Potomac Memo - May/June 2011 - (Page 5)

2010/2011 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE President Michelle Allgauer, CAE, CMM, CMP pmpi_michelle@cox.net Immediate Past President Carlos Pelham, CMP cpelham@seia.org President-Elect Kumi Anzalone, CMP, CASE kanzalone@visitraleigh.com Vice President of Education Shonzia Thompson, CMP sthompson@nam.org Vice President of Finance Cornelia Horner, CMP cornelia@alta.org Vice President of Communications Lesly Connolly connolly-lesly@aramark.com Vice President of Membership Will Trokey, CMP will.trokey@visitcharlotte.com. BOARD OF DIRECTORS Advocacy Heather Turner heather.turner@stationcasinos.com Chapter Special Interest Groups Tammy Kockaya, CMP tkockaya@executiveboard.com Member Care Kerry Lambert, MTA, CMP klambert@arlingtonva.us Member Recognition Jessica La Vay jessica@eciparty.com Professional Development Jason Watkins, CMP jwatkins@aaanet.org Publications Rebecca Hunter, MTA, CMP hunterr@aatb.org PR/Marketing Michelle Marie Adams, CMP michelle@potomac managementresources.com Regional Conference (MACE!) David McKennon, CMP davidm@meetingmgymt.com Strategic Alliances & Site Selection Dot Hewitt dot.hewitt@onpeak.com Strategic Events Matthew Wales, CMP mwales@aacte.org CHAPTER ADMINISTRATION Association Manager Melissa Benowitz, CMP (301) 948-4600 info@pmpi.org Web Administrator DH Web administrator@pmpi.org Web Advertising Beth Sheahan bsheahan@naylor.com Chapter Photographer Joanne Amos, Reflections Photography, Inc. joannea@reflectinsphotoinc.com Volume 32, No. 5 departments 9 7 26 President’s Message Calendar of Events Index of Advertisers 10 Meeting Professionals International Potomac Chapter (PMPI) planners & suppliers features 10 11 13 Virtual Won’t Replace Face-to-Face Meetings by Stacey Royston, CMM, CMP The Potomac Memo is published 6 times annually by Naylor, LLC 5950 Northwest 1st Place Gainesville, FL 32607 352-332-1252, 800-369-6220 fax 352-331-3525 www.naylor.com Publisher: Tracy Thompkins Editor: Leslee Masters Project Manager: Heather Ciocca Advertising Sales: Kathryn Hillgardner, Beth Sheahan, Cheryll Oland Research: Rebecca Wentworh Art Direction: Ravijot Singh Design Lead: Jatin Arora Layout & Design: Preeti Pandey Advertising Art: Elaine Connell Any correspondence relative to the Potomac Memo should be sent to newsletter@pmpi.org. Statements of fact and opinion within this newsletter are the responsibility of the author only and do not imply an opinion of the officers or members of MPI. News contributions or other suggestions for this publication are welcome. PUBLISHED MAY 2011 PMP-S0311/5082 Risk Management by Brad A. Goldberg, CMP Become a ‘Searchinista’ in Four Steps by Tamela Blalock, CMP new & noteworthy 15 16 16 17 17 17 18 18 19 26 PMPI’s 2011-2012 Leadership by Carlos Pelham, CMP 11 Preparing for WEC by Elizabeth Newton Potomac Profiles AIBTM Meets in Baltimore by Kumi Anzalone, CMP, CASE New Members Spotlight by B. Murphy Community Outreach Member Recognition by Tammy Kockaya, CMP March Learning Experience PMPI West Where in the PMPI World? Vi our online Meeting Planners’ Guide. Visit our online Meeting Planners’ Guide. Visit pm pmpi.officialbuyersguide.net PMPI POTOMAC MEMO MAY/JUNE 2011 VOL. 32, NO. 5 5 http://www.naylor.com http://www.managementresources.com http://pmpi.officialbuyersguide.net

Table of Contents for the Digital Edition of Potomac Memo - May/June 2011

Potomac Memo - May/June 2011
Contents
Calendar of Events
President’s Message
Virtual Won’t Replace Face-to-Face Meetings
Risk Management
Become a ‘Searchinista’ in Four Steps
PMPI’s 2011-2012 Leadership
Preparing for WEC
Potomac Profiles
AIBTM Meets in Baltimore
New Members Spotlight
Community Outreach
Member Recognition
March Learning Experience
PMPI West
Index of Advertisers
Where in the PMPI World?

Potomac Memo - May/June 2011

http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0113
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0612
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0512
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0412
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0312
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0212
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0112
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0611
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0511
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0411
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0311
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0211
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0111
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0610
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0510
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPS0410
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0510
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0410
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0310
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0210
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0110
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM1209
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM1109
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM1009
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0909
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0809
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/naylor/PMPM0709
http://www.nxtbookMEDIA.com