Georgia County Government - May/June 2011 - (Page 7)

President’sMessage Charting Progress through the ACCG Strategic Plan Association County Commissioners of Georgia President MELVIN DAVIS Oconee County Chairman First Vice President CLINTON PERRY Taylor County Third Vice President KEVIN LITTLE Walton County Second Vice President MIKE BERG Dawson County Immediate Past President LAMAR PARIS Union County T By Melvin Davis President ACCG is working hard to engage county officials and provide programs and services to help improve local communities. he ACCG Annual Meeting provides an outstanding opportunity for county officials from across the state to network with peers and participate in timely and informative sessions designed to help improve county management and leadership skills through training. This year’s conference was no exception, and participation was up by over 30 percent as more than 1,300 county officials, state agency representatives and exhibitors came together at the Savannah Civic Center in Chatham County. This time of the year also allows for the opportunity to reflect on the accomplishments of the previous year and set goals for the upcoming year as the association’s Board leadership transitions. In the last year, ACCG has marked the successful transition to Ross King as Executive Director. My predecessor, Union County Sole Commissioner Lamar Paris, did an excellent job in working with Ross and guiding the Board through this transitional year. County officials have noted the association’s increased vibrancy and ACCG’s renewed commitment to engage counties statewide in association programs and services. The ACCG Strategic Plan approved by the membership in 2009 serves as the benchmark to measure progress. ACCG’s collaborative outreach with external organizations, such as the Georgia Municipal Association and the Georgia Sheriffs Association, is paying dividends by developing a stronger coalition to work on behalf of local government. This year, ACCG has also redesigned meeting formats to make the most use of time and financial resources. In addition, ACCG has reorganized key staff members to help improve organizational efficiency as well as to expand public-private partnerships which will translate into new opportunities and approaches for counties and county employees. More progress is in store for the coming year. At the ACCG Annual Meeting, the association announced an exciting new program with Gas South that provides discounts for counties as commercial accounts and county commissioners and employees as residential customers (for more information on this agreement, see page 29). These kinds of partnerships not only provide a direct, measurable benefit, but also help to keep county membership dues significantly lower than what is paid to support county membership organizations in other states. ACCG created a Financial Services Advisory Board, comprised of county elected and appointed officials and chaired by Harris County Chairman Harry Lange, to consider partnership proposals from businesses and to guide ACCG in fostering additional beneficial relationships. Look for more discounts for counties and county employees in the coming year. PRESIDENT continued on page 8 Executive Director ROSS KING Board of Managers 1st District ALLEN POOLE, Haralson County 2nd District JONESY HAYGOOD, Stephens County 3rd District KATHIE GANNON, DeKalb County 4th District EDDIE FREEMAN, Spalding County 5th District TOMMY LYON, Elbert County 6th District JANIE REID, Putnam County 7th District RON CROSS, Columbia County 8th District TERRELL HUDSON, Dooly County 9th District JOE C. WEBB, Treutlen County 10th District LAMAR HUDGINS, Dougherty County 11th District JOYCE EVANS, Lowndes County 12th District HELEN STONE, Chatham County Consolidated Government Representative Vacant At-Large Representatives BROOKS BAILEY, Pulaski County SAMUEL F. HART, Bibb County HARRY LANGE, Harris County CARLOS NELSON, Ware County CHARLOTTE NASH, Gwinnett County Active Past Presidents CLARENCE BROWN, Bartow County JAMES HAM, Monroe County* BENJAMIN HAYWARD, Mitchell County O. D. NETTER, Ben Hill County* LAMAR PARIS, Union County *also a NACo Board Members (ex-officio) Section Presidents (ex-officio) County Attorneys: ROBERT RICHARDSON, Mitchell County County Managers/Administrators: JANEANN ALLISON, Habersham County Clerks: PAIGE DUKES, Lowndes County Service Program Representatives (ex-officio) GSIWCF Board of Trustees: W.L. “BUD” SANDERS, Greene County IRMA Board of Trustees: CHARLES NEWTON, McDuffie County Pension Board of Trustees (DB): H. JAY WALKER, Houston County Defined Contributions (DC) Board: O.D. NETTER, Ben Hill County GHBP Board of Directors: EARL BRICE, Coffee County Officers serving through April 2012 MAY/JUNE 2011 7

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Georgia County Government - May/June 2011

Georgia County Government - May/June 2011
Table of Contents
President’s Message
Director’s Desk
Oconee County: Growth Driven by Quality of Life and Strong Schools
ACCG Annual Meeting Highlights
ACCG and Gas South Affinity Program Saves You Money on Natural Gas
GCIP Interns Help Map the Future for Bartow County
Georgia Geospatial Advisory Council Advises Use of GIS
Douglas County Incorporates Sustainable Design into Plans for the New Adult Detention and Law Enforcement Center
Deliberate Indifference to a Serious Medical Need: Inmate Claims under § 1983
News & Notes
Index of Advertisers

Georgia County Government - May/June 2011