Landscapes - Summer 2011 - (Page 53)

ADJUDICATION | SÉLECTION MEET THE JURY | PROFIL DU JURY 1 PROFESSOR ALAN TATE 2 SHANNON LOEWEN 3 BRANDY O’REILLY 4 TINA BEERS 5 RALPH STERN (DEAN, FACULTY OF ARCHITECTURE) 6 PATRICIA SHARPE 7 KARYNE OUELLET 8 CAROL CRAIG 9 ROBERT EVANS 10 SARAH SCOTT EACH YEAR THE CSLA Awards of Excellence Jury is made up of members of the profession nominated by the respective provincial and territorial associations that comprise the CSLA. This year, the CSLA included an external juror from Canadian Geographic magazine, Sarah Scott. CAROL CRAIG [8], CSLA, AALA, SALA, MALA, has over 25 years of experience in landscape architecture, largely in Alberta. She is past president of AALA, and currently represents AALA on the CSLA board. Carol also represents Canada on the application and review committees for LACES (Landscape Architecture Continuing Education System). Carol’s practice is varied, and she is keenly interested in wetland rehabilitation, asset management and community development. TINA BEERS [4], BLA, APALA, CSLA, LEED® AP, joined the BDA Landscape Architects team in 1998 and currently manages the firm’s metro Moncton office in New Brunswick. Her experience includes a diverse portfolio of projects across the Atlantic region, from parks and trails to downtown and community plans all rooted in the principles of new urbanism and sustainable design. ROBERT T. EVANS [9], MCIP, CSLA has spent the last 26 years in private practice in both Ontario and British Columbia and now calls Kelowna home. As Manager, Western Canada Landscape Architecture and Urban Design for the MMM Group, his varied practice includes leading-edge sustainability projects, notably a Living Building Challenge campus project that is garnering international attention. Robert is a strong advocate for the profession and volunteers his time on numerous Boards and committees. KARYNE OUELLET [7] holds a master’s degree in Landscape Architecture (2004) and a bachelor’s degree in French Literature (1997). Over the past 11 years, she has supervised large-scale projects for the MTQ, for municipalities and for developers. This construction experience, with her aptitude for logistics and management, reinforces the high quality of design and execution in her projects. SARAH SCOTT [10] is an award-winning Toronto journalist who has contributed to many of Canada’s national magazines, including Azure, Canadian Geographic, Maclean’s and Cottage Life. She has worked with prominent thinkers to write two books, on the impact of digital technology and on the worldwide eff ort to improve global health. Sarah has admired great landscape architecture all her life while growing up in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver, and one day she hopes to collaborate on a media project with some of the great minds in this field. PATRICIA SHARPE [6], CSLA, OALA, MLA, practices at PMA Landscape Architects in Toronto where she focuses on public and cultural landscapes. To combat homogenized North American environments, she advocates thoughtful landscape gestures as psychological rehabilitation. She is working on a community-driven project to transform an orphaned hydro corridor into a park demonstrating alternative energies. She has a MLA from the University of Toronto, and has studied Film & Fine Art and Cultural Studies. KUDOS TO THE TEAM! ALAN TATE [1], MALA, CSLA, PPLI and Chair of the CSLA Awards of Excellence Program, is a professor and former head of the Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Manitoba. Tate has organized the CSLA Awards program since 2002, and in 2007 was the recipient of the Schwabenbauer Award for service and dedication to the Society. He is a former president of the UK Landscape Institute, and recently defended his PhD in Architecture, on typology and built environment. The CSLA sincerely thanks CSLA Board Member Glen Manning, MALA, CSLA, as well as Dean Spearman, MALA, and of course, Professor Alan Tate who, with the consistently dedicated staff at the University of Manitoba, ably upheld the tradition of excellence. The photo above includes Program Administrator BRANDY O’REILLY [3], RALPH STERN who is Dean, Faculty of Architecture, University of Manitoba [5] and student SHANNON LOEWEN [2], but we also tip our collective hats to students JASON HARE, SHAWN STANKEWICH and CHELSEA SYNYCHYCH who helped run the program. They print and mount the posters, prepare the room for the jury, create the certificates and so much more. SUMMER ÉTÉ 2011 53

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Landscapes - Summer 2011

Landscapes - Summer 2011
Limitless! | Illimité!
Letters | Courrier
Up Front | Prologue
Essay | Essai
Work That Defines Us | des Oeuvres qui Nous Définissent Aapc
National Honour Awards | Prix Honneur National
National Merit Awards | Prix Mérite National
National Citation Awards | Prix Citation Nationale
The Regionals | Les Prix Régionaux
Adjudication | Sélection
Opinion | Opinion
Lacf | Fapc
Site Specific | État Des Lieux
Collaborators | Collaborateurs
Inspiration | Inspiration
The Last Word | Le Mot De La Fin

Landscapes - Summer 2011