The AHEPAN - Summer/Fall 2012 - (Page 24)

Athletics New Athletic Director Elected at Supreme Convention It is an honor and a thrill that the delegates of 90th Supreme Convention elected me Supreme Athletic Director. My objective is to pursue a vision for the Athletic Department that is in concert with the direction of one of my mentors, the late Supreme Athletic Director Dr. Monthe N. Kofos. My commitment is to increase our athletic program for all our members to enjoy. To fulfill this commitment, I will be asking many of you for assistance. Please follow our progress and the development of the Athletic Department through AHEPA’s many communication vehicles. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at Again, thank you for the honor to serve the Order in this capacity. Fraternally, Ike Gulas National Athletic Luncheon Honors Pros, Student-Athletes Alike AHEPA honored excellence in athletics at the Athletics Awards Luncheon held July 25, 2012 at the 90th Supreme Convention, Las Vegas, including the induction of five athletes into its Hellenic Athletic Hall of Fame. The Hellenic Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2012 included: Tom Pappas, Decathlete, U.S. Olympian; Leonidas (Lenny) Tsantiris, professional soccer player and women’s soccer coach at the University of Connecticut; Dean Lampros, college basketball player, University of Cincinnati; Steve Leondis, college basketball player, Yale University; and Nick Pappageorge, college basketball player, St. Mary’s College. “The 2012 Induction Class is comprised of athletes who have excelled to the highest levels of their competition,” said Supreme President Dr. John Grossomanides. “In doing so, they have also remained true to their Hellenic heritage. We congratulate and welcome them into the AHEPA Athletic Hall of Fame.” Added Gregory Stamos, chairman, Hall of Fame Selection Committee, “They are also outstanding leaders in their respective post-career fields, and they represent the classic Hellenic ideal of the treasured confluence of a ‘solid body, sound mind.’ While they most certainly excelled on the playing fields, they have also remained true to their Hellenic heritage and roots.” This distinguished class swells the roster of the prestigious Hall of Fame to 128, commencing with the initial marquee class of 1975, which included the likes of Harry Agannis, Alex Karros, Jim Londos, and Milt Pappas and esteemed coaches and contributors to athletics, such as Alex Spanos, Peter Angelos and Bob Costas. Continued on next page Basketball Player Alex McCullough (second from left) received the DOP Zoe Cavalaris Award. Student-Athlete honorees (L-R): Vlahakis (Tennis);, C. Pitenis (Golf), Nick Alexiou (Swimming), V. Pitenis (Golf), Tassopoulos (Field Hockey), Korbakes (Golf), Brown (Basketball, Lacrosse), Papaefthymiou (Rowing). Surrounded by members of the AHEPA Athletics Department are Hall of Fame inductees (l-r): Tsantiris, Leondis, Pappas, Pappageorge, and Lampros. 24 The AhepAN Summer/Fall 2012 Audrey Dempsey/ Infiniti Photo

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of The AHEPAN - Summer/Fall 2012

The AHEPAN - Summer/Fall 2012
Presidents’ Messages
AHEPA Family News
The Periclean
Literary Corner
Viva Las Vegas: Unopposed, Grossomanides Wins Reelection
Civic Responsibility
PAC Update
AHEPA Family Chapter News
In Memoriam

The AHEPAN - Summer/Fall 2012