Georgia County Government - October 2008 - (Page 7)

President’sMessage District Meetings Set Association County Commissioners of Georgia Officers serving through April 2009 President VIRGINIA GRAY Clayton County First Vice President JAN TANKERSLEY Bulloch County Second Vice President LAMAR PARIS Union County Third Vice President G. MELVIN DAVIS Oconee County Executive Director JERRY R. GRIFFIN By Virginia Gray President s every autumn, officers of the association will soon accompany Executive Director Jerry Griffin and key members of the Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG) policy staff to various parts of the state to meet with county commissioners in all 12 ACCG districts as the 2008 District Meetings convene. The District Meetings afford ACCG members the opportunity to undertake some serious locally driven discussions of priorities before the next session of the Georgia General Assembly. At the District Meetings, the schedule for which can be found published on the ACCG Web site, the association will present highlights of the finalized 2009 County Platform and outline the policy priorities it contains, which Georgia county governments will advocate as the 2009 session convenes. We will have ample time during these forums to answer questions, hear special concerns in various regions of the state and get feedback from commissioners and, as is usually the case, legislators present at these meetings. This year, all district meetings are again expected to be well attended, not only by commissioners and local government officials but also by legislators. A crucial element at these PRESIDENT continued on page 8 A Board of Managers 1st District JERRY SHEARIN, Paulding County 2nd District MIKE BERG, Dawson County 3rd District BURRELL ELLIS, DeKalb County 4th District EUGENE HARDWICK, Lamar County 5th District KEVIN LITTLE, Walton County 6th District C. BROOKS BAILEY, Pulaski County 7th District JOHN R. GRAHAM, Warren County 8th District CLINTON PERRY, Taylor County 9th District D. M. MULLIS, Laurens County 10th District CHARLES LINGLE, Dougherty County 11th District EUGENE DYAL, Bacon County 12th District JOHN McIVER, Liberty County Consolidated Government Representative HEIDI DAVISON, Athens-Clarke County At-Large DAVID GAULT, Jones County JAMES KHOURY, Peach County SAM OLENS, Cobb County HELEN STONE, Chatham County AARON VARNER, Newton County Active Past Presidents GLENDA BATTLE, Decatur County CLARENCE BROWN, Bartow County BILLY CROKER, Polk County JAMES V. HAM, Monroe County BENJAMIN HAYWARD, Mitchell County TOM MCMICHAEL, Houston County O. D. NETTER, Ben Hill County Ex-Officio NACo Board Members/Officers: RICHARD ENGLISH, Troup County JAMES HAM, Monroe County Section Presidents Attorneys’ Section: MICHAEL LONG, Houston County Managers’/Administrators’ Section: KEVIN POE, Floyd County Clerks’ Section: BRENDA STALVEY, Echols County Service Program Chairs ACCG Insurance Program Representatives (IRMA) JOHN STRICKLAND, Clinch County Group Self Insurance Workers’ Compensation Fund (GSIWCF) WALTER L. SANDERS, Greene County Pension Representative H. JAY WALKER, Houston County OCTOBER 2008 The all-important District Meetings afford members of our association the opportunity not just to do a lot of traveling, but also the chance to undertake some serious locally driven discussions of the issues we are prioritizing before the next session of the Georgia General Assembly. 7

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Georgia County Government - October 2008

Georgia County Government - October 2008
President's Message
County Matters
South Georgia's Agricultural Heartland Welcomes Economic Diversity, High-Tech Research
What Do You Know About the State's 2008 Constitutional Amendments?
Union County's New Hope Clinic
Counties and the Law: U.S. Supreme Court Increases Burden on Defending Age Claims
Cyber Security Awareness
Are Animal Control Costs Out of Control?
Dave Wills Joins ACCG Staff
Executive DRIVE is the Pinnacle of Gwinnett's Leadership Institute
Preventative Medical Program Succeeds in Chatham County
DCA's Planning & Quality Growth Office Reveals New Regional Planning Approach
Implementation of Georgia's Security & Immigration Compliance Act
The Roundabout: Glynn County's Newest Approach to Traffic Management
Governor Urges Preparation for Digital TV Transition
The Institute for Georgia Environmental Leadership
Wharton Named Program Director for Georgia Centers for Innovation
Army Ranger Turned Police Officer Attends CDP Training
ACCG Staff Attends National Conference of State Legislatures Summit
ACCG Editor, Forsyth County PIO Garner NACIO Awards
GDEcD News: Tourism Grants; Scan-Tech to Expand
Benefit News: GEBCorp Marks Eight Years of Retirement Benefits
Georgia's Courthouses and the American Renaissance
Extension News: Georgia 4-H Impacts Student Achievement, Leadership
Research Center: Best Methods for Creating Ordinances in Your County
CCAP Corner: Walter F. Rosso, Cusseta-Chattahoochee County
NACo News: Association Sponsors 'Green' Competitions
Beth Bradley Joins ACCG Staff
County Parade
Index of Advertising

Georgia County Government - October 2008