The AHEPAN - Summer/Fall 2012 - (Page 26)

Ahepa Family Chapter News District 1 Mother Lodge Chapter 1, Atlanta—The AHEPA family of Atlanta gathered for an evening to “Celebrate Service,” May 24, 2012 where brothers were honored for their years of service. Chapter President William Simitses presented membership pins, beginning with five-year pins and concluding with 40, 45, and 50 year pins. The forty-year service class members were: Spyros Kontoes, Spiros Siaggas, Minas Sarris, George Demos, James Kanellos and George Simitses. Fortyfive year service class members were: Mike Galifianakis, Roy Ioannides, Kleomenis Kliossis, Tim Maniatis, Pike Sarris, and Spiros Soteres. Fifty-year service class members were: Jimmy Roney, George Betros, George T. Alexander, and Pete Giannakopoulos. Brother George Betros, 50-year member, spoke on behalf of all the honorees, reminding Ahepans of the honor they felt that evening and the satisfaction that has come from their service to the organization. Brother William Simitses, who served as chapter president for two years, was recognized for his service and received the chapter Ahepan of the Year Award. Brother Ted Kipreos was recognized for his two years of service as AHEPA District 1 Governor. The second half of the evening, “Celebrating Service,” honored the history and service of the AHEPA Mother Lodge 1 Educational Fund. Five present members of the board were on the original board and were honored for serving for 25 years. They are: Thomas S. Kantsios, who served as chairman for 25 years; Dr. Pandeli Durbetaki, who served as treasurer for 25 years; William B. Marianes, who served (and continues to serve) as legal counsel for 25 years; Dr. George P. Patterson, and George Skoufis. In addition to their service, these members have also established endowments in their families’ names as well. The Fund, established in 1987, has grown to include 38 endowments of families of Atlanta Ahepans and now has close to $1 million. Since 1987, 510 total scholarships have been awarded totaling $471,950. Plato Chapter 4, Charleston, S.C.—AHEPA Day in Charleston was a huge success. More than 100 people attended the chapter’s steak luncheon. Plato Chapter No. 4 celebrated the event by recognizing those members who had fifty or more years of service. Our honorees were: Greg Theos (52), Harry Spell (59), George Stamatiades (59), and Nick Tsiropoulos (67). The Daughters of Penelope also recognized the following 50-plus year members: Rosie Anastopoulo (53), Vera Tellis (53), Katina Lempesis (61), Mary Catsimatides (63), Doris Springer (66), Happy Cockinos (71), Eftyhia “Tiko” Hitopoulos, Helen Theos, and Christen Homer. Also in attendance were: Daughters of Penelope Grand President Nicky Stamoulis and her husband Charles; Maids of Athena Grand President Marianthe Kolokiathas, MOA Grand Governor Patty Chrysostom, DOP District Governor Rosie Anastopoulo, Rev. Father John Johns, Deacon George Malanos, DOP PDG Deanna Socaris, and DOP PDG and Maids Advisor Patti Kolokiathas. Telis Zecopoulos also received recognition for serving as Plato Chapter No. 4’s President from 2002-2011. All of these Athletics Award Continued from previous page the field of athletics and long commitments in volunteer service to their respective communities, we are proud to announce the recipients who were chosen from a record number of outstanding applicants,” said John Tanionos, who chairs the Athletic Scholarship and Awards Committee. In addition, the National Athletic Award recipients were honored. They were: William C. Vlachos, University of Alabama (Football); Samantha Prahalis, The Ohio State University (Basketball); and Zachary Collaros, University of Cincinnati (Football). Vlachos received the prestigious AHEPA Harry Agganis Award. He helped lead Alabama to two national football championships, playing center. He was selected 2011 AP All-SEC First Team Honors. Prahalis received the AHEPA William Chirigotis Award for her stellar play at The Ohio State University. She was selected sixth overall by the Phoenix Mercury in the WNBA draft. Collaros received the Booster’s Club Award. He led the Cincinnati Bearcats to back-to-back Big East titles as the team’s quarterback. “The 2012 National Athletic honorees are all truly deserving of the accolades they will receive,” said Supreme President Dr. Grossomanides. 26 The AhepAN Summer/Fall 2012

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of The AHEPAN - Summer/Fall 2012

The AHEPAN - Summer/Fall 2012
Presidents’ Messages
AHEPA Family News
The Periclean
Literary Corner
Viva Las Vegas: Unopposed, Grossomanides Wins Reelection
Civic Responsibility
PAC Update
AHEPA Family Chapter News
In Memoriam

The AHEPAN - Summer/Fall 2012