One + January 2011 - (Page 89)

MAKING A DIFFERENCE Future Leaders Intern in Asia in every aspect, but that is certainly not a bad or a scary thing. The opposite: It has been very enlightening to compare my mindset with the Asian one, to try to see the world as people here see it.” arichkova’s internship that autumn was courtesy of the IMEX-MPI Future Leaders Forum, which each year offers two of its European graduates airfare, accommodation and per diem in Malaysia to learn their chosen trade on the field. Nina Tosin traveled to the Asian city in January 2010 to complete her meeting industry education. “I really must admit that I learned a lot in only three months. This was due to the fact that I had some great supervisors who took their time to teach me,” she wrote in her internship report. “Each one of my colleagues was caring and helpful and was always willing to help. I really enjoyed being part of this team and being considered a team member.” IMEX and the MPI Foundation organize the Future Leaders Forum with support from Starwood and Infowhyse. Nearly 4,000 students have graduated from the program since its launch in 2003, attending one of 55 forums worldwide. Future leaders who are interested in the internship program must submit a 300-word essay on why they should be selected to Dale Hudson at dale.hudson@imexexhibitions. com by June 10. A decision will be made in July. n September 2009, Magdalina Yarichkova found herself in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, where she would spend the next several months interning in the sales and MICE departments at Asian Overland Services. “Prior to the internship I read as much as possible about Malaysia and Kuala Lumpur, and I am lucky to have friends from various countries in Asia, but nothing could prepare me for the actual experience,” she wrote in her journal. “It is different here, I The MPI Foundation thanks the following organizations and individuals for their generous support. U.S. CORPORATE Platinum AT&T Park AIBTM Reed Carlson Hotels Dallas CVB Detroit Metro CVB Fairmont Raffles Swissotel Hilton Worldwide Hyatt Hotels IHG Las Vegas CVA Las Vegas Sands Corp. Loews Hotels Omni Hotels PSAV Swank Audio Visuals Universal Orlando Resorts Wyndham Hotels Bronze Accor Hospitality Associated Luxury Hotels Benchmark Hospitality Conference Direct Destination Hotels & Resorts Dolce International Experient Hello USA! Walt Disney Swan & Dolphin Walt Disney World Resorts Friends 7th Wave Communications Balance Design CACBSO Gaylord Palms Gaylord Texan Hattie Hill Enterprises Interactive Visuals Land O’ Lakes Leadership Synergies National Speakers Bureau Strategic Marketings Inc. Small Business 4th Wall Events Attendee Management Incorporated Best Meetings Inc. Kinsley and Associates Meeting Site Resources One Smooth Stone OnTrack Communications Passkey, a Landry & Kling Co. Site Solutions Worldwide Song Division Swantegy SYNAXIS Meetings & Events Inc. CANADA CORPORATE Platinum Fairmont Raffles Swissotel Gold AVW-TELAV Audio Visual Solutions Caesars Windsor Convention Centres of Canada Delta Hotels InterContinental Hotels Group Canada Starwood Hotels and Resorts Gold American Express AV Concepts Encore Productions Freeman Freeman Decorating HelmsBriscoe Maritz MGM Mirage San Antonio CVB Silver Aimbridge Hospitality Atlanta CVB Cvent Fort Worth CVB Global Hotel Alliance hinton+grusich LXR Luxury Resorts Philadelphia CVB PRA Salt Lake City CVB Walt Disney World Resorts Weil & Associates Silver AV-Canada Calgary Telus Convention Centre Coast Hotels Evolution Presentation Technologies Hilton Canada Marriott Hotels & Resorts Canada Ottawa Tourism STRONCO Group Tourism Calgary Tourism Toronto Tourisme Québec Special Donors BBJ Linen Boca Resorts Folio Fine Wine Partners Jet Blue KSL Resorts Little Rock CVB Passadena CVB Production Plus Inc. SAS Institute Visit Charlotte Visit Raleigh >> Y VIA Rail Canada Gold Key Fairmont Raffles Swissotel IHG Malaga CC Vancouver CC Bronze D.E. Systems Destination Halifax Direct Energy Centre IncentiveWorks Niagara Convention & Civic Centre The Conference Publishers THE PLANNER Tourisme Montréal Bronze Key Donor Visit London CHAPTERS Arizona Sunbelt Atlantic Canada British Columbia Carolinas Chicago Area Dallas/Fort Worth Georgia Greater Calgary Greater Edmonton Greater New York Gulf States Heartland Houston Indiana Japan Kansas City Kentucky Bluegrass Manitoba Minnesota Montréal New Jersey Northeast New York Ohio Oregon Ottawa Philadelphia Area Potomac Rocky Mountain Southern California Tennessee Texas Hill Country Toronto Virginia Washington WestField Wisconsin Special Donor Accucom Corporate Communications Inc. Centre Mont-Royal Calgary Exhibition & Stampede Cantrav Services Inc. Fletcher Wright & Associates Gelber Conference Centre Greenfield Services Inc. Groupe Germain Hotels Naylor Publishers Ottawa Convention Centre Small Business aNd Logistix EMEA CORPORATE Hertiage AIBTM IMEX Diamond mci Platinum Key BTC Starwood Hotels and Resorts INDIVIDUALS Alan Pini Allison Kinsley Ann Godi Anna Lee Chabot Anne Clarke Barbara Cummins Beverly W Kinkade, CMP, CMM Bill Boyd Bradley Martin Brian Stevens Brian Reaver C. James Trombino, CAE Carl Winston Carla Benckert Carol Krugman, CMP, CMM Carol Muldoon Charles Bowling Cheryl Renzenbrink Chris Gabaldon Chris Meyer Christine Duffy Christopher Chung David DuBois, CMP, CMM Dave Gabri Dave Johnson Dave Scypinski Diane Schneiderman Didier Scaillet Doug Bolger Evelyn Laxgang George P. Johnson Gus Vonderheide Hattie Hill, CMM Heather Milliken Helen Van Dongen, CMP, CMM Herb Zeilinger Ivan Carlson Janet Victor Jeff Wagoner Jennifer Brown Jerry Wayne Joe Nishi JodieAnn Cady John Meissner Jonathan Howe, Esq. Joseph Lipman Katie CallahanGiobbi Ken Sanders Kevin Olsen Kevin Kirby Kristen Robertson Mackenna Lawrence Luteran Linda Swago Lisa Baadsvik Mamiko Hayashi/ Michael K. Stein Marianne Demko Lange, CMP, CMM Margaret Moynihan Mariela McIlwraith Mark Komine Mark Sirangelo Matthew Schermerhorn Melanie Cook Melvin Tennant Michael Massari Mike Deitemeyer Mike Beardsley Mike Stawiarski Mitchell Beer, CMM Moon Civetz Paul Fogarty Ping Liu Richard Harper Rick Smith Rob Scypinski Robert Payne Robin Lokerman Robyn Byrd Powell Ron Guitar Sandra Riggins Sara Torrence Sebastien Tondeur Steve Kemble Susan Buntjer Terri Fisher Theda Jackson Tim Brown Tony Lorenz Unni SoelbergClaridge Vito Curalli William Gilchrist 89

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of One + January 2011

One + January 2011
Energy of Many
The Future is Sharing
Strategic View
Fans, Dry Ice and a $600 Extension Cord
Top Spots
Job Resolution
The Laws of Attraction
How Bazaar
What’s Cooking in 2011
Another World at Our Feet
Middle East Central
More Than Amusement
The Future Looks Brilliant
How to Develop a Virtual Event
Tales of Adventure for the Newly Independent Planner
Idea Man
Your Community
Making a Diffrence
Until We Meet Again

One + January 2011