arshad
Cheema, M.D.


LCH Adds Husband,
Wife Physicians
Lincoln County Hospital welcomed the
addition of Arshad and Yasmin Cheema
in May. Arshad Cheema, M.D., provides
comprehensive family medical care, and
Yasmin Cheema, M.D., specializes in
pediatrics. The two had been in private
practice in the Washington, D.C., area
for more than 25 years before coming
to Lincoln.
Arshad Cheema received his medical
degree at Allama Iqbal Medical College in
Pakistan and his family medicine training
at Prince George's Hospital in Maryland.
He is certified by the American Board of
Family Medicine.
Yasmin Cheema also received her
medical degree at Allama Iqbal Medical
College. She received her training in pediatrics at Georgetown University Hospital
in Washington, D.C., where she was chief
resident and served on the faculty after
training. She is certified by the American
Board of Pediatrics.
"We're very happy to add these two
doctors to our medical staff and community," says Steve Granzow, CEO at Lincoln
County Hospital. "They will be seeing
patients in both of our medical clinics in
Lincoln and Sylvan Grove."
To schedule an appointment to see
either doctor, call the Lincoln Medical
Clinic at 785-524-4474 or the Sylvan
Medical Clinic at 785-526-7474.

An annual program of the Sunflower Health Network has
awarded 11 scholarships to healthcare workers throughout
the region totaling $22,000 this year. The program is aimed at
enhancing the workforce to better serve the health needs
of people in north
central and northwestern Kansas.
Priority is given
to people working in
a Sunflower Health
Network organization
looking to enhance their
credentials or earn a
certificate or degree
they do not currently
hold. Students may
receive up to $2,000 for
a technical degree, two-year or
four-year degree. Premedical
and medical students are not
eligible. The scholarships
require one year of service at a Sunflower Health Network facility
for each year a scholarship is awarded.
This year's recipients include:
DJessica Badsky, Clay County Medical Center, BSN
DAngela Beck, Clara Barton Hospital, MSN, NP
DSara Boyd, Memorial Health System, Abilene, RN to MSN
DKassie Bretton, Smith County Memorial Hospital, RN/BSN
DKaylie Doll, Clara Barton Hospital, BS in MDI (ultrasound)
DChrista Haesemeyer, Lincoln County Hospital, RN/BSN
DTaylor Murray, Ness County Hospital, BSN
DHannah Pumphrey, Cloud County Health Center/Republic
County Hospital, vascular ultrasound
DJessi Walker, Ottawa County Health Center, BSN
DRaché Wente, Gove County Medical Center, respiratory
DAleesha Wilson, Rooks County Health Center, physical
For complete details about the Sunflower Health Network
Scholarship Program, visit
Applications for next year are due March 1, 2020.
CONNECT with the Sunflower Health Network on


Health Beat - Fall 2019

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Health Beat - Fall 2019

Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 1
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 2
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 3
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 4
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 5
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 6
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 7
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 8
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 9
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 10
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 11
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 12
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 13
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 14
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 15
Health Beat - Fall 2019 - 16